Search 75,811 tutors
FIND TUTORS
Over 100 tutoring hours

Rebecca W.

Science and Math for any age!

Baltimore, MD (21239)

Travel radius
10 miles
Hourly fee
$40.00
Email Rebecca W.

You don't pay for tutoring
unless you find a good fit!

Background Check Status for Rebecca W.

Rebecca W. passed a background check on 6/19/12. The check was ordered by another user through First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

After sending a message to Rebecca, you will be able to order a new background check for $7.99. As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.

Hello,

My name is Rebecca, and I just recently graduated with my BS in marine biology from FIU. I have experience with all ages and a love for teaching. I am currently in a graduate program for teaching secondary education and will be certified within the next 6th months. I have the most experience with middle school age (6th grade to 8th grade), but am comfortable with high school and elementary school ages as well. I worked with breakthrough Miami as a summer teacher intern. This position gave me wonderful experience in how to show students easy and fun ways to understand difficult concepts. My strong suits are in science, math, athletics, and piano.

I am a very intelligent and friendly person. I try my hardest to be on time to any obligation, but of course, this is difficult with the amount of traffic we all know is in the Miami area. Through the program I worked with, I learned that children learn better doing hands on activities. I am very good at coming up with games and other fun things to help assist in the learning process. From all my experience with children and teaching this summer, it would be a wonderful experience to help out other kids and help them to succeed in school.

Email Rebecca

Rebecca’s subjects

Sports/Recreation:
Test Preparation:
SAT Math
Homeschool:
Algebra 1, Algebra 2, Biology, Chemistry, Elementary (K-6th), English, Geometry, Piano, Prealgebra, Precalculus, Reading, SAT Math, Writing
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th), Elementary Math, Elementary Science, Reading, Spelling, Vocabulary
Music:
Science:
Anatomy, Biology, Chemistry, Ecology, Physiology
Math:
Algebra 1, Algebra 2, Geometry, Prealgebra, Precalculus, SAT Math
English:
English, Literature, Reading, Vocabulary, Writing

Algebra 1

Algebra is one of my strongest subjects. Anything from grade school algebra to college algebra.

Anatomy

I have a vast knowledge of the human body and the organs that comprise it. I have taken a few anatomy classes and did very well in them.

Biology

Biology is one of my strongest subjects. I know everything from cells to taxonomy.

Chemistry

Chemistry is a strong subject for me. I have taken AP chemistry as well as general chemistry 1 and 2. I have done very well in all of the stated classes and am comfortable teaching others.

Ecology

Ecology is a strong subject for me. I have taken many ecology classes and have a lot of knowledge about how ecosystems work.

Elementary (K-6th)

Since the website does not offer elementary level problem solving and math skills, I am offering it to people who want their child to succeed in all aspects, not just English. If your child is struggling with their math skills, I am the person to help.

English

English is not my strongest suit but, I know enough to help through high school English and college writing classes.

Flute

I have been playing flute for 4 years and am very good at understanding everything from how to blow into the flute to forming notes and reading music.

Geometry

Geometry is one of my favorite math classes. I know how to do everything from simple areas to proofs.

Piano

I have been playing piano for 9 years and have a vast knowledge of how to theory and technique to pass on to students.

Softball

Softball is a hobby of mine that I still enjoy. I have been playing since I was very young. I have played slow and fast pitch softball. I most often played catcher and 2nd base but i understand the duties of the other positions as well. I understand the fundamentals of softball and am able to teach the basics such as rules, throwing, catching and hitting.

Swimming

I am lifeguard, CPR and first aid certified. Swimming is something I enjoy and have knowledge of many different strokes including: freestyle, breast stroke, and back stroke.

Read all subject qualifications »

Email Rebecca

back to top

Education

Florida International University, Miami, FL (Marine Biology)

Rebecca is a fabulous tutor. My daughter is beginning to feel better about herself now that she is understanding how to do her math assignments. My child learns from Rebecca and is demonstrating it in class by showing other students what she has learned! I am very encouraged and confident that with continued help from Rebecca that my daughter will begin to love math and excel at it. ...

— Kelly Sue from Naples, FL on 11/28/12);

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $40.00

Travel policy

Rebecca will travel within 10 miles of Baltimore, MD 21239.

Email Rebecca

Usually responds in about 3 hours

Send Rebecca a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Rebecca or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

(ex: algebra, chemistry)
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive Responses From Additional Tutors

If selected, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.