Search 72,236 tutors
FIND TUTORS
Over 5 tutoring hours

Beth W.

Certified Teacher with 18 years of experience

Des Plaines, IL (60016)

Travel radius
10 miles
Hourly fee
$40.00
Email Beth W.

You don't pay for tutoring
unless you find a good fit!

Background Check Status for Beth W.

Beth W. has not yet had a background check. After sending a message to Beth, you will be able to order a background check for $7.99. The check will be processed by First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.

I am a certified Spanish teacher in the suburbs. I have begun my 18th year of teaching. My experience has been with middle school and high school age students. I have worked with students just beginning to learn Spanish through those that were taking a college level course. I also have experience teaching lower level math classes to those students that may have some gaps in knowledge along with basic school/study skills that can work across all types of classes. My Masters degree also gave me the knowledge needed to help teach ESL students as they transition into our school system. I love teaching and believe that tutoring allows me to experience the best aspects of teaching. The one on one or small group setting that is tutoring gives for more personal help than can be found in a full classroom. I truly enjoy helping a student get to that "a ha!" moment in their learning.

I teach and live in the north/northwest suburbs. My family includes my three young daughters (ages 9, 6 and 4), a dog, and my husband who is also a teacher. When not teaching I enjoy reading and playing/watching all sorts of sports. To work with a student I would be willing to travel no more than 5-10 miles, mostly on the weekends. I am open to tutor during the week but it could not be a regular schedule due to my girls' schedules. The winter does bring on basketball season and multiple leagues so my availability has greatly diminished and is quite irregular.

Email Beth

Beth’s subjects

Math:
Algebra 1, Algebra 2, Prealgebra
English:
ESL/ESOL, TOEFL
Language:
ESL/ESOL, Spanish, TOEFL
Elementary Education:
Homeschool:
Algebra 1, Algebra 2, ESL/ESOL, Prealgebra, Spanish, Study Skills
Test Preparation:
TOEFL
Sports/Recreation:
Corporate Training:
ESL/ESOL, Spanish

ESL/ESOL

My Curriculum and Instruction Master's degree was paired with a certification process for ESL/Dual Language/Bilingual Education. I have tutored and taught adult ESL classes at night and been asked to help as an unofficial ESL provider for students that needed extra language support in my school.

Study Skills

In the past I had to teach a class that worked with struggling students on how to organize themselves and best prepare for assessments. We created schedules, worked on how to take notes, created multiple manners to study for assessments, and learned how to break large scale assignments into smaller more manageable parts.

Swimming

I have taught swimming lessons from age 13 through adulthood. I was also a lifeguard for a period of time in the past. I have extensive knowledge of basic stroke technique with freestyle, backstroke, and breast stroke. I can also teach diving as well. I do not have strong enough knowledge to teach butterfly any more. I have taught my own children how to swim.

Volleyball

For more than half of my teaching career I have been a volleyball coach for middle school or high school girls. I have coached girls just beginning the sport that needed to learn the rules and basics to those that were on a varsity team/club level team looking to keep playing into college. I can teach both left handed and right handed, setters, outside hitters, middle hitters, and the libero. I understand 4/2, 6/2, and 5/1 rotations.

Read all subject qualifications ยป

Email Beth

back to top

Education

Illinois Wesleyan University

National Louis University (Master's)

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $40.00

Cancellation: 3 hours notice required

I would be willing to do a group rate for 2+ students together. If there is a need for high level tutoring (Spanish 3 or higher) my rate will go up due to the complexity of the content.

Travel policy

Beth will travel within 10 miles of Des Plaines, IL 60016.

Email Beth

Usually responds in about 22 hours

Send Beth a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Beth or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

(ex: algebra, chemistry)
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive Responses From Additional Tutors

If selected, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.