Search 75,106 tutors
FIND TUTORS
Over 20 tutoring hours

Jan M.

Help the Student Learn

Louisville, KY (40291)

Travel radius
10 miles
Hourly fee
$30.00
Email Jan M.

You don't pay for tutoring
unless you find a good fit!

Background Check Status for Jan M.

Jan M. passed a background check on 4/3/13. The check was ordered by Jan through First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

After sending a message to Jan, you will be able to order a new background check for $7.99. As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.

After graduating with a Bachelor of Arts degree with honors in Sociology, I continued my education and earned a Master of Arts degree, also in Sociology. I worked for over 25 years in a position that included training new employees to correctly and efficiently manage a large workload. These employees were recognized for their work quality and their attitude after they completed their training and were given a permanent position. During my work career, I also earned a Master of Arts degree with a major in Sociology. Shortly after I retired from that position, my son began having pretty serious school-related problems. As a result, I started working with the Learning Disabilities Association, an agency that provides resources for children with learning disabilities, and I led their parents' group for awhile. I understand what it's like from a parent's perspective and from a student's perspective, too. Recently, I returned to college and earned a Bachelor of Science degree in Sign Language Interpreting. This was one of the hardest things I've done. Unlike the other students in the program, I had no previous experience with deaf people or sign language and watched lower-lever students master things that I struggled with and really wasn't able to master. This was very humbling since I had earned my earlier degrees with honors and with relatively little effort.

When I tutored in the No Child Left Behind program, I focused on working with younger students who were struggling with basic math and reading concepts. It was gratifying to see them improve so much when they received help specifically targeted to their needs that weren't being met with one-size-fits-all teaching. I look for ways to present the information so it makes sense to the person I'm working with. My approach is to offer encouragement and be non-judgmental while giving students the things they need so they can help themselves. I've gathered a lot of my own resources to use in helping students, and I do continuous research to find more effective teaching and learning aids.

Not being a certified teacher may have drawbacks, but my education and career experiences and many associations with training people and working with struggling students are my assets. Students I've worked with have improved in academics and in self-confidence with my approach and philosophy, and with the materials and resources I use.

Email Jan

Jan’s subjects

Corporate Training:
Grammar, Proofreading, Sign Language
Homeschool:
Special Needs:
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th), Elementary Math, Grammar, Phonics, Reading, Spelling, Vocabulary
Language:
Math:
English:
English, Grammar, Proofreading, Reading, Vocabulary

ADD/ADHD

I was diagnosed as an adult with ADD, and my son was diagnosed with ADD in elementary school. Since he was diagnosed, I have done a lot of research on ADD and school-related problems, as well as attending seminars focused on this. Many of the students I tutored through No Child Left Behind had ADD and/or learning disabilities.

Elementary (K-6th)

This is where my heart is. I have tutored mainly younger students who needed help mastering the basics so they could move on to higher levels. My own learning experiences have highlighted for me how important patience and encouragement are.

Elementary Math

This is where my heart is. I have tutored mainly younger students who needed help mastering the basics so they could move on to higher levels. My own learning experiences have highlighted for me how important patience and encouragement are.

Hard Of Hearing

After earning a degree in Sign Language Interpreting, I worked mainly in elementary schools, both observing and interpreting. More than once, I saw students seemingly unable to do the work. Sometimes I got a chance to work with these students one-to-one and explain things using sign language. It was amazing how much better they then did on these tasks.

Phonics

I attended private schools for elementary school and high school. At that time, there was a strong emphasis on phonics as it relates to the basics of reading. I've been able to help students improve their reading skills by using phonics to help with decoding.

Prealgebra

I've helped several students at the middle-school level with math. Sometimes we can find an area that's a bit of a weakness for the student. After this has been remedied, it helps the student in many other areas of math.

Reading

I recently tutored with the No Child Left Behind program and had a lot of success working with elementary school students. Maybe that's because I like working with them so much. I have a lot of patience and try to find what works best with the individual student. Also, I have lots of resources that have been really helpful.

Sign Language

I studied sign language for 4 years. In 2008, I graduated with a BS from the Interpreter Training Program. For four years, I worked as a free-lance interpreter. Most of my work was in elementary schools, and I really enjoyed working with the younger students.

Read all subject qualifications ยป

Email Jan

back to top

Education

University of Louisville

University of Louisville (Master's)

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $30.00

Cancellation: 4 hours notice required

Travel policy

Jan will travel within 10 miles of Louisville, KY 40291.

Email Jan

Usually responds in about 7 hours

Send Jan a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Jan or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

(ex: algebra, chemistry)
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive Responses From Additional Tutors

If selected, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.