Search 72,592 tutors
FIND TUTORS
Over 20 tutoring hours

Michael H.

Lexington, KY

$35/hr

Experienced, effective tutor for Biology, Chemistry, Physics, and MCAT

Background check passed as of 7/31/14
Usually responds in about 2 hours

Experienced, effective tutor for Biology, Chemistry, Physics, and MCAT

Message Michael

Send Michael a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Michael or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive responses from additional tutors

If you select this option, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.

I graduated with a B.S. in biology at West Virginia University in May 2013. I finished Summa Cum Laude with a 3.9 GPA, graduated with Honors in biology, and was a University Honors Scholar. I previously obtained a B.A. in Japanese Language in 2008.

I focus on tutoring Science and MCAT, but I can tutor math and many other subjects.

I have tutored a variety of students, including high school students, veterans, athletes, and people with ADHD.

I was employed by West Virginia University as a tutor from January 2012 to July 2013, and I have been tutoring privately since September 2010. The time I tutored for WVU alone totals over 900 hours. During this time, I have tutored high school and college students and have developed great flexibility in my teaching methods.

As a tutor for West Virginia University, I have received regular training on improving my teaching methods and will soon receive a tutoring certification.

I can tutor biology, chemistry, physics, math up to multivariable calculus, history, and many other subjects. I look forward to helping you improve your understanding of your subjects and leading you toward better study skills.

Testimonials

"Huge grade boost."

- Rebecca, Lexington, KY on 11/8/13
Math:
Algebra 2, Calculus, Trigonometry
Science:
Anatomy, Biochemistry, Biology,
Chemistry,
Genetics,
Microbiology, Organic Chemistry,
Physical Science, Physics,
Physiology
Language:
Japanese
History:
American History, European History, Government & Politics, World History
Business:
GMAT
Homeschool:
Algebra 2, Biology,
Calculus, Chemistry,
Japanese,
Physics
Test Preparation:
GMAT,
MCAT
Corporate Training:
GMAT,
Japanese

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.

Biology

I know Biology to a greater depth than any other subject I tutor, since I've spent 3 years obtaining a B.S. in the subject.
I have worked in a Molecular Biology and Genetics laboratory since 1/2012. This experience has reinforced everything I have learned in my classes and has made me much more capable of explaining concepts in Biology.
My areas of expertise are General Biology, Cell Biology, Molecular Biology, Genetics, and Physiology. Of course, I can tutor almost any Biology class, but my courses focused on the above areas.
I have tutored Biology on an informal basis since 9/2011, by helping classmates with material.
I have tutored Biology since 8/2012 a tutor employed by West Virginia University.

Chemistry

I have tutored general (inorganic) Chemistry so much that it is practically second nature to me.
While I was tutoring for WVU, I was usually the primary Chemistry tutor and conducted mini-classes for the plethora of students we saw for the subject every evening.
Thanks to all of my experience tutoring the subject, I know multiple ways to make the problems easier to solve and how to relate the content to more everyday phenomena.

Genetics

I have taken 3 pure Genetics classes, and multiple Biology classes that covered topics in Genetics. I also worked in a Genetics and Molecular Biology laboratory for a year and a half.

GMAT

I took the GMAT in 1/2009 and obtained a 700 with little studying. I then studied for the exam for the next 6 months, until I decided I did not want to go to Business School.
I know many tricks for the exam and still have all my study materials.

Japanese

I studied Japanese intensively from 7/2006 to 7/2009. Within this time period, I became proficient enough in the language to pass the Level 1 (highest) Japanese Language Proficiency Test.
I studied abroad in Japan for 4 months (1/2008 - 5/2008). I worked at Japanese automotive company for 2 years. I was working in Japan for one year of that time.
I maintain my skill in Japanese by reading books written in the language and by using software to review kanji.

MCAT

I took this exam in June 2014 and scored a 40.

I studied for the exam for about 6 months while I worked at a full time job. I have taken multiple practice exams from the AAMC, the maker of the MCAT. Consequently, I am very familiar with the format of the exam and I know many strategies and resources to help you get the score you want.

My knowledge of the concepts tested on the science sections of the exam is excellent and I can explain every topic in easy to understand terms. This is partly due to graduating with a B.S. in biology at West Virginia University and tutoring Biology, Chemistry (General and Organic), and Physics for over 3 years.

Organic Chemistry

I took two semesters of organic chemistry in 2011. I received an A in both lectures and an A+ and A in the lab sections.
I have tutored Organic Chemistry privately since then. I was one of the tutors on the West Virginia University (WVU) Chemistry Department's list of private tutors (this requires professor approval).
As a tutor for WVU, one of my specialties was Organic Chemistry, so I worked with multiple students every week in the subject.
Finally, I will take the MCAT next year. Organic Chemistry is a significant part of what the test covers. Therefore I must keep my knowledge of this subject high, not only for tutoring opportunities, but also in order to pursue my future career.

Physics

I have been tutoring Physics since 9/2010 when my professor at the time referred one of the students in my class to me. This was before I even finished my first semester of Calculus based Physics. Since then I have continued to tutor the subject, honing my understanding and ability to explain concepts with each new student.

Trigonometry

I got an A in Trigonometry my Freshman year of High School.
Knowledge of Trigonometry is imperative for success in Calculus. I tested out of the first semester of Calculus and took 3 more semesters (up to Differential Equations), receiving an A in all 3 classes.
I tutored Trigonometry 5 days a week from 8/2012 to 5/2013.

Marshall University, Huntington, WV
Japanese
West Virginia University (B.S. Biology)
Other

Education

Marshall University, Huntington, WV (Japanese)

West Virginia University (B.S. Biology) (Other)

Huge grade boost. — After having several sessions with Michael, my next exam grade went from a D to an A! He is very patient and has really helped me not only memorize the information but truly understand it. ...

— Rebecca, Lexington, KY on 11/8/13

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $35.00

Cancellation: 3 hours notice required

Group rates: $45 for 2. Upper level college courses (300+): may be $40 depending on the material. Lessons requested less than 24 hours before meet time: $40

Travel policy

Michael will travel within 20 miles of Lexington, KY 40517.


About Michael

I graduated with a B.S. in biology at West Virginia University in May 2013. I finished Summa Cum Laude with a 3.9 GPA, graduated with Honors in biology, and was a University Honors Scholar. I previously obtained a B.A. in Japanese Language in 2008.

I focus on tutoring Science and MCAT, but I can tutor math and many other subjects.

I have tutored a variety of students, including high school students, veterans, athletes, and people with ADHD.

I was employed by West Virginia University as a tutor from January 2012 to July 2013, and I have been tutoring privately since September 2010. The time I tutored for WVU alone totals over 900 hours. During this time, I have tutored high school and college students and have developed great flexibility in my teaching methods.

As a tutor for West Virginia University, I have received regular training on improving my teaching methods and will soon receive a tutoring certification.

I can tutor biology, chemistry, physics, math up to multivariable calculus, history, and many other subjects. I look forward to helping you improve your understanding of your subjects and leading you toward better study skills.

Testimonials

"Huge grade boost."

- Rebecca, Lexington, KY on 11/8/13
}

Education

Marshall University, Huntington, WV
Japanese
West Virginia University (B.S. Biology)
Other

Education

Marshall University, Huntington, WV (Japanese)

West Virginia University (B.S. Biology) (Other)


Tutor Policies

Cancellation
3 hours notice required

Group rates: $45 for 2. Upper level college courses (300+): may be $40 depending on the material. Lessons requested less than 24 hours before meet time: $40

Travel Radius
Travels within 20 miles of Lexington, KY 40517

Michael’s Subjects

Math:
Algebra 2, Calculus, Trigonometry
Science:
Anatomy, Biochemistry, Biology,
Chemistry,
Genetics,
Microbiology, Organic Chemistry,
Physical Science, Physics,
Physiology
Language:
Japanese
History:
American History, European History, Government & Politics, World History
Business:
GMAT
Homeschool:
Algebra 2, Biology,
Calculus, Chemistry,
Japanese,
Physics
Test Preparation:
GMAT,
MCAT
Corporate Training:
GMAT,
Japanese

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.


Background Check Status for Michael H.

Michael H. passed a background check on 7/31/14. The check was ordered by Michael through First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

After sending a message to Michael, you will be able to order a new background check for $7.99. As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.