Search 75,810 tutors
FIND TUTORS
Over 5 tutoring hours

Andrew S.

Friendly, easygoing tutor with flexible schedule

Ann Arbor, MI (48103)

Travel radius
40 miles
Hourly fee
$40.00
Email Andrew S.

You don't pay for tutoring
unless you find a good fit!

Background Check Status for Andrew S.

Andrew S. has not yet had a background check. After sending a message to Andrew, you will be able to order a background check for $7.99. The check will be processed by First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.

Hi. My name's Andy and I'm originally from New York. I came to Ann Arbor to go to school at U of M, and fell in love with the town. (The Big Ten sports didn't hurt either.) I graduated with a degree in English, but only because I couldn't major in Everything. I've spent my career in the advertising, marketing and web development fields, and I'm planning to go back to law school in the next five years.
I've always had a great eye for detail and accuracy; I'm that annoying guy who spots inconsistencies in movies. But trust me...it's a skill that comes in handy when proofing papers. Writing and editing are my strongest suits, with a focus on grammar.
I speak fluent French (used to live in London, did an exchange program to Paris and Antibes), some Spanish and some Italian. I have excellent basic math skills--never got into calculus, though--and I'm a sports junkie.
I don't have much tutoring experience--at least not professionally--but the people I have helped have consistently told me I'd make a great teacher. I'd have to classify my teaching style as relaxed, and one of my strengths is being resourceful in finding different ways to attack a problem. I like to listen first and understand the challenge before offering a solution. One answer doesn't work for everyone.

Email Andrew

Andrew’s subjects

Corporate Training:
French, General Computer, Grammar, Proofreading
Sports/Recreation:
Baseball, Basketball, Chess, Football
Homeschool:
Algebra 1, English, French, Prealgebra, Writing
Elementary Education:
Grammar
Language:
Computer:
Math:
Algebra 1, Prealgebra
English:
English, Grammar, Proofreading, Writing

Basketball

I've been playing basketball on the playground and in rec leagues for more than 20 years. While I'm not an expert on fundamentals, I have a good mind for the game and the strategy. (There's one simple key to the game...ask me what it is at our first session.) I can help develop your proficiency in the post, on defense, and in the mental part of the game. I can also help beginners get a good basic understanding, to get them off on the right foot.

I find my method of teaching, through explanation AND demonstration, to be effective at most levels. I can adjust to any skill level, and get the most out of our sessions. If you're looking to have fun, we can do that. But if you want to hone your jump shot so you take home the state title, we can do that, too.

Football

Of all the sports I play, I find football to be the most fun. I played in high school, intramural flag in college, and even semi-pro for the Michigan Twisters--Division AA National Champs. I've coached flag and powder-puff teams to victory, and I really enjoy every aspect of it--the Xs and Os, the techniques, the strategy...my dream job would be to be a coach in the NFL. I find my ability to explain the game AND demonstrate by example to be an effective teaching method.

I have experience on both sides of the ball, playing in the secondary most of my life but moving to QB and WR when I got to the semi-pro level. (At 6'2" 190 I don't have too much line experience, but I have a general idea of their responsibilities.) If you're looking to learn about position play, strategy, rules or coaching, I'd be happy to help.

French

I am a fluent speaker, lived in France for a few summers when I was younger (Paris, Antibes), and studied throughout high school and college, but there's no substitute for immersion in the country. (I highly recommend it.)
I have experience tutoring in French through WyzAnt, and am comfortable with students of any level.

General Computer

I have my parents to thank for my familiarity with computers, as we got our first one when I was only 8. (That may sound old these days, but this was 30 years ago.) Ever since then, I've maintained an interest in computers and the Internet. I currently work for a web development firm, and use computers all day, every day.

I'm extremely Web savvy. My strengths definitely lie more on the software side, though I can set up a computer out of the box with ease. I am expert in email and MS Office, I can help troubleshoot problems, and help you feel more comfortable around computers. If you're looking for a low-pressure way to learn about computers in general, or about something specific, I'd love to help.

Read all subject qualifications ยป

Email Andrew

back to top

Education

University of Michigan (English)

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $40.00

Travel policy

Andrew will travel within 40 miles of Ann Arbor, MI 48103.

Email Andrew

Usually responds in about 6 hours

Send Andrew a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Andrew or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

(ex: algebra, chemistry)
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive Responses From Additional Tutors

If selected, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.