Search 75,806 tutors
FIND TUTORS

Robin B.

I am a SpEd Aide for pre-5th grade specializing in English

Norton, MA (02766)

Travel radius
15 miles
Hourly fee
$40.00
Email Robin B.

You don't pay for tutoring
unless you find a good fit!

Background Check Status for Robin B.

Robin B. has not yet had a background check. After sending a message to Robin, you will be able to order a background check for $7.99. The check will be processed by First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.

I have been teaching for over 22 years from Infants through High School age while raising a family. I have a daughter in the 7th grade and two grown step-children. I am working on my Master's while working as an Aide in a school system. I am with Autistic children, and work 1:1.

I not only provide assistance in the classroom with all subjects, but provide homework help, study skills help, and organization tips. I have taught at the pre-k level as the classroom teacher, and am very familiar with pre-reading and writing curriculum. I am Lead Teacher Qualified for Preschool and Kindergarten, and have completed all the requirements for a Teacher Lincencure except the Foundations of Reading test. I tried to take the Reading Certification test on this site, but it didn't work! I very much enjoy tutoring 1:1, and that is why I am looking for this type of work-helping students strive to do their best, fostering self-confidence, and "owning" personal responsibility for completed work are all qualities I myself work towards as both a teacher, and as a Grad student.

Teaching and tutoring are not just mere jobs to me-this is my passion! Because I work in a school system, my church as a Confirmation Teacher, and as a Cadette Girl Scout Leader, I have C.O.R.I. Background checks available for prospective families to see.

Email Robin

Robin’s subjects

Corporate Training:
Grammar
Sports/Recreation:
Fitness
Homeschool:
Elementary (K-6th), English, Study Skills, Writing
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th), Elementary Science, Grammar, Phonics, Study Skills, Vocabulary
History:
Science:
Nutrition, Psychology
English:
English, Grammar, Vocabulary, Writing

ADD/ADHD

I have been teaching in an elementary school setting for 8 years with children from ages k-5, specifically ADD/ADHD, LD, and children on the Autism Spectrum. I have taken the Paraprofessional exam, and am currently working on My Master's in Sped.

Autism

I have been working with this population for the past 5 years, and I am a 1:1 Aide in this field. I am presently working towards my Master's in this field as well.

Dyslexia

I am a Teacher's Aide working closely with dyslexic children, and am dyslexic myself. I am currently working on My Master's in SpEd specifically to work with this population. I had a tutor when I was in school who taught me how to read, and I am proud to now be a teacher who can pass what I have learned on to someone else. Being dyslexic does not mean being stupid, or unfocused or lazy. It does mean that we learn differently, and need to have different options available to us. I was so lucky to have those options, and I'd like to do the same for you.

Elementary (K-6th)

I taught Pre-K for six years and am Lead Teacher Qualified to teach this grade level. I have been in two school systems as an ABA Aide teaching 1:1 in Grades 1-5 as well. I travel with the students to their classrooms and assist them in any and all subjects as well as keeping their items organized, helping them study for tests, creating curriculum designed to help them learn the material at their pace, and numerous types of projects. I am able to tailor their learning to their individual abilities, and I can do that for you too. Breaking down lessons into smaller units helps the specific children I work with in two ways. One-the work is more manageable, and can be understood at the student's pace, and two- students can learn one task first, and work their way through to the rest of the steps, which helps foster self-confidence and celebrates each success.

Phonics

One of the most important tasks I have as a 1:1 Aide is making sure my students can read. The Preschool Curriculum I created was based completely on Pre-reading skills. Breaking down Paragraphs to sentences, down to words, down to letters, sounds, and even using picture cues are essential parts of my job. We utilize many Phonic programs, and assistive technologies to help students. I have many of these programs available for use by prospective students.

Religion

I teach at my church, and have been for 14 years. I have taught 1st grade, 2nd grade, 4th grade, Youth Ministry, as well as Sacramental Instruction for Communion, reconciliation ,and Confirmation. My daughter attends Catholic School, so I am very familiar with the various lessons taught in each age group, and as a Girl Scout Leader I have co-taught Religious Recognition programs at each of the levels-Family Of God, I live My Faith, and most recently, the Marion Medal. I am currently a Confirmation Teacher,Altar Server, and Proclaimer of The Word at my church. I have taken 7 of the 8 courses required to have my Certificate in Youth Ministry-which will be completed by this September.

Special Needs

I am currently working with a Special Needs population as a 1:1 Aide, and am working towards my Masters in this field. I enjoy creating curriculum, using adaptive materials, and finding new and interesting ways to help these students. It is very rewarding to see what children of all abilities can accomplish when given appropriate tools, and TIME!

Study Skills

Being Dyslexic, learning appropriate Study Skills was imperative to my school success. Being organized in my thoughts as well as my materials, being able to retain the information I would be tested on, and finding the best way to note-take has only been acquired by years of trial and error! I am a visual learner, so for me, picture clues help me remember pertinent information, but for many of my students, that doesn't work. So, I learned the different methods for helping them, and I can do the same for you.

Read all subject qualifications ยป

Email Robin

back to top

Education

Worcester State College (Psychology)

Anna Maria College, Paxton, MA (1yr completed) (MEd)

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $40.00

Cancellation: 8 hours notice required

Travel policy

Robin will travel within 15 miles of Norton, MA 02766.

Email Robin

Usually responds in about 23 hours

Send Robin a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Robin or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

(ex: algebra, chemistry)
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive Responses From Additional Tutors

If selected, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.