Search 75,101 tutors
FIND TUTORS
Over 50 tutoring hours

Nancy N.

Outstanding Elementary and Spanish Teacher

Overland Park, KS (66213)

Travel radius
15 miles
Hourly fee
$35.00
Email Nancy N.

You don't pay for tutoring
unless you find a good fit!

Background Check Status for Nancy N.

Nancy N. passed a background check on 1/8/14. The check was ordered by Nancy through First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

After sending a message to Nancy, you will be able to order a new background check for $7.99. As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.

Dear Students:

My name is Nancy and I am originally from New Jersey. Currently, I live in the Overland Park area. I have a bachelor's in Spanish and a master's in Education. I worked thirteen years as a substitute teacher in New Jersey and one year for the Shawnee Mission and Blue Valley school districts in Kansas. I have been working for the Olathe and Spring Hill Public School systems for the past 3 years.

I have been a tutor for WyzAnt since 2007. I was a tutor in New Jersey for Club Z in-home tutoring, and I specialized in helping children learn Spanish from beginning to advanced levels. I also have a background in working with elementary age students and would be happy to work with them as well. I have also taught children with special needs and ESL individuals also.

While working for WyzAnt, I have taught elementary school students, and I have also tutored adults in Spanish. I also have worked with special needs individuals and with bilingual and English as a Second Language students. If you are looking for someone who is experienced in working with both children and adults and can break down the information that you need to learn into simple basic steps, I may be the right tutor for you.

Email Nancy

Nancy’s subjects

Corporate Training:
ESL/ESOL, Grammar, Microsoft Excel, Microsoft Word, Proofreading, Spanish
Sports/Recreation:
Test Preparation:
ACT Reading, SAT Reading, SAT Writing
Special Needs:
Business:
Microsoft Excel, Microsoft PowerPoint, Microsoft Word
Elementary Education:
History:
Social Studies
Language:
Science:
Biology, Genetics, Psychology
Computer:
Microsoft Excel, Microsoft PowerPoint, Microsoft Word
Math:
English:
ACT Reading, English, ESL/ESOL, Grammar, Proofreading, Reading, SAT Reading, SAT Writing, Vocabulary, Writing

ACT Reading

I was an Avid tutor and helped ESL students prepare for both the ACT and SAT tests.

Biology

Outstanding Certified Elementary and Spanish teacher is now able to tutor in biology. I have always loved biology and science and now I am looking forward to tutoring in a subject that I love. I hope to use my 11 years of tutoring skills and 14 years of substitute teaching skills to help those that need it.

Chess

I first started playing chess about five years ago when a five year old boy taught me who was taught by his dad. I have been playing chess almost everyday since then with the elementary school children with which I work . I know how many spaces each piece can move and in what direction and the number of points each piece is worth. For example, a knight and a bishop are worth 3 points. A knight moves in a capital L shape. A bishop can only move diagonally on either white or black spots; depending on whether it is a white bishop or a black one, it sticks to one color only. Chess is probably my most favorite game in the world to play and I get to play it every day.

Cooking

I have been cooking a wide variety of dishes since I was a child. I originally helped my parents make everything by scratch and as a adult,I know how to cook a wide variety of dishes. I started out learning how to cook everything from beef stroganoff to a wide variety of Italian dishes. I am also an expert at making deserts. Recently, I have been trying to eat healthier and so I have been learning how to make dishes like a meatless bean chili with vegetables and lots of herbs and spices. If you are interested in learning how to cook, please contact me.

Elementary (K-6th)

I am interested in tutoring in grades K-6,because I teach these children every day. Every day I am helping a child with reading, math , spelling or science at my other job. I take whatever problem it is and break it down and make it easy for them. For example, I helped a kindergardener learn about money. I demonstrated the value of the money through the use of crayons in which each crayon represented a penny. There have been many times where I have helped students untderstand their spelling, science, and reading homework. I truly love to work with this age group which is why I have a Master's degree in Elementary Education.

English

I have 14 years experience as a substitute teacher and my native language is English. My English reading, writing, and speaking skills are excellent.

ESL/ESOL

I have taught in ESL classes before and I even was a permanent substitute teacher in a bilingual education class. Because of my ability to speak Spanish and my English grammar skills, I believe that I would be able to help these students no matter what level of mastery they have obtained.

Grammar

Grammar skills are important to have because they increase your chances on finding a better job. People with better grammar skills usually have better writing skills. These skills are very important for children to learn at a young age and are carried with them through their adult lives.

Prealgebra

Experienced elementary school tutor now is certified in prealgebra. I have over 11 years experience as a tutor and have tutored in many subjects over the years. If you are looking for a tutor with a lot of experience and has even worked with children with special needs, please contact me through WyzAnt.com. I look forward to meeting you soon.

Reading

As a successful reading teacher with over 11 years experience as a tutor, I will help you child learn to love reading. I identify how each child learns best and develop a specific program that meets the needs of the student. I also have developed these strategies that help both native speakers of English and non-native speakers of English improve their reading skills. If you are looking for someone who is experienced in teaching others reading, please contact me. I look forward to hearing from you.

Spanish

I have a Bachelor's degree in Spanish. I have taught bilingual and ESL children mostly from Spanish speaking families. I have learned from my interactions with these families allot about the Hispanic culture. My interactions with these families has expanded on my ability to speak Spanish and increased my love for the language.

Special Needs

I have a wide variety of experiences working with special needs individuals. I have worked with students who have Emotional Disorder problems, learning disabilities, Tourettes, add/adhd and many other types of learning problems just to name a few. I worked with small groups of special needs kids for 3 years during the summer and I have many years of experiences working as a paraeducator or substitute teacher in special needs classes.

Study Skills

As a certified teacher in Elementary Education, I have learned a wide variety of note taking techniques, such as free writing, concept mapping, and standard note taking practices to help you become more proficient in your note taking. Also, I have learned how to organize notebooks and help students become organized. If you wish to become more organized and learn how to take notes better, feel free to contact me.

Writing

I am a certified Elementary teacher and tutor with many years of experience who has tutored students in both English, Elementary Education, Spanish and English as a 2nd language students. I have had many years experience successfully teaching others how to improve on the English and reading skills. If you are interested, please feel free to contact me. I look forward to meeting you.

Read all subject qualifications ยป

Email Nancy

back to top

Education

Sweet Briar College (Spanish)

Texas Christian University (Master's)

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $35.00

Cancellation: 1 hour notice required

I charge 25 dollars for multiple hour lessons or multiple day lessons.

Travel policy

Nancy will travel within 15 miles of Overland Park, KS 66213.

Email Nancy

Usually responds in about 2 days

Send Nancy a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Nancy or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

(ex: algebra, chemistry)
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive Responses From Additional Tutors

If selected, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.