Search 73,890 tutors
FIND TUTORS
Over 200 tutoring hours

Laurie B.

Very Patient Piano Teacher - In home lessons only in Rockville

Rockville, MD (20850)

Travel radius
10 miles
Hourly fee
$52.00
Email Laurie B.

You don't pay for tutoring
unless you find a good fit!

Background Check Status for Laurie B.

Laurie B. passed a background check on 1/7/14. The check was ordered by Laurie through First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

After sending a message to Laurie, you will be able to order a new background check for $7.99. As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.

I am currently only teaching piano in my home. I will update my profile again if more ESOL slots become available.

I love music. I have studied piano for over 15 years. I am currently taking piano and voice lessons. I taught group piano for the last six months, and I have taught piano to all ages of students from 6 to 65.

I can recommend a very inexpensive keyboard for under $300 that you can use to start out. I also use rhythm sticks and tambourines.

My goal is to have fun with music and to find melodies that mean something to you as you play.

Laurie

Email Laurie

Laurie’s subjects

Math:
Prealgebra
English:
English, ESL/ESOL, Reading, TOEFL, Vocabulary, Writing
Language:
ESL/ESOL, TOEFL
Music:
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th), Elementary Math, Reading, Study Skills, Vocabulary
Homeschool:
Elementary (K-6th), English, ESL/ESOL, Piano, Prealgebra, Reading, Study Skills, Writing
Test Preparation:
GED, Praxis, TOEFL
Corporate Training:

Elementary (K-6th)

I have passed the elementary math test, prealgebra, reading, writing and vocabulary tests. I have raised three children and have great patience with children. I taught young children piano when I was younger. I was a certified French teacher in Secondary Education, but I am planning on teaching ESOL to both young and older students in the next school year. I have passed my Praxis II in ESOL, and I am certified to teach ESOL in the State of Maryland.

ESL/ESOL

I am a certified ESOL teacher in the State of Maryland. I am a native English speaker. I received my TESOL Training Certificate in December from Montgomery College after 16 credits. I am currently teaching ESOL two nights a week and tutoring as well.

I have recently retired from a long career in law and human resources.

Piano

I studied piano (including classical) from the time I was 6 until 17. I continued to play through the years - I taught some children when I was in my late teens beginning piano.

I then took piano lessons at the School of Music in Rockville for 4 more years within the last six years. I am very good at sight reading. My original teacher from about 6 years ago said I was the best sight-reader that she teaches.

Study Skills

I have been tutoring elementary students from grades three through five since the beginning of this year.

I have worked with them on prioritizing homework assignments and projects, test taking skills as well as reading comprehension and writing skills.

I don't just ask them to do an assignment. I ask them about different ways to plan it and complete it.

Vocabulary

Due to my educational background and my language background, I have a very large vocabulary and know word usage.

Writing

I am a semi-retired lawyer and HR professional. I love to write, and I hope to communicate this love to my students. I am extremely patient.

I am a certified ESOL teacher in the State of Maryland, and I completed my TESOL certificate in December of 2013.

Read all subject qualifications »

Email Laurie

back to top

Education

University of Maryland (French Education)

University of Pittsburgh (J.D.)

Montgomery College: Rockville Campus (Other)

Great Teacher My daughter - 8 years - has been learning a lot from Laurie in little time. Laurie has been great in teaching her and comes ALWAYS prepared for the lesson with techniques, learning tricks, and material. We are very glad we met Laurie and hope to continue with her for a long long time. Thanks Laurie. ...

— Elias from Boyds, MD on 11/24/13);

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $52.00

Cancellation: 24 hours notice required

If you prefer a 45 minute lesson, my rate would be $40.

Travel policy

Laurie will travel within 10 miles of Rockville, MD 20850.

Email Laurie

Usually responds in about 1 hour

Send Laurie a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Laurie or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

(ex: algebra, chemistry)
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive Responses From Additional Tutors

If selected, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.