Search 72,209 tutors
FIND TUTORS

Rachel K.

Experienced Teacher on the North Side: How Can I Help You?

Chicago, IL (60640)

Travel radius
5 miles
Hourly fee
$60.00
Email Rachel K.

You don't pay for tutoring
unless you find a good fit!

Background Check Status for Rachel K.

Rachel K. has not yet had a background check. After sending a message to Rachel, you will be able to order a background check for $7.99. The check will be processed by First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.

Hi there. My name is Rachel and I'm graduate of the University of Iowa and The Second City Training Center. I work downtown as a legal assistant, run my own business (rachelvkodner.com), and love helping people in any way I can - through this channel: teaching! I have experience teaching many different subjects, including: English as a Second Language, Art, English, ACT/SAT/GRE Prep, and even swimming lessons! Fun fact: I am a licensed Zumba and Water Aerobics instructor!

My interests include: traveling, drawing, reading, coaching, writing, working out and eating Thai food.

My approach to teaching and tutoring is to listen, listen, listen. I find that listening to my students helps find exactly what they need from me, instead of jumping into material and possibly confusing the student or moving too quickly. I am very organized and greatly enjoy teaching and implementing good study skills, such as list and goal making, color-coding, and prioritizing.

Please do not hesitate to contact me with any questions about my methods, experience, or references.

I look forward to hearing from you!

Sincerely,
Rachel

Email Rachel

Rachel’s subjects

Math:
ACT Math
English:
ACT Reading, English, ESL/ESOL, Grammar, Literature, Proofreading, Public Speaking, Reading, SAT Reading, SAT Writing, TOEFL, Vocabulary
Computer:
Language:
ESL/ESOL, TOEFL
History:
American History, Geography
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th), Elementary Science, Grammar, Reading, Spelling, Study Skills, Vocabulary
Business:
GRE, Microsoft Word, Public Speaking
Homeschool:
Elementary (K-6th), English, ESL/ESOL, Reading, SAT Reading, Study Skills
Test Preparation:
ACT Math, ACT Reading, College Counseling, GRE, PSAT, SAT Reading, SAT Writing, TOEFL
Sports/Recreation:
Corporate Training:
College Counseling, ESL/ESOL, Grammar, Microsoft Word, Proofreading, Public Speaking

College Counseling

I enjoy researching programs for myself and for others. During my time as an undergrad, many of my sorority sisters would come to me for help making their class schedules for the upcoming semester. Taking into account their work schedules, preference for mornings or afternoons, and course requirements I'd work with them to create an ideal class schedule. Furthermore, I just submitted my graduate school application so I am quite familiar with the process and can advise others as well.

Elementary (K-6th)

I have tutored this age group since I was 18 years old. Since then, I have worked with children of all ages with math, Hebrew, science, and language arts. My experience lies from large groups (full classrooms) to small (3-4 children) to one-on-one lessons. I am quite comfortable with any age group and any subject matter, especially on the elementary school level.

English

As a film and creative writing student at Iowa, many of my studies revolved around an academic approach to English. I like to write and read as a hobby today and am quite comfortable teaching and explaining the subject.

Film

I studied film as an undergraduate at the University of Iowa, have a deep love and appreciation for film theory and screenwriting. I especially love teaching film, and whenever I work with young kids find a way to incorporate filmmaking into a project for them.

Microsoft Outlook

I am qualified to tutor Microsoft Outlook because I used the program extensively while I interned at Geddes Agency in Chicago, IL. I used to program to revamp their contacts lists (adding in photos, emails, address, and any other demographic info), write and file emails, and multiple calendar functions. I am very comfortable with the program and strive to help others feel the same way.

Public Speaking

I am a trained improv and stand up comedian. I studied at The Second City, iO, and The Annoyance Theatres, all in Chicago. I am very comfortable speaking to large and small crowds, and continue to do so as a teacher, a staff member for Birthright groups, and whatever occasion may present itself. I can teach confidence-boosting techniques and tricks to help ease a student into public speaking.

Study Skills

I am qualified to teach Study Skills because I have an extremely organized approach to studying that I use myself. It is a combination of prioritizing, list-making, color-coding, and even confidence-boosting techniques to ensure that the student stays on track and motivated. When I applied to Graduate School, I only had two weeks to study for the GRE. Using my techniques, I was able to perform quite well on the test, considering the short amount of time I had.

Swimming

My first after school job was teaching swimming at the age of 14. I was on my high school's swim team for one year and swim recreationally to this day. My strategy for teaching swimming is to approach it gently and make it fun! Everybody should be able to swim, for safety purposes and also for fun and exercise. If a student improves a tiny bit during a lesson, even if they end a bit less scared than when they started, I have done my job.

Theatre

I have been acting since elementary school, and performing improv comedy since the age of 12. I performed in an acclaimed high school comedy revue, acted in my sorority's many skits and performances in college, and went on to study at The Second City, iO, and The Annoyance Theatres in Chicago. My approach to teaching acting, whether it be helping with memorization, or scene study, or basic acting techniques is to build the student's self confidence by isolating their strengths first, then providing gentle suggestions to strengthen their weaker points.

Video Production

I hold a Bachelor's degree in Cinema and Comparative Literature from the University of Iowa. My interests in film are mainly theory, editing, and screenwriting, but I have extensive experience in production as well. I am 'fluent' in Final Cut Pro. I taught a special activity at a sleepaway summer camp, where the campers wrote and directed a parody of "The Real World" under my supervision. It was a camp hit!

Read all subject qualifications ยป

Email Rachel

back to top

Education

University of Iowa

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $60.00

Cancellation: 12 hours notice required

Travel policy

Rachel will travel within 5 miles of Chicago, IL 60640.

Email Rachel

Usually responds in about 14 hours

Send Rachel a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Rachel or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

(ex: algebra, chemistry)
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive Responses From Additional Tutors

If selected, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.