Search 75,972 tutors
FIND TUTORS
Over 50 tutoring hours

Howard L.

Reliable and professional tutor

Chicago, IL (60611)

Travel radius
25 miles
Hourly fee
$35.00
Email Howard L.

You don't pay for tutoring
unless you find a good fit!

Background Check Status for Howard L.

Howard L. passed a background check on 12/3/13. The check was ordered by Howard through First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

After sending a message to Howard, you will be able to order a new background check for $7.99. As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.

I am a graduate student in Biomedical engineering at Northwestern University. I love teaching, and gain great enjoyment from doing so. I have a Bachelor's degree in Math and believe that I can proficiently tutor that subject. I am also a native French speaker and can tutor that subject as well. I am 25 yrs old, and have traveled around the world a lot. I was born in Brussel (Belgium), then lived in France, Cameroon, Niger, Wichita (KS), Salt Lake City (UT), and now Chicago (IL). Throughout my travels, I have acquired great interpersonal skills and developed my love for learning and teaching.

My teaching style is simple, I focus on the student's need. I believe every human being is very intelligent, but we differ in learning style and speed. By focusing on the student, I am able to tap into his style and speed of learning and adjust the material to make it easier for him to learn. I have some prior tutoring experience mostly with younger students (15 yrs old, 12 yrs old, 8 yrs old, 3 yrs old), but I would also love to tutor young adults and older people. Lastly, as my profile title indicates, I am very reliable, I own a dependable car and I am time conscientious. I am also professional, and understand the importance of tutoring in the learning process.

Email Howard

Howard’s subjects

Corporate Training:
Language:

Algebra 1

I hold a Bachelor's degree in Math, and have taken math classes up to Calculus 3, differential equation, and linear algebra.

Algebra 2

I hold a bachelor's degree in math, and have taken math classes up to Calculus 3, differential equations, and linear algebra. I am also currently helping my brother go through his Algebra 2 class so I am up to date with the material.

French

I am a native French speaker, and have tutored several other students in preparation of their SAT, and also before they took a trip to Paris.

Precalculus

I have tutored pre-calculus in the past for college students. I also hold a bachelor's degree in math.

Read all subject qualifications »

Email Howard

back to top

Education

Wichita State University (computer and math)

University of Utah (Master's)

Northwestern University (PhD)

My son is finally understanding Algebra 2 thanks to Howard Howard is serious about tutoring. He is on-time and gets my son straight to work. But most importantly he is able to make the concepts understandable. These are actual words from my 17 year old "I learn more with Howard in one hour than I do in a month of school." That is the sign of a good tutor! ...

— Lisa from Evanston, IL on 2/16/14);

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $35.00

Cancellation: 4 hours notice required

Travel policy

Howard will travel within 25 miles of Chicago, IL 60625.

Email Howard

Send Howard a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Howard or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

(ex: algebra, chemistry)
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive Responses From Additional Tutors

If selected, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.