Search 73,876 tutors
FIND TUTORS
Over 20 tutoring hours

Gwen H.

Learn to Express Yourself

Skokie, IL (60076)

Travel radius
7 miles
Hourly fee
$35.00
Email Gwen H.

You don't pay for tutoring
unless you find a good fit!

Background Check Status for Gwen H.

Gwen H. has not yet had a background check. After sending a message to Gwen, you will be able to order a background check for $7.99. The check will be processed by First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.

Learning is more meaningful when someone is giving you attention, encouragement, and guidance.

Our biggest responsibilities in life are to help others and to continually grow in our abilities and experiences. This is why I love to teach.

I am licensed in IL with a K-12 certificate. I have teaching experience at the elementary, middle, and high school levels. This includes: general music classes (pre-K to 8th gr), band rehearsals and classes (4th - 12th gr), individual instruction on all band instruments (4th - 12th gr), and substituting in elementary and middle school classrooms.

Musical studies involve learning through reading, writing, listening, verbalizing, reasoning, research, interacting, teamwork, fine motor skills, and artistic creativity - therefore touching every subject in the curriculum. My educational background and experience has allowed me to work with students in multiple subject areas.

The most productive and rewarding part of teaching for me is found in the individualized instruction - working one-on-one and in small groups. My goal is for my students to grow every day and become successful life-long learners.

Email Gwen

Gwen’s subjects

English:
Bible Studies, English, Grammar, Proofreading, Reading, Vocabulary, Writing
History:
Music:
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th), Grammar, Reading, Spelling, Study Skills, Vocabulary
Homeschool:
Corporate Training:

Bible Studies

My undergraduate education included Bible Studies and many theology classes. I graduated with my education degree and also with a Lutheran teacher diploma.

I have taught religion classes at the 9th & 10th grade level, as well as with elementary students.
I truly enjoy teaching in this area.

Elementary (K-6th)

My Education degree has given me training and experience (9yrs) in teaching students from Pre-K through 12th grade. In each of those years, I have worked with elementary and middle school students. I have also substituted in multiple elementary classrooms. I believe that I can lead students through their studies with patience, purposeful direction, and creative means to meet each student's needs.

Flute

I have 22 years of experience playing the flute. I have taught flute lessons for 10 years to students in 4th grade and up and enjoy every level.

General Music

General Music is a gentle term for Exciting Music Exploration! It is an essential area of study for all students as well as musicians. Here students experience the life behind the music; the history, background, people, inspirations, cultures, and styles. This subject is also a place to be actively involved in the building blocks of music (rhythm, melody, time, harmony) while writing, listening, and performing. A great way to connect the whole world of music!

I am certified to teach music K-12. I have 2 years of experience teaching general music to pre-K to 8th grade classes. I have also always incorporated it into my instrumental instruction (9 yrs).

Grammar

I feel that it is extremely important for people to be able to speak and write with proper and respectable language.
My collegiate studies and experience as an educator have required me to communicate clearly and with integrity. As a result, I have strengthened my ability to communicate, as well as identify how others can improve their own language.

Music History

I have a Master's Degree in Music Education (K-12) and have had 3 years of study in Music History. I enjoy the subject area and have worked to incorporate it into my general and instrumental music lessons.

Piano

I began my experience on piano in 1st grade and continued taking lessons for 8 years. I have continued to play for my own enjoyment and for my music classes (Pre-K through 8th grade). I have been teaching private instrumental music lessons for 10 years, and have been able to add beginner and intermediate piano students in the past 2 years.
I believe that piano instruction is the strongest base for musical learning.

Proofreading

I have experience proofreading for colleagues, friends, coworkers, and students. I am able to point out which parts of the writing work and which need more clarification. From my own writing experience, it has been helpful to have someone provide feedback in order to develop the project.

Reading

Reading skills can make a significant difference in a person's life! It is a key means of learning and also comprehending messages that people have communicated in writing. Many people can also testify to the enjoyment that comes from reading their favorite stories, books, or genres! I can help you gain the skills to enjoy the world of reading!

Saxophone

I taught myself how to play saxophone in high school, so that I could play in the Jazz Band. I have also taught private lessons on the instrument to beginning and intermediate students for my entire career. It is a very enjoyable and versatile instrument.

Study Skills

I consider myself to be very organized and thorough in my studying. My experience in studying a wide variety of subject has certainly presented difficult material, causing me to depend on my study skills. I understand that people process information differently. My goal as a teacher is to help students develop productive study skills while using their own style and strengths. My 9 years of teaching experience have involved guiding my students in their studies and their understanding of the materials.

Read all subject qualifications ยป

Email Gwen

back to top

Education

Concordia University - River Forest

VanderCook College of Music (MEd)

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $35.00

Cancellation: 6 hours notice required

Travel policy

Gwen will travel within 7 miles of Skokie, IL 60076.

Email Gwen

Usually responds after +3 days

Send Gwen a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Gwen or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

(ex: algebra, chemistry)
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive Responses From Additional Tutors

If selected, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.