Search 75,803 tutors
FIND TUTORS
Over 20 tutoring hours

Denny D.

All Children Can Learn With the Right Strategy

Normal, IL (61761)

Travel radius
20 miles
Hourly fee
$20.00
Email Denny D.

You don't pay for tutoring
unless you find a good fit!

Background Check Status for Denny D.

Denny D. passed a background check on 5/28/14. The check was ordered by another user through First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

After sending a message to Denny, you will be able to order a new background check for $7.99. As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.

I am a certified teacher with 4 years experience teaching students having difficulty transitioning through the demands of moving from grade to grade through elementary and middle school. I love to see students demonstrate what they have learned in their natural setting. I know that all children can learn if we find the proper strategies and tools to teach them in the manner in which they learn best.

I have conducted tutoring programs for students at the high school, middle school and elementary school levels, some of which were volunteer programs and some that have been paid positions. I struggled in my early years of school and I have a high degree of empathy for struggling students. I am excited about the opportunity to continue this work.

Email Denny

Denny’s subjects

Corporate Training:
Grammar
Homeschool:
Special Needs:
ADD/ADHD, Aspergers, Autism, Phonics, Special Needs
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th), Elementary Science, Grammar, Handwriting, Phonics, Reading, Spelling, Study Skills, Vocabulary
History:
English:
English, Grammar, Literature, Reading, Vocabulary, Writing

ADD/ADHD

I am a Special Education Teacher with 4 years experience teaching students with a wide variety of disabilities including ADHD.

My credentials include Bachelor of Science
Special Education and Learning Behavior Specialist from Western Illinois University.

I achieved 179 Hours in my degree program with
a GPA 3.51 of 4.0. I truly enjoy teaching and tutoring and I am trained in appropriate accommodations for exceptional students

Elementary (K-6th)

I have had 4 years experience teaching. I am endorsed in Language Arts K-12, I am highly qualified in Science and Social Studies, and I have a Middle School endorsement. I have 179 hours in my teaching degree and have passed all content exams related to teaching in my subject areas K-12.

My certificate is as a Learning and Behavior Specialist First Class.

Handwriting

I am a certified teacher with endorsements in Language Arts, specializing in Reading and Writing and emergent literacy. I have taught in a variety of settings, including resource pullout for special attention to remediation of Reading and Writing problems. Handwriting is an essential component of expressive language development, and as such is an anchor to any curriculum designed for Language Arts.

Phonics

As a part of my teaching credentials, I achieved highly qualified status in Title 1 remedial reading of which phonics was a critical element.

The English language is one the most difficult to teach, because there are conflicting rules and so many different roots to our vocabulary.

Being able to teach the CVC rules clearly, including r-controlled words, and rules that show how vowels control the way words sound is critical to success.

Social Studies

In the process of attaining my teaching degree from Western Illinois University, I also received the following endorsements.

Additional Endorsements:
Language Arts
Social Studies,
Science
Middle School Endorsement.

Sometimes it is difficult to get students interested in topics associated with Social Studies. I had the good fortune of having a mentor who demonstrated ways to accomplish student participation.

Special Needs

I am certified as a Special Education Teacher with 4 years experience teaching a wide variety of disabilities from pre-K to age 21.

My credentials include; A Bachelor of Science Special Education as a Learning and Behavior Specialist from Western Illinois University.


I accumulated 179 Hours in my degree program and achieved a GPA 3.51 out of 4.0 during my studies.

I love teaching, and I know every student can learn.

Study Skills

I am a certified teacher with 4 years experience. I spent several years teaching study skills and test taking skills in Academic Success Center at Spoon River College assisting students with study methods, test preparation, test anxiety.

Writing

I am a certified teacher with an endorsement in Language Arts, specializing in Reading and Writing. I am a firm believer that all students can learn if we use the correct strategies. Reading is so fundamental to other academic skills, that problems must be addressed as soon as possible.

Read all subject qualifications »

Email Denny

back to top

Education

Western Illinois University (BS Education)

Patient My daughter just started tutoring and already I can notice a change. I believe with Mr. D she can get the one on one that she needs. ...

— Shanterra from Houston, TX on 5/28/14);

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $20.00

Cancellation: 4 hours notice required

Travel policy

Denny will travel within 20 miles of Normal, IL 61761.

Email Denny

Usually responds in about 3 hours

Send Denny a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Denny or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

(ex: algebra, chemistry)
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive Responses From Additional Tutors

If selected, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.