Search 75,292 tutors
FIND TUTORS
Over 500 tutoring hours

Rachel E.

MIT Math and Science Tutor

Medford, MA (02155)

Travel radius
5 miles
Hourly fee
$69.00
Email Rachel E.

You don't pay for tutoring
unless you find a good fit!

Background Check Status for Rachel E.

Rachel E. passed a background check on 7/14/14. The check was ordered by Rachel through First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

After sending a message to Rachel, you will be able to order a new background check for $7.99. As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.

I'm an MIT student majoring in Materials Science (a macroscopic study of Chemistry and Physics). I've been tutoring on and off since 2008, when I began teaching math and writing to middle schoolers. I've since taught chemistry, physics, writing, literature and composition, and mathematics from Algebra I through Calculus.

I began tutoring full-time by teaching at a number of highly reputable tutoring centers in the Chicago metro area, and have run my own tutoring business since 2011. I currently teach students from 7th grade through college, ranging in age from 11 to 45.

My academic background isn't limited to math and science. Before coming to MIT in 2009, I attended a state university for 3 years, where I studied Western History, English and Spanish. I also am writing a young adult novel series. All of these activities give me an edge over traditional math and science tutors: I can approach the subjects from a math-centered point of view, or from a language-centered point of view. I pride myself on being able to pick out a student's strengths, and teach her how to apply herself to subjects where she struggles.

I specialize particularly at teaching gifted children. I tutored at the Davidson Academy of Nevada, a high school based on a university campus which routinely graduates half its students as National Merit Finalists, and the THINK Institute for Summer Development, a three-week summer program which introduces 13- through 16-year-olds to the rigors of college-level academics. But I don't require that your child be some sort of super-genius; all of my best students in one-on-one tutoring have been bright kids who were, for one reason or another, underachieving. It's my personal pride and joy to watch those students grow and excel at things they never dreamed they could.

A little about me and my tutoring methods: I think my biggest advantage over most teachers is that I'm on the student's side. Frequently, public school teachers fail to make it clear why the material students are learning should be interesting. If a subject's not interesting, why are we learning it? What is it relevant to? Why do we care? At least for me, it's hard to do well in a subject that's boring. It's my goal to make school work interesting, upbeat and fun. Failing that, I at least want to make school work *survivable*, and to make it clear to the learner why it's important that she manages to pass her classes.

I also strive to make tutoring an easy choice for parents. I ask to meet all of my clients for a risk-free trial session before agreeing to meet long-term: I'll want to come to your house, or our agreed-upon tutoring location, and conduct an hour-long session with the student. Because I believe that personal chemistry is an important part of the teacher-student relationship, I'll ask to sit down with you afterward and discuss my prospects with your child. If I think we're a good match, we'll continue with business, and set up a time to meet long-term. If I think the session went poorly, or if there's something else in the way of me meeting with your child long-term, you'll get the session for free, and I'll go on my merry way.

(These rules obviously do not apply for students who are looking for a cram session, or for irregular meetings; under those circumstances, I'll give you as large a block of time as I can, when I can.)

So please feel free to drop me a message, and know that I'm looking forward to hearing from you.

--Rachel

Email Rachel

Rachel’s subjects

Corporate Training:
Proofreading
Test Preparation:
SAT Writing
Homeschool:
Algebra 1, Algebra 2, Biology, Calculus, Chemistry, Geometry, Physics, Prealgebra, Precalculus, Writing
Science:
Biology, Chemistry, Philosophy, Physical Science, Physics, Psychology
Math:
Algebra 1, Algebra 2, Calculus, Geometry, Prealgebra, Precalculus
English:
Proofreading, SAT Writing, Writing

Calculus

Calculus was the class that opened up the world for me. I love it as a subject. I love the new ways of thinking it introduces. It was the first math class I ever enjoyed.

I have taken both single-variable and multi-variable Calculus, and teach Calculus at both the AP and Honors level. I have also taught classes such as "Calculus Concepts," which serve as an introduction to the models of thinking required by Calculus (which are deeply different from those required by any other type of math!)

During the Fall of 2011, I am teaching Calculus to two students.

Chemistry

As a major in Materials Science, chemistry is my specialty. I'm primarily an inorganic person, so I don't offer services in organic chemistry (yet), but I'm great at Gen Chem, and can provide help with Thermodynamics as well as basic solid-state chemistry.

The two high school students I tutored for the last few weeks of spring 2011 in chemistry both pulled their grades up by a full letter grade.

Physics

I've taken Physics up through introductory quantum mechanics, and have a solid understanding of Mechanics, Electromagnetism (E&M), and Vibrations and Waves. I took physics with calculus, but I'm certainly capable of approaching physics problems without calculus, too.

In summer 2011 I helped a pre-med student at DePaul University work through the college's accelerated 10-week summer program for General Physics.

Writing

I have been writing Young Adult fiction for the last six years. Pursuing a career in writing was the reason I took leave from MIT. So I'm extremely enthusiastic about the subject, and about the power that having a dexterous grasp on written communication gives a person.

I primarily teach expository writing -- essay organization, fluent sentence use, and salient word choice -- but I also offer editing and proofreading services. Essay writing was the first subject I ever taught, back in 2008, and I have taught it all levels, from middle school through university-level. I am also happy to provide feedback on papers that have already been written (particularly if the subject is a scientific one).

Read all subject qualifications »

Email Rachel

back to top

Education

Massachusetts Institute of Technology (Materials Science)

Finding the right chemistry Over the past couple of years we have had several tutors for my son in several different subject areas. While all have been very competent and professional, we have found that the most important element to success is chemistry between student and tutor. Rachel is a great communicator, and is able to get across her excellent subject knowledge in a way that makes sense to my son. Rachel is young ...

— Jacob from Oak Park, IL on 9/30/11);

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $69.00

Cancellation: 24 hours notice required

1 hour trial session for all new clients. Pricing by ten-minute increments

Travel policy

Rachel will travel within 5 miles of Medford, MA 02155.

Email Rachel

Usually responds in about 20 hours

Send Rachel a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Rachel or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

(ex: algebra, chemistry)
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive Responses From Additional Tutors

If selected, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.