Search 73,324 tutors
FIND TUTORS
Over 5 tutoring hours

Stephanie W.

Experienced Elementary and Middle School Teacher and Tutor

Chesterton, IN (46304)

Travel radius
30 miles
Hourly fee
$40.00
Email Stephanie W.

You don't pay for tutoring
unless you find a good fit!

Background Check Status for Stephanie W.

Stephanie W. has not yet had a background check. After sending a message to Stephanie, you will be able to order a background check for $7.99. The check will be processed by First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.

I am an experienced teacher that has experience in teaching grades Pre-School-9th Grade. In college I was a note taker and tutored biology, bible, and algebra to college students. I have a degree in elementary education and have certification in special education. I have extensive experience working with students with autism and have had training in Applied Behavior Analysis. I believe every student can learn and it is important to find what motivates each student so they can reach their potential. Tutoring allows students to get individual attention on what they are struggling, and in tutoring I take time to get to know each student to give them the attention they deserve. Everyone can succeed and I want to give you that chance. I am willing to tutor all elementary and middle school subjects. I can tutor high school History, Geography, English, Biology, Physical Science, Algebra, and Geometry. Also if you need help reviewing for the SAT or ACT give me a call. I have extensive experience working in special education from students who just need a little extra help with reading to students who are severely autistic.

Message me for more information!

Email Stephanie

Stephanie’s subjects

Math:
ACT Math, Algebra 1, Geometry, Prealgebra, SAT Math
English:
ACT English, ACT Reading, Bible Studies, English, ESL/ESOL, Grammar, Proofreading, Reading, SAT Reading, SAT Writing, Vocabulary, Writing
Science:
ACT Science, Biology, Psychology
Computer:
General Computer
Language:
ESL/ESOL
History:
American History, Geography, Government & Politics, Religion, World History
Music:
General Music
Art:
Art History
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th), Elementary Math, Elementary Science, Grammar, Phonics, Reading, Spelling, Study Skills, Vocabulary
Special Needs:
Business:
Career Development
Homeschool:
Algebra 1, Biology, Elementary (K-6th), English, ESL/ESOL, Geometry, Prealgebra, Reading, SAT Math, SAT Reading, Study Skills, Writing
Test Preparation:
ACT English, ACT Math, ACT Reading, ACT Science, Career Development, SAT Math, SAT Reading, SAT Writing
Corporate Training:
Career Development, ESL/ESOL, General Computer, Grammar, Proofreading

ADD/ADHD

I have my special education certification. I have worked extensively with students with behavioral needs in a day treatment program, and some were diagnosed ADHD. I have used many strategies in working with ADHD students, such as using figits and other environmental methods.

Aspergers

I currently teach developmental preschool. Through my job I have had training in Autism and other pervasive developmental disorders. I have my Indiana State teaching license in Mild Interventions. I was required to take Applied Behavior Analysis as coursework. I worked in school and home settings with children with Autism and Aspergers syndrome.

Autism

I currently teach developmental preschool. Through my job I have had training in Autism. I have my Indiana State teaching license in Mild Interventions. I was required to take Applied Behavior Analysis as coursework. I worked in school and home settings with children with severe Autism.

Bible Studies

I taught middle school Bible at South Haven Christian School. I am also involved in teaching sunday school classes at my church Road to Life Church. I took Old and New Testament Literature, Christian Doctrine, Mission and Theology classes at Olivet Nazarene University.

Dyslexia

I have my special education teaching certificate in Mild Interventions. I have my special education license and worked with teaching students with learning disabilities. I have experience with Wilson reading method, and other reading interventions.

Elementary (K-6th)

I did student teaching in a 6th Grade classroom. I have my degree in Elementary Education from Olivet Nazarene University in Elementary Education. I did my student teaching at St. Paul's Lutheran School in Kankakee, IL. I taught two years at South Haven Christian School in the elementary grades. I have my Indiana State teaching license in Elementary Education General and Special Education.

English

I have my degree in Elementary Education for Olivet Nazarene University. I started substitute teaching at the high school level, and have had experience working in high school English Classes.

Phonics

I teach developmental preschool. I have experience with students in early literacy skills of all ages. I have had training in the Read it Once Again program, Saxon Phonics, and the Orton-Gillingham method. I have taught with the Abeka Curriculum for reading which is phonics based. I have used Hooked on Phonics and the Ultimate Phonics software.

Religion

I have had college coursework at Olivet Nazarene University in Old and New Testament Literature. I have taken other coursework in Christian Living and Bible. I tutored and was a note taker for bible classes in college. I teach Children's and youth bible classes at my church.

Special Needs

I have my Indiana State teaching license in Mild Interventions K-12. I have a graduate certificate in Special Education from Indiana Wesleyan University. I teach developmental preschool, and have worked as a behavior aide with students with autism and as a paraprofessional in a severe disabilities classroom.

Study Skills

I am a licensed teacher in elementary and special education. I have had experience teaching study skills classes to many different age groups from elementary, middle school, and high school. In special education, I have used curriculum and assisted in study skills resource classes in the public school.

Read all subject qualifications ยป

Email Stephanie

back to top

Education

Olivet Nazarene University (Elementary Education)

Indiana Weslyan University (Other)

Purdue University, Calumet (Graduate Coursework)

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $40.00

Cancellation: 6 hours notice required

Talk to me about group rates. $30 an hour for weekly tutoring for a minimum of 6 weeks.

Travel policy

Stephanie will travel within 30 miles of Chesterton, IN 46304.

Email Stephanie

Usually responds in about 1 day

Send Stephanie a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Stephanie or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

(ex: algebra, chemistry)
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive Responses From Additional Tutors

If selected, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.