Search 73,207 tutors
FIND TUTORS
Over 20 tutoring hours

Pamela D.

Experienced and Effective Tutor

Wellesley, MA (02482)

Travel radius
10 miles
Hourly fee
$75.00
Email Pamela D.

You don't pay for tutoring
unless you find a good fit!

Background Check Status for Pamela D.

Pamela D. passed a background check on 3/3/14. The check was ordered by Pamela through First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

After sending a message to Pamela, you will be able to order a new background check for $7.99. As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.

I have been tutoring students from elementary grades through college for the past 8 years. I am extremely patient but at the same time I expect my students be serious and focused in their studies. I believe that with hard work and practice almost all students can achieve academic success.

I have a special expertise in helping middle and high school students with expository writing and I have developed a fairly extensive curriculum to help them build the writing skills that they will need in college.

I can work on a short or long term basis.

I am an alumna of Wellesley College where I earned a B.A. in Cognitive Science.

Note for parents of special needs students: I have worked with special needs students including blind students and students with mild forms of autism. I do not have special needs certification, but I bring several years of intensive experience.

I look forward to hearing from you!

Email Pamela

Pamela’s subjects

Math:
Algebra 1, Prealgebra, SAT Math
English:
ACT English, ACT Reading, English, ESL/ESOL, Grammar, Literature, Proofreading, Reading, SAT Reading, SAT Writing, Vocabulary, Writing
Language:
ESL/ESOL
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th), Elementary Math, Elementary Science, Grammar, Phonics, Reading, Spelling, Study Skills, Vocabulary
Special Needs:
Business:
GRE
Homeschool:
Algebra 1, Elementary (K-6th), English, ESL/ESOL, Prealgebra, Reading, SAT Math, SAT Reading, Study Skills, Writing
Test Preparation:
ACT English, ACT Reading, GED, GRE, SAT Math, SAT Reading, SAT Writing, SSAT
Sports/Recreation:
Corporate Training:
ESL/ESOL, Grammar, Proofreading

Aspergers

I have been working with special needs students for eight years. For the past two years, I have worked daily with a teenage boy who is diagnosed with highly functional autism. His symptoms are the same as Aspergers in addition to a slight learning disability which is usually not present in people with Aspergers. I assist him with all of his academic work. In addition, I create and supervise independent learning activities, including research and writing projects, theatre arts, music, and foreign language lessons. I am very knowledgable and well read on working with students on the autism spectrum and Aspergers.

Autism

I have been tutoring an autistic child five days a week for the past year. I help him with his homework assignments. I also create independent study projects from building models to writing and performing plays.

Because each child's symptoms and cognitive abilities are unique, I would need to discuss a child's needs with his or her parents to see if there was a good fit.

Cooking

I am a very experienced cook with special knowledge of classic French cooking cuisine and techniques including sauces and stocks. I also enjoy teaching kids basic fun foods like pizza and pasta with a focus on healthy choices. I like to make seasonal and holiday specialties.

Sewing

I have been a sewer since I was young child. I can sew everything from draperies to Halloween costumes to evening wear. I especially enjoy finding the fabric that will best suit a pattern. I am currently sewing a dress for my daughter using a 1920's pattern from France.

Special Needs

I have worked with blind students for several years providing assistance in college level science, economics, English, and math courses. I also created elementary and middle school level science curriculum appropriate for blind students and ran a summer camp for blind students.

Study Skills

I have been working for several years to help students who have either physical or cognitive disabilities improve their study skills. I currently work with a high school student on a daily basis with his homework including short and long term assignments. I help students learn how to organize their work and to manage their time more effectively.

Read all subject qualifications ยป

Email Pamela

back to top

Education

Wellesley College (Cognitive Science)

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $75.00

Cancellation: 24 hours notice required

Cancellation: 24 hours or reschedule within one week in case of illness. Multiple hour lessons: hours or portions of hours after first will be charged at 30% less.

Travel policy

Pamela will travel within 10 miles of Wellesley, MA 02482.

Email Pamela

Usually responds in about 3 hours

Send Pamela a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Pamela or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

(ex: algebra, chemistry)
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive Responses From Additional Tutors

If selected, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.