Search 72,493 tutors
FIND TUTORS
Over 50 tutoring hours

Sandy W.

Resourceful and Passionate Multi -Subject Tutor

Abingdon, MD (21009)

Travel radius
15 miles
Hourly fee
$35.00
Email Sandy W.

You don't pay for tutoring
unless you find a good fit!

Background Check Status for Sandy W.

Sandy W. has not yet had a background check. After sending a message to Sandy, you will be able to order a background check for $7.99. The check will be processed by First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.

Greetings! I am a graduate of Randolph-Macon College. I have a Bachelor of Science in Asian studies and minors in studio art and history. During my college career, I worked as an academic mentor at the Higgins Academic Center. As a mentor, I assisted students with study skills, time management, organizational skills, reading, writing, and discovering their learning styles. I have also obtained College Reading and Learning Association certification. While in college, I also tutored Asian Studies focusing primarily on Japanese language and culture. I have three years of college level Japanese in addition to a travel course. I also have experience with Japanese culture, history, literature in translation, and marital arts.

I enjoy bringing something different to each tutoring session. As a result, I take an interdisciplinary approach to learning and teaching. I like to ensure that my students have a strong foundation so that they can advance in the subject.

As a tutor I will work to find the way that my students learn best, and teach them the fundamentals of any subject. My goal is to give every student the building blocks to create an engaging session and ultimately allow them to further their learning independently.

I look forward to working with you soon!

Email Sandy

Sandy’s subjects

Math:
Algebra 1, Prealgebra
English:
Language:
Japanese, Spanish, TOEFL
History:
American History
Elementary Education:
Elementary Math, Reading, Spelling, Study Skills
Test Preparation:
TOEFL

Algebra 1

I enjoy working with and teaching basic Algebra. I have experience tutoring math at the middle school, high school and college level. I can assist with topics ranging from slope, slope intercept form, like terms, solving algebraic expression, inequalities and equations.

English

I am proficient in English grammar, reading, speaking, and writing. I am able to teach the parts of speech, plurals, and possessive. I can teach conversational English from the beginning to the advance level. I can also tutoring English writing. I can teach the English alphabet, cursive, print, and manuscript. I am also able to help with constructing paragraphs, five block essays, and the writing process.

Flute

I enjoy playing the flute and helping beginning flautist learn to play. As a performer, I have played in a variety of settings including marching band, concert band, pep bands, and orchestra. As a tutor, I am more than happy to show students how to adjust their playing to these styles. In addition to playing the flute, I am able to teach music theory as well as teach students how to read scores written for flutes.

General Computer

I can help with understanding basic computer skills. I can teach on Macintosh (MAC) or Personal Computers (PC). I also teach keyboarding skills, the difference between hardware and software, how to open applications and accessing the internet.

Japanese

I would like tutor Japanese to new students, students at the beginner level, or students studying for the N5. During sessions, I can teach katakana, hiragana, basic kanji, and introductory grammar. I can also teach testing strategies for the N5.

Microsoft PowerPoint

I am able to teach basic PowerPoint skills. During sessions, I am able to demonstrate how to use PowerPoint to create presentations and flash cards. I am also able to give advice on presenting. I can also show how to use Spanish and Japanese text in PowerPoint.

Microsoft Word

I have extensive experience with Microsoft Word from both my college career and personal experience. During sessions, I am able to review and teach formatting, spell check, and how to insert reference items. My specialties include writing essays in Word and creating backgrounds. I am also able to work with Word documents in Spanish and Japanese.

Music Theory

I can teach fundamentals of music theory. I am happy to teach music notation, rhythm, scales, and dynamics. I also incorporate music theory in flute and piano tutoring.

Piano

My skills include sight reading, reading musical scores, keyboard tablature, and basic music theory. I have performed at recitals, church devotions, and Christmas plays. During college, I participated in musical organizations, and provided piano accompaniments. I enjoy a variety of genres including classical, blues, and contemporary pieces including Beethoven and Yeager.

Reading

I enjoy reading and helping my students learn to read especially reading comprehension. I have College Reading and Learning Association certification. I can teach new readers by phonetics or recognition. I prefer to use both methods when tutoring new students.

Spanish

I am interested in tutoring Spanish at the beginning levels. In high school, I completed Spanish 4 with honors. In college, I studied Spanish conversation, composition and grammar. I enjoy tutoring preterit versus imperfect, present tense conjugations, and subject verb agreement. I am especially strong at teaching ways to remember conjugations.

Study Skills

I have been a mentor at Randolph Macon College for three years. As a mentor I have assisted students with study skills, time management, and determining various learning styles.

Writing

I enjoy creative and academic writing. Throughout my college career, I have written for a variety of disciplines including historical papers, psychological papers, personal essays, and mathematical papers. I am familiar with APA, MLA, Chicago, and Turabian styles. I would enjoy passing on my knowledge to future writers.

Read all subject qualifications »

Email Sandy

back to top

Education

Randolph Macon College (Asian Studies)

Great Tutor — If my daughter finds her fascinating, then she's doing a wonderful job. It is very good that my daughter has someone else to relate and talk to. ...

— Anne from Abingdon, MD on 7/10/14

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $35.00

Travel policy

Sandy will travel within 15 miles of Abingdon, MD 21009.

Email Sandy

Usually responds in about 10 hours

Send Sandy a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Sandy or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

(ex: algebra, chemistry)
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive Responses From Additional Tutors

If selected, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.