Search 73,324 tutors
FIND TUTORS

Brenda A.

Teacher and College Prof will work with all ages

Saint Charles, IL (60174)

Travel radius
10 miles
Hourly fee
$30.00
Email Brenda A.

You don't pay for tutoring
unless you find a good fit!

Background Check Status for Brenda A.

Brenda A. has not yet had a background check. After sending a message to Brenda, you will be able to order a background check for $7.99. The check will be processed by First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.

I am a seasoned educator and have worked with all ages of students from K-12 as well as college undergraduates.

I live in St. Charles, IL, but I'm willing to tutor in a general 10-mile radius. For elementary students, I tutor all areas and have worked with Aspergers and ADD students. For middle school and HS students, I tutor English, Writing, Literature, History, General Liberal Arts and Spanish 1. My tutoring at the college level is in the areas of English Composition, Literature, Psychology, Sociology and History.

I have two sons; my youngest is entering his Senior year in High School, and my eldest graduated from college May 2011, is working full time and married. I was an Administrative Faculty Member at a local university for 10 years, but I have taught adjunct classes for 20+ years.

Previous to that, I taught middle school, and in recent years I have subbed in both traditional and special needs classrooms. I left full-time work to do consulting, subbing, tutoring and other positions that were part-time and allowed me flexibility in raising my own family.

Email Brenda

Brenda’s subjects

English:
English, Grammar, Literature, Proofreading, Public Speaking, Reading, Vocabulary, Writing
Science:
Psychology, Sociology
History:
American History, European History, Social Studies
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th), Elementary Math, Elementary Science, Grammar, Phonics, Reading, Spelling, Study Skills, Vocabulary
Special Needs:
Business:
Homeschool:
Elementary (K-6th), English, Reading, Study Skills, Writing
Corporate Training:
Grammar, Proofreading, Public Speaking

ADD/ADHD

I have a Master's in Human Development and Family Studies, and two years of Doctoral Coursework in Child and Family Studies. In both programs, my concentration was early adolescence (11-13). I'm a former middle school teacher, and have dealt with students with ADD/ADHD in terms of learning, working in private practice to assist them in seeing a professional for assistance, and within my own family.

Aspergers

I worked as a Developmental Therapist and Tutor with a 13 year old Asperger's client who was being home schooled. I began in Oct of 2010 and finished in August of this past summer (2011). Besides working with him on his subject matter, I worked with his social/emotional development and some phobia's and OCD he was experiencing. I have a Masters plus two years of Ph.D. coursework in Child Development and Family Studies. Also part of what I assisted the family with was making contact with the local school district, and coordinating all the testing, meetings, staffings etc. it took to get him enrolled this year in a special Asperger's program at his area High School.

Elementary (K-6th)

I have taught full-time in the Elementary grades, and later part-time substitute teaching to be available to my own two children when they were in Middle School and High School.

I have prepared lessons, taught and implemented testing for all Elementary subjects.

In recent years I have tutored Elementary and Middle School students in all subject areas.

Phonics

As part of my teaching in Elementary School, I have worked with students one-on-one or in small reading groups to assist them in learning to recognize and speak the word. I have used many types of Phonic's applications to help them learn to sound out the word they are trying to read and speak.

Public Speaking

Besides taking multiple Public Speaking or Speech classes in both High School and College, I have done a great deal of Public Speaking on my own. I have been a K-12 teacher, part-time college instructor, and have spoken to many parent groups.

Social Studies

I taught social studies in my full time years to 5th and 6th graders, and have substitute taught in both social studies (Elementary to Middle School) and History (High School). In addition, I took several history classes in college, as well as a class dealing with current issues.

Sociology

My undergraduate major in college was Human Relations, and was a combination of Psychology, Sociology and Cultural Anthropology. My Master's in in Human Development and Family Studies, and I took a number of courses dealing with Sociological issues.

Study Skills

I am a seasoned educator and have worked with all ages of students from K-12 as well as college undergraduates. I have tutored a number of students both in their home or in an offsite study area.

Often a large part of tutoring is working on study skills. I have most recently tutored late elementary and middle school students, assisting them with homework after school, working on reading comprehension and general study skills.

I review weekly work and assist the student in putting together a plan for completion - as well as looking ahead to both the next week and long term project progress.

When working with high school or college students on study skills, I focus on in general learning and testing strategies.

Read all subject qualifications ยป

Email Brenda

back to top

Education

Judson University

Texas Tech University (Master's)

University of Wisconsin Madison, WI (Other)

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $30.00

Cancellation: 2 hours notice required

Travel policy

Brenda will travel within 10 miles of Saint Charles, IL 60174.

Email Brenda

Usually responds in about 2 hours

Send Brenda a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Brenda or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

(ex: algebra, chemistry)
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive Responses From Additional Tutors

If selected, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.