Search 75,535 tutors
FIND TUTORS

Carol N.

Educator with 40 years' experience in General and Special Ed

Dearborn, MI (48124)

Travel radius
18 miles
Hourly fee
$45.00
Email Carol N.

You don't pay for tutoring
unless you find a good fit!

Background Check Status for Carol N.

Carol N. passed a background check on 1/12/14. The check was ordered by Carol through First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

After sending a message to Carol, you will be able to order a new background check for $7.99. As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.

I have been a Special Educator for many years. I have taught all levels and believe that many students need another way to look at their work, and find the success they deserve to feel. Time management and organizational skills help break down work into manageable portions. It also helps to look at the challenge one on one and look for other methods or strategies within a positive support system.
The many years of supporting students to be successful, in many settings and with many different types of students is what I will bring to a tutoring session.

Email Carol

Carol’s subjects

Corporate Training:
Test Preparation:
Homeschool:
Elementary (K-6th), Prealgebra, Reading, Study Skills
Business:
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th), Elementary Math, Grammar, Phonics, Reading, Study Skills, Vocabulary
Math:
Prealgebra
English:
Grammar, Reading, Vocabulary

ADD/ADHD

I am certified in Special Education, and work closely with students on organizational skills and focusing activities for high school students.

Aspergers

I have been a special ed teacher for the last 40 years. I have worked with elemtary, middle, and high school students of all disabilities. Among them are students with Aspergers. I have also worked as Academic Support to all students with IEP's in an adult setting.

Autism

I have been in Special education for the last 40 years. In my 30+ years in the classroom, I have worked with students that are Autistic. I have worked with many ages from elementary to adult and many ability levels both in and out of the classroom.

Career Development

I currently am a Special Populations Coordinator in a Career Technical Center. I work closely with high school students helping them to make good choices for careers. Also have explored Community Colleges in the area for what support they provide.

Dyslexia

I am a certified Special Education Teacher. I have certifications in Cognitively Impaired and Homebound. I am also certified as a Teacher Consultant in above area.

Elementary (K-6th)

I am certified in K-8 for Elementary Ed. I received my Bachelors degree from Wayne State, as well as my Masters. I have tutored in an at risk summer program for Elementary Ed for the past 10 years. I have also tutored individual students over the years.
I have worked with many phonics programs,including Project Read and Fun with Phonics. I also worked with social skills programs including: PBIS (Positive Behavior Intervention and Support) as well as the Boys Town Social Skills Program.
My experiences incorporate the whole child and my many years in education provide the background needed for successful tutoring.

Elementary Math

I have worked in many remedial math and reading programs.

Phonics

I have worked in special education classrooms teaching ELA for many years. I have worked with the Project Read Program as well as the Houghton Mifflin Program when teaching summer school for at risk 4th graders for 10 years.
I have also used numerous strategies in my special ed classrooms including ELL Programs for sentence building.

Special Needs

I am certified for Mentally Impaired Programs, General Ed K-8, and Homebound Programs I also have TC certification, and I have my masters in Special Ed, Administration.
I have worked with all age groups and disabilities including: MI, EI,AI,POHI, VI, and HI students. I have experience in the classroom, as a Curriculum Consultant, and am currently a Special Populations Coordinator in a Career Center.
I have taught all subjects, and used assorted phonics programs as well as social skills programs.
I have also worked as a consultant with adult MrS(Michigan Rehabilitation Services) clients.

Study Skills

I am a Coordinator for Special Needs/Special Populations students in a Career Technical Center. I work with students on study skills, executive functions, and time management.
I also work with adults on time management and study skills.

Read all subject qualifications ยป

Email Carol

back to top

Education

Wayne State University

Wayne State University (Master's)

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $45.00

Cancellation: 12 hours notice required

Travel policy

Carol will travel within 18 miles of Dearborn, MI 48124.

Email Carol

Usually responds after +3 days

Send Carol a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Carol or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

(ex: algebra, chemistry)
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive Responses From Additional Tutors

If selected, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.