Search 75,710 tutors
FIND TUTORS
Over 100 tutoring hours

Christine D.

ACT, reading, writing, math and ESL

Elk Grove Village, IL (60009)

Travel radius
10 miles
Hourly fee
$36.00
Email Christine D.

You don't pay for tutoring
unless you find a good fit!

Background Check Status for Christine D.

Christine D. passed a background check on 8/23/13. The check was ordered by another user through First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

After sending a message to Christine, you will be able to order a new background check for $7.99. As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.

I am a certified Special Education teacher with a master's degree. I teach and tutor math, reading, writing and English for grades K through 8. I specialize in tutoring English and Reading for the ACT. Recent ACT test takers improved their scores from a 27 to a 32 and from a 30 to a 33.

I have seven years experience tutoring adults in literacy. I will complete my English as a Second Language endorsement this year. I also have helped students prepare for the TEAS exam.

I currently am substitute teaching for all grade levels and classroom settings in three school districts. My current assignment is at a therapeutic day high school for students with severe behavior disorders. I previously taught Algebra to seniors and Geometry to freshmen in self-contained and co-taught classrooms in Spring 2013.

My corporate experience focused on communications. I volunteer extensively to help homeless pets.

Email Christine

Christine’s subjects

Corporate Training:
Test Preparation:
ACT English, ACT Reading, Career Development, College Counseling, SAT Reading, SAT Writing, TEAS, TOEFL
Business:
Elementary Education:
Language:
Computer:
Microsoft Word
English:
ACT English, ACT Reading, English, ESL/ESOL, Grammar, Literature, Proofreading, Public Speaking, Reading, SAT Reading, SAT Writing, TOEFL, Vocabulary, Writing

ACT English

I am a Chicago charter high school teacher with a master's degree in journalism and several years of writing and communications expertise. I enjoy helping others improve reading comprehension while explaining grammar in ways that make it fun and memorable.

I have tutored ESL adults in reading and writing for five years.

ADD/ADHD

My year of teaching experience and five years of tutoring includes students with ADHD. I find creative ways to keep them on task and offer a reward/incentive system, such as stickers or iPad games, to help take sufficient breaks.

Aspergers

I spent 80 clinical hours in an elementary school specifically for children with autism, with most of the children having Aspergers. I helped fill in when aides were unavailable with other children. I helped children complete their work and interacted with them during lunch, break and occupational therapy times.

I have had students with Aspergers throughout my teaching and student teaching careers.

Autism

I have been certified as a Special Education teacher for four years. I substitute teach in self-contained classrooms as well as resource rooms. I have worked closely with several students with autism. I have learned to follow their signals, especially body language, and find ways to communicate with them. I seek to develop their full potential.

Career Development

I have experienced an evolution in careers to finally find my dream occupation. I have bachelor's and master's degrees in journalism. I worked in communications, then web development. When my former employer began the practice of near-shoring jobs, I decided to teach and earned a master's degree in special education. I also have tutored children as well as ESL and special needs adults. I have a passion for learning, and also have found how volunteering can help you decide the best career path. It was two weeks of volunteering in an orphanage in Luoyang, China, that led me to what I consider my calling.

I have attended several career workshops and have developed effective ways to write resumes and cover letters. I am proficient at interviewing, especially the "tell me about yourself" question.

College Counseling

I have earned a bachelor's and two master's degrees. I currently am planning summer continued learning to improve my teaching, so I am quite familiar with the practice of cost and other key factor comparisons. As a special education math teacher, I work with my seniors to help find appropriate colleges and majors.

Elementary (K-6th)

I am a certified Special Education teacher qualified to teach students ages 3 through 21. My student teaching including a five-week internship working with students in Kindergarten and first and second grade.

Elementary Math

I am a Special Education Teacher, Perspectives IIT Math and Science Academy, in Chicago. I teach a double period of algebra to seniors and double period of geometry to freshmen. I also co-teach a double period of geometry.

English

I am a certified Special Education teacher with student teaching experience in reading interventions. I have volunteered as an adult literacy tutor for five years.

I have a strong English background with a master's degree in Journalism and several years' experience in communications.

ESL/ESOL

I have seven years experience tutoring ESL adults through a literacy program. I led the program and prepared lessons while coaching all students for 1.5 years. This fall, I will complete an ESL endorsement to add to my Special Education teaching certificate.

Phonics

I have used phonics extensively both in student teaching of first graders and with five years experience tutoring adults wishing to improve their reading skills.

Proofreading

Copy editing experience in newspaper and other communications fields prepared me to catch errors and condense essays.

Public Speaking

I had several years as a leader for Diversity and Women in Technology volunteer programs at a previous job. I also student taught for 15 weeks and currently lead an adult literacy site. I have learned ways to become comfortable in front of an audience and have calming techniques to settle my nerves.

Reading

I have volunteered as an adult literacy tutor for five years. I currently tutor a developmentally challenged young man with low reading abilities.

I also tutored fourth grade twins and a sixth grader in reading. I conducted reading interventions with two second graders as part of my student teaching experience.

Special Needs

I am a certified Special Education teacher. I currently teach geometry and algebra to students with learning and behavior challenges at a charter high school.

I conducted reading and math interventions with first and second graders as part of student teaching. I also tutored twin selectively mute students in math and reading. For a year, I have tutored a young man with developmental challenges.

Spelling

As a Journalism major with several years of writing and editing experience, I take pride in spelling words accurately. I cringe when I see your/you're, it's/its and their/they're/there used improperly as well. I teach the rationale behind common spelling errors to help students improve their spelling.

Study Skills

I took four exams to become certified as a Special Education teacher in 2011. I learned to study the material in chunks, take practice tests and apply calming and relaxation techniques.

TEAS

I have experience tutoring a student who did poorly taking TEAS the first time. I am able to explain text questions and strategies to her. We also work on practice tests together.

TOEFL

ESL tutor of six years enjoys tailoring lessons to a student's individual goals and needs. Certified teacher at a Chicago charter high school.

Writing

I have a master's in journalism and more than 15 years of communications experience. I truly enjoy writing and helping others learn to clearly express messages.

Read all subject qualifications »

Email Christine

back to top

Education

Marquette University

University of Illinois Springfeild (Master's)

Roosevelt University- Chicago (Master's)

Great at adapting lesson plan to match student's learning style. Christine has been tutoring my daughter for the ACT. She previously worked with my older daughter and raised her score 3 points. Christine is flexible, patient, and a great tutor. She adapted each lesson to my daughter's strengths and weaknesses. She gave immediate feedback and instilled a huge amount of confidence in my daughter. She follows up with encouraging emails and text messages. I would ...

— Laura from Arlington Heights, IL on 6/13/14);

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $36.00

Cancellation: 6 hours notice required

Travel policy

Christine will travel within 10 miles of Elk Grove Village, IL 60007.

Email Christine

Send Christine a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Christine or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

(ex: algebra, chemistry)
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive Responses From Additional Tutors

If selected, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.