Search 72,396 tutors
FIND TUTORS

Dennis D.

Reading/reading comprehension/speech tutor for all ages.

Chicago, IL (60647)

Travel radius
10 miles
Hourly fee
$42.00
Email Dennis D.

You don't pay for tutoring
unless you find a good fit!

Background Check Status for Dennis D.

Dennis D. has not yet had a background check. After sending a message to Dennis, you will be able to order a background check for $7.99. The check will be processed by First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.

Hello, my name is Dennis. I am a 35 yr old teacher, writer, and tutor with almost ten years experience teaching and tutoring around the world with all ages and student ability levels.

I am a kind, caring, patient, intelligent, and fun individual who has the ability to listen to and relate to all types of students, and to work with the student in the best ways for communication and learning to take root. I promise to work diligently and patiently, and do everything in my power to help you achieve your goals, and with each new student, I hope to make a new friend.

I have taught ESL for several years in South Korea, as well as Costa Rica. I have worked with exceptional elementary and middle school students at a summer program in Texas, and for the past couple of years have worked as a tutor/mentor with special needs students at a middle school in Chicago and with young adults under the autism spectrum at a program in Evanston.

Thank you for your time in reading my profile, and I look forward to your response. I promise to work my hardest for you and your student to actualize the progress for which we all desire.

Email Dennis

Dennis’s subjects

English:
ACT English, ACT Reading, English, ESL/ESOL, Grammar, Literature, Proofreading, Reading, SAT Reading, SAT Writing, TOEFL, Writing
Computer:
Adobe Photoshop, Graphic Design, Photography
Language:
ESL/ESOL, Farsi, TOEFL
Art:
Adobe Photoshop, Drawing, Film, Graphic Design, Painting, Photography
Elementary Education:
Grammar, Reading
Special Needs:
Homeschool:
English, ESL/ESOL, Reading, SAT Reading, Writing
Test Preparation:
ACT English, ACT Reading, SAT Reading, SAT Writing, TOEFL
Sports/Recreation:
Corporate Training:
ESL/ESOL, Grammar, Proofreading

Baseball

I played baseball competitively, in both school and summer ball, until I was 18 years of age, and I am well versed in the history, rules, and fundamentals of the game. Also I have coaching experience.

Basketball

My father was a basketball coach at the high school level from the time I was a small child until I was in high school. I grew up in the gym at practices. During my high school career I finished as the 2nd leading scorer, the 2nd leading rebounder, and the all-time assist leader at my school. My senior year I was named honorable mention all state and first team academic all state for the Indiana High School Athletic Association. I attended the University of Chicago on a basketball scholarship, where I played for 2 seasons. I also have a year of 5-6 grade coaching experience under my belt, and I love the game!

Film

I went to film school at Columbia College Chicago class of '02. After that I worked for a year as a screenwriter's assistant for a talented and successful screenwriter in Los Angeles, CA. I have written and co-written several scripts, as well. I have also worked on several small independent film productions with Thunderlab Productions.

Special Needs

I worked at a program in Evanston called Options for College Success. There I worked as a mentor and tutor for young adults aged 18-22 in a transition to living on their own. I worked as a tutor with many students in several subjects, but mainly with reading and writing, term papers, resumes, poems, etc... I also worked with theses students on finding ways to live a more organized life, such as how to keep a clean apartment, how to look presentable, how to speak to people without feeling awkward, or how to use that awkwardness to their advantage if it was not to be avoided.
I have worked as a paraprofessional for two students under the autism spectrum. One of which was mostly non-verbal. He was small and quiet, and the other was extremely large for his age and quite talkative. I worked with them at the same time, attending all of their classes with them every day and assisting in the teaching of all their classwork while being responsible for making sure all of their homework and proper supplies were ready at the end of the day. In addition to this I wrote out daily reports regarding changes positive and negative in their behaviors and certain patterns which would show themselves over the course of time.

Read all subject qualifications ยป

Email Dennis

back to top

Education

U of Chicago / Columbia College (B.A. gen. ed.)

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $42.00

Travel policy

Dennis will travel within 10 miles of Chicago, IL 60647.

Email Dennis

Usually responds in about 12 hours

Send Dennis a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Dennis or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

(ex: algebra, chemistry)
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive Responses From Additional Tutors

If selected, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.