Search 75,873 tutors
FIND TUTORS

David P.

Engineering, and Business Tutor with a Master's from MIT

Haverhill, MA (01831)

Travel radius
20 miles
Hourly fee
$40.00
Email David P.

You don't pay for tutoring
unless you find a good fit!

Background Check Status for David P.

David P. has not yet had a background check. After sending a message to David, you will be able to order a background check for $7.99. The check will be processed by First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.

I received my undergraduate degree at Suffolk in Boston, MA. I then took a job at Cisco Systems (The Networking Company) as a Data Center Engineer and Architect. I was responsible for planning the project from start to finish; as well as working hands on at the location.

I then decided to get my Master's degree (I went to MIT in Boston, MA) in Engineering. After finishing my degree I went back to work at Cisco Systems as Director of Data Center Development.

I have chosen to tutor on this website (not because I need extra money) to help students further their education in a understandable and easy way. Sometimes teachers (from my own experience) do not always connect or teach on a level where students can understand and process the information needed to succeed. I wish to help students learn and improve their skills in an easy and conducive environment.

Please email me with any questions pertaining to tutoring or what skills and subjects I can help you with.

Regards,

- David P

Email David

David’s subjects

Corporate Training:
Adobe Flash, Business, Career Development, College Counseling, Economics, Grammar, HTML, Java, Microsoft Excel, Microsoft Word, Public Speaking, SPSS, SQL, Statistics, Web Design
Sports/Recreation:
Test Preparation:
ACT English, ACT Math, ACT Science, Career Development, College Counseling, LSAT, SAT Reading, SAT Writing
Homeschool:
Calculus, Economics, Elementary (K-6th), English, Prealgebra, Precalculus, Reading, SAT Reading, Statistics, Study Skills, Writing
Special Needs:
Phonics
Business:
Business, Career Development, Economics, Marketing, Microsoft Excel, Microsoft Word, Public Speaking, QuickBooks
Art:
Adobe Photoshop, Composition (Music)
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th), Elementary Science, Grammar, Phonics, Reading, Spelling, Study Skills, Vocabulary
Music:
Composition (Music), Guitar, Music History
History:
American History, Geography, Music History, Religion, World History
Science:
ACT Science, Electrical Engineering
Computer:
Adobe Flash, Adobe Photoshop, AutoCAD, Computer Engineering, Desktop Publishing, HTML, Java, Microsoft Excel, Microsoft Outlook, Microsoft Word, QuickBooks, SPSS, SQL, Web Design
Math:
ACT Math, Calculus, Differential Equations, Discrete Math, Linear Algebra, Logic, Prealgebra, Precalculus, Probability, SPSS, Statistics
English:
ACT English, English, Grammar, Literature, Public Speaking, Reading, SAT Reading, SAT Writing, Vocabulary, Writing

Adobe Flash

In college I took 2 Adobe Flash related classes. 1 to learn the basics and 1 to learn more in depth features and works such as action scripting. I also took Web Design classes where Flash was used to enhance the overall look, feel, and usability of the website. I still consult and teach action scripting and web design on the side.

AutoCAD

In my current job I use AutoCad on a daily basis to design databases and layouts for installations. I have a total of over 5-6 years of experience using this program.

Baseball

I played baseball from little league through high school. I made varsity three out of four years and coached my nephew's team this past year.

Business

Since leaving College and receiving my Masters from MIT in Math I have worked for Cisco Systems as a Data Center Engineer. I am responsible for designing, installing, and teaching the end user. The systems I install range from 500K to 80 million. I travel around the US and overseas. In addition my undergrad degree was a double major in Electrical Engineering and a BS/BA in Finance.

Chess

I have played Chess since the age of 6 (a total of 19 years). I was high school state Chess champion for 3 years straight. I was instructed by 2 different Chess teachers for a total of 12 years. I play Chess at least 3-4 times per week (currently). I have also taught chess to youth groups and adults looking to learn and/or improve their game.

Computer Engineering

I am a Network Engineer for my full time job and program databases and network software on a daily basis. I also have a Master's in Math from MIT and my Undergrad degree is a double major in Engineering and IT (Programming and Computer related) from North Eastern...

I also design Websites part time and use Dreamweaver, Photoshop, and other Adobe tools.

I also have qualifications in:

A+
Network+
CCNA (Certified)
and other cisco related certifications...

I have extensive knowledge in:

Perl
C++
C#
HTML
DOS
.NET
Linux related software
Java
and many more...

Electrical Engineering

My undergrad degree is in Electrical Engineering. Currently my job is in this field. With 6-8 years of experience in this field from jobs, to internships, as well as hands on work.

Elementary (K-6th)

I have a BS/BA as well as a Master's from MIT in Math. I have taught students from K-College. I use various subjects and knowledge on a daily basis for my job. Teaching elementary level education is something I have done for my nephew who is in home-schooled. He is currently in H/S and passed all exams to attend H/S from being a home-school student.

Football

I played football at the age of 8-18. I was the only freshman that made the Varsity squad and played 4 years of Varsity football in high school. Before that I played pee-wee football and spent many summers at Football camp and Football learning camps. I also had the opportunity to Coach 2 pee-wee football teams.

Guitar

I have played guitar for over 15 years. I started at the age of 10. During college I played in 2 Bands and played at various night clubs and music scenes. Places such as "The Middle East", "Harper's Ferry", and "The House of Blues" (all in the Boston area) to name a few. I specialize in Blues Rock and improving (soloing on the guitar). I have also taught classes while in College and currently to fellow colleagues at work.

Poker

I play poker on a weekly basis and have competed in the WSOP and WPT events. I have played poker for over 6 years and have also won more money than I have put in. Therefore I have made money playing poker. I have read over 15 books on the game itself and have been instructed by a professional poker player who has made millions playing the game.

Swimming

I have my CPR and Life Guard training certifications from the Red Cross. I have been swimming since the age of 5 and took 5-6 years of swimming classes at the YMCA. In addition I have life guarded at various summer camps and public pools.

Web Design

I have designed and created over 100 websites using various methods such as: Flash, Dreamweaver, HTML, Photoshop, etc. I have also been paid for these jobs and have taught others how to design websites.

Read all subject qualifications ยป

Email David

back to top

Education

Suffolk (Engineering)

MIT (Master's)

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $40.00

Cancellation: 24 hours notice required

My rate can change based on the subject, the amount of time, distance (gas/miles), and number of tutoring sessions needed.

Travel policy

David will travel within 20 miles of Haverhill, MA 01830.

Email David

Send David a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed David or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

(ex: algebra, chemistry)
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive Responses From Additional Tutors

If selected, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.