Search 72,652 tutors
FIND TUTORS

Rachel Y.

Coffeyville, KS

$40/hr

Excellent English and Language skills

Usually responds in about 19 hours

Excellent English and Language skills

Message Rachel

Send Rachel a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Rachel or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive responses from additional tutors

If you select this option, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.

I am a former GED instructor and I have a degree in journalism. I worked several years as a crime reporter in Kansas. I specialize in English, writing, history, and journalism. However, I do have experience in teaching high school math and did so for six months. I am flexible with my hourly rate and am willing to work with parents' budgets to help their children with their education.

Math:
Algebra 1, Algebra 2, Geometry, Prealgebra
English:
ACT English, ACT Reading, English, Grammar, Literature, Proofreading, Reading, Vocabulary, Writing
Science:
Anatomy, Biology, Physical Science, Physiology, Sociology
History:
American History, Criminal Justice,
European History, Geography, Government & Politics, Social Studies,
World History
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th), Elementary Math, Elementary Science, Grammar, Phonics, Reading, Spelling, Study Skills, Vocabulary
Special Needs:
Phonics
Homeschool:
Algebra 1, Algebra 2, Biology, Elementary (K-6th), English, Geometry, Prealgebra, Reading, Study Skills, Writing
Test Preparation:
ACT English, ACT Reading, GED
Sports/Recreation:
Basketball
Corporate Training:
Criminal Justice,
Grammar, Proofreading

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.

Basketball

I played basketball for several years and was injured my junior year of high school. I served as a shooting coach for several basketball camps in the area and also worked with Special Olympic athletes in high school.

Criminal Justice

I covered the crime beat for the Garden City Telegram from June 2004 to July 2008. I worked alongside 12 sheriff departments and 6 police agencies. I covered murder trials, sexual assault cases, etc. After leaving the newspaper, I became a juvenile probation officer and a Juvenile Justice Authority case manager in Kansas. I held that position for 1.5 years.

Social Studies

I worked as a GED instructor at the Garden City Community College from April 2011 to August 2012. I taught social studies as well as English and writing to an array of students. I also have tutored in this subject when I was in college. I have a degree in journalism and a minor in sociology.

Sociology

I have a minor in sociology from the University of Oklahoma. I took classes in family, gender, religion, and culture and learned how these things impact society. Because of my background, I can tutor in this subject and have done so in the past.

University of Oklahoma-
Journalism

Education

University of Oklahoma- (Journalism)

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $40.00

Cancellation: 24 hours notice required

Travel policy

Rachel will travel within 40 miles of Coffeyville, KS 67337.


About Rachel

I am a former GED instructor and I have a degree in journalism. I worked several years as a crime reporter in Kansas. I specialize in English, writing, history, and journalism. However, I do have experience in teaching high school math and did so for six months. I am flexible with my hourly rate and am willing to work with parents' budgets to help their children with their education.

Education

University of Oklahoma-
Journalism

Education

University of Oklahoma- (Journalism)


Tutor Policies

Cancellation
24 hours notice required
Travel Radius
Travels within 40 miles of Coffeyville, KS 67337

Rachel’s Subjects

Math:
Algebra 1, Algebra 2, Geometry, Prealgebra
English:
ACT English, ACT Reading, English, Grammar, Literature, Proofreading, Reading, Vocabulary, Writing
Science:
Anatomy, Biology, Physical Science, Physiology, Sociology
History:
American History, Criminal Justice,
European History, Geography, Government & Politics, Social Studies,
World History
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th), Elementary Math, Elementary Science, Grammar, Phonics, Reading, Spelling, Study Skills, Vocabulary
Special Needs:
Phonics
Homeschool:
Algebra 1, Algebra 2, Biology, Elementary (K-6th), English, Geometry, Prealgebra, Reading, Study Skills, Writing
Test Preparation:
ACT English, ACT Reading, GED
Sports/Recreation:
Basketball
Corporate Training:
Criminal Justice,
Grammar, Proofreading

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.


Background Check Status for Rachel Y.

Rachel Y. has not yet had a background check. After sending a message to Rachel, you will be able to order a background check for $7.99. The check will be processed by First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.