Search 72,526 tutors
FIND TUTORS

Krista Q.

Boston, MA

$60/hr

Krista: K-8 Music! Organizational Skills! General Tutor!

Usually responds after +3 days

Krista: K-8 Music! Organizational Skills! General Tutor!

Message Krista

Send Krista a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Krista or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive responses from additional tutors

If you select this option, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.

Hi!

My name is Krista Quinn and I will be a student at Berklee College of Music studying Contemporary Writing and Piano Performance beginning Fall 2011. I am an American citizen who was born in the Republic of Panama. I have a degree in Latin American and Caribbean Studies with a minor in International Affairs--which is odd given my first love is music and my life path up until this point has brought me into the education realm. My parents are both educators who retired in the Republic of Panama--(so this might have something to do with my interest in education!)

I have currently lived and worked in Panama City, Panama since 2005 in Early Childhood Education at the international school Balboa Academy; beginning with Jack Redmond... a 4 year old from Washington DC! I worked part-time as a paraprofessional with Jack in the classroom and helped him to accomplish tasks that he wouldn't otherwise be able to do. He had developmental delays and was about 1 1/2 years behind the other children at his grade level. He worked with speech and occupational therapists and while I myself was not certified; I learned a lot from the people that helped him to become a better student. Mostly Jack and I were buds and I developed a very close bond with he and his family.

I then went on to do a part-time teaching assistant position in the kindergarten and after that the 1st grade while taking online classes at Berklee and began a music minor at the University of Panama. After I worked extensively with in the Elementary- a position opened up for me to teach music!! I was given the position as part of a work-study agreement and have been teaching music to 4-9 year olds and studying music ever since!!!

I am active in the musical community in Panama City have performed in many venues as a songwriter, vocalist, pianist and most recently a composer and am co-founder of Artblock!! An event that takes place three times a year in the old French Quarter of Panama City and that employs many musicians, visual artists, actors, and poets and connects them with local business owners.

Apart from this I have tutored many students from K-12 -- in all subjects, have given ensemble music lessons, as well as private instruction to students on guitar, piano, and music theory. In the case of general subject tutoring; I try to find out what the student is trying to accomplish and then make a plan as to how to reach the student. In the case of private music instruction; I normally try to help students learn songs that they are interested in to begin and try to show them ideal practice methods on their instrument. I try to make this process as fun as possible; because the worst thing to do is lose students who love music because of rigid teaching techniques :(

I find that in most cases students have everything they need to succeed they just need to learn how to tap into the resources they naturally possess and work with someone that employs the right amount of belief and discipline to help them accomplish their goals.

I also believe that teaching is less about how much you know and more about how well you connect what you know with your student. I have a lot of experience with children but look forward to the unique teaching and learning opportunities working with new students will provide!

English:
ESL/ESOL, Grammar, Proofreading, Reading, TOEFL, Vocabulary, Writing
Language:
ESL/ESOL, Spanish, TOEFL
Music:
Composition (Music), Ear Training,
General Music,
Guitar, Music Theory, Piano,
Songwriting, Voice (Music)
Art:
Composition (Music)
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th),
Elementary Math, Elementary Science, Grammar, Phonics, Reading, Spelling, Study Skills, Vocabulary
Special Needs:
Phonics
Homeschool:
Elementary (K-6th),
ESL/ESOL, Piano,
Reading, Spanish, Study Skills, Writing
Test Preparation:
TOEFL
Corporate Training:
ESL/ESOL, Grammar, Proofreading, Spanish

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.

Ear Training

I am currently in Ear Training 3 at Berklee College of Music and can aid beginning/intermediate students in site reading, practicing intervalic relationships, as well as hearing and singing triads and tetrachords. I have several different teaching resources including the Berklee Ear Training books as well as the Roberta Bradley practice books.

Elementary (K-6th)

I have worked extensively with kids from this age group. For the past three years I've worked with two twins in Boston in all subjects beginning in 3rd grade and have seen vast improvements in their intellectual confidence, their grades and their work habits. I also work as a bilingual reading interventionist at the Hurley School Boston (grades K-2 in Spanish and English) and have helped many kids achieve their academic benchmarks.

General Music

I am currently a 3rd semester student at Berklee College of Music and also taught General Music Education for three years as a student assistant. I am one semester away from completing the core study course work. I have an extensive, autodidactic knowledge of general music education and also have many different ways of bringing music to children ages 4-9 via games, songs, and music work book exercises.

Piano

I am a student at Berklee College of Music studying piano as a principal instrument. I have also taught general music theory and education for children aged 4-9. I am studying jazz piano but am versed in early classical works for beginners and intermediate players and am currently studying with a Professor who specializes in the Alexander Technique.

Florida State University
Berklee College of Music
Enrolled

Education

Florida State University

Berklee College of Music (Enrolled)

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $60.00

Cancellation: 8 hours notice required

My rates are subject to change based on 1) proximity 2) grade level 3) hours per week 4) number of students per session.

Travel policy

Krista will travel within 15 miles of Boston, MA 02215.


About Krista

Hi!

My name is Krista Quinn and I will be a student at Berklee College of Music studying Contemporary Writing and Piano Performance beginning Fall 2011. I am an American citizen who was born in the Republic of Panama. I have a degree in Latin American and Caribbean Studies with a minor in International Affairs--which is odd given my first love is music and my life path up until this point has brought me into the education realm. My parents are both educators who retired in the Republic of Panama--(so this might have something to do with my interest in education!)

I have currently lived and worked in Panama City, Panama since 2005 in Early Childhood Education at the international school Balboa Academy; beginning with Jack Redmond... a 4 year old from Washington DC! I worked part-time as a paraprofessional with Jack in the classroom and helped him to accomplish tasks that he wouldn't otherwise be able to do. He had developmental delays and was about 1 1/2 years behind the other children at his grade level. He worked with speech and occupational therapists and while I myself was not certified; I learned a lot from the people that helped him to become a better student. Mostly Jack and I were buds and I developed a very close bond with he and his family.

I then went on to do a part-time teaching assistant position in the kindergarten and after that the 1st grade while taking online classes at Berklee and began a music minor at the University of Panama. After I worked extensively with in the Elementary- a position opened up for me to teach music!! I was given the position as part of a work-study agreement and have been teaching music to 4-9 year olds and studying music ever since!!!

I am active in the musical community in Panama City have performed in many venues as a songwriter, vocalist, pianist and most recently a composer and am co-founder of Artblock!! An event that takes place three times a year in the old French Quarter of Panama City and that employs many musicians, visual artists, actors, and poets and connects them with local business owners.

Apart from this I have tutored many students from K-12 -- in all subjects, have given ensemble music lessons, as well as private instruction to students on guitar, piano, and music theory. In the case of general subject tutoring; I try to find out what the student is trying to accomplish and then make a plan as to how to reach the student. In the case of private music instruction; I normally try to help students learn songs that they are interested in to begin and try to show them ideal practice methods on their instrument. I try to make this process as fun as possible; because the worst thing to do is lose students who love music because of rigid teaching techniques :(

I find that in most cases students have everything they need to succeed they just need to learn how to tap into the resources they naturally possess and work with someone that employs the right amount of belief and discipline to help them accomplish their goals.

I also believe that teaching is less about how much you know and more about how well you connect what you know with your student. I have a lot of experience with children but look forward to the unique teaching and learning opportunities working with new students will provide!

Education

Florida State University
Berklee College of Music
Enrolled

Education

Florida State University

Berklee College of Music (Enrolled)


Tutor Policies

Cancellation
8 hours notice required

My rates are subject to change based on 1) proximity 2) grade level 3) hours per week 4) number of students per session.

Travel Radius
Travels within 15 miles of Boston, MA 02215

Krista’s Subjects

English:
ESL/ESOL, Grammar, Proofreading, Reading, TOEFL, Vocabulary, Writing
Language:
ESL/ESOL, Spanish, TOEFL
Music:
Composition (Music), Ear Training,
General Music,
Guitar, Music Theory, Piano,
Songwriting, Voice (Music)
Art:
Composition (Music)
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th),
Elementary Math, Elementary Science, Grammar, Phonics, Reading, Spelling, Study Skills, Vocabulary
Special Needs:
Phonics
Homeschool:
Elementary (K-6th),
ESL/ESOL, Piano,
Reading, Spanish, Study Skills, Writing
Test Preparation:
TOEFL
Corporate Training:
ESL/ESOL, Grammar, Proofreading, Spanish

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.


Background Check Status for Krista Q.

Krista Q. has not yet had a background check. After sending a message to Krista, you will be able to order a background check for $7.99. The check will be processed by First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.