Search 72,264 tutors
FIND TUTORS
Over 100 tutoring hours

Laura K.

Montessori Teacher and Homeschooler Loves to Teach

Mechanicsville, MD (20659)

Travel radius
15 miles
Hourly fee
$40.00
Email Laura K.

You don't pay for tutoring
unless you find a good fit!

Background Check Status for Laura K.

Laura K. has not yet had a background check. After sending a message to Laura, you will be able to order a background check for $7.99. The check will be processed by First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.

I have spent my life teaching, first in a primary Montessori classroom and then at home with my four sons, whom I homeschooled from preschool through twelfth grade, and who have all earned honors at their colleges, as I did at mine. While homeschooling I did not use packaged curricula or computer courses, but created my own course material and lesson plans, and either worked with my boys one-on-one or held small classes with them. I have my own set of Montessori materials and can tutor young students using the Montessori method, which includes phonics and early math materials. I teach early, remedial, or advanced reading skills with books on whichever subjects are most interesting to the student; I love teaching the fundamentals of math, including fractions, up through beginning algebra; I am a true grammarian and have a simple, structured, intuitive method for teaching grammar gleaned from my seventh-grade English teacher, Montessori, and experience teaching my own children; I lead children on an exploration of vocabulary from many different angles, such as root words, derivatives, catch-phrases, relevant words in books being read, and the history of language; and finally, and best of all, I love reading and discussing literature with students. However, although my sons all made excellent scores on standardized tests, including the SAT, I do not teach to any test. I teach to help people learn, to make learning easier for them, and to encourage them to love to learn. If this appeals to you, please contact me. My name is Laura.

Email Laura

Laura’s subjects

Math:
Algebra 1, Prealgebra
English:
English, Grammar, Literature, Proofreading, Reading, Vocabulary, Writing
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th), Elementary Math, Grammar, Phonics, Reading, Spelling, Vocabulary
Special Needs:
Homeschool:
Algebra 1, Elementary (K-6th), English, Prealgebra, Reading, Writing
Corporate Training:
Grammar, Proofreading

Elementary (K-6th)

In my undergraduate studies, I took many Education courses, such as Curriculum, Children's Literature, Music Education, and Advanced Grammar, in preparation to receive a Teaching Certificate; however, I did not like practice teaching in the public schools. When I learned about the Montessori method, I took the Montessori training and received a Montessori Primary certificate. I then taught Montessori until I had my own children. As each of my four sons grew, I began to teach them with the Montessori materials, and then decided to homeschool them. I taught each of them throughout not only the elementary grades, but also through high school. They have all been highly successful in college. I believe that is the best testimonial I can offer.

Elementary Math

From number recognition to concrete experiences with addition, subtraction, multiplication, and division, through memorization of number facts and sensible, simple explanations of using fractions, I can help children lay a strong foundation on which to build an understanding of higher math.

Grammar

Grammar is one of my favorite subjects to teach because it is so logical, and yet is flexible enough to allow room for individual expression and play. Many teachers of young children can't explain it clearly because they never truly understood it themselves. I have a straightforward, simple method which my 7th-grade teacher used to clear up my confusion and which I used with my own four sons at a much earlier age. I would be happy to continue the tradition of helping others gain this most basic awareness of how words are used in our language!

Phonics

Not only did I learn to read by the phonics method, but I also was instructed in phonics while taking the primary Montessori training at the AMI Montessori Institute in Washington, DC, in the 1981-82 school year. While homeschooling, I taught each of my four boys to read using the phonics method. Finally, I was instructed in phonics again while training to be a volunteer tutor for the Literacy Council of St Mary's County, MD.

Read all subject qualifications ยป

Email Laura

back to top

Education

Randolph-Macon Woman's College

Montessori Institute of Washington, DC (Other)

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $40.00

Cancellation: 4 hours notice required

Travel policy

Laura will travel within 15 miles of Mechanicsville, MD 20659.

Email Laura

Usually responds in about 5 hours

Send Laura a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Laura or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

(ex: algebra, chemistry)
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive Responses From Additional Tutors

If selected, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.