Search 72,533 tutors
FIND TUTORS
Over 50 tutoring hours

Kelly B.

Writing, French, English literature, ESL Tutor: All Ages!

Chicago, IL (60614)

Travel radius
10 miles
Hourly fee
$45.00
Email Kelly B.

You don't pay for tutoring
unless you find a good fit!

Background Check Status for Kelly B.

Kelly B. has not yet had a background check. After sending a message to Kelly, you will be able to order a background check for $7.99. The check will be processed by First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.

I have an affinity and a passion for teaching and learning. I see myself as a lifelong learner, and want to share my skills and knowledge with others while continuing to grow and learn from those with whom I work. The most rewarding aspect of tutoring is the progression that students make in setting and reaching goals and realizing their potential. I have experience tutoring both one-on-one and in small groups with diverse people and ages ranging from 7 years to 65 years. My professional skills of organization and clear communication set me apart as a reliable academic mentor. I am currently a middle school Language Arts teacher (grades 6-8). I have over three years of experience tutoring one-on-one with adults in basic reading, writing, and ESL. I independently taught beginner's French to a small group of adult professionals in Chicago (2010-2011) with self-determined curriculum and engaging interactives such as using manipulatives, resumes, and television and internet ads. I have been meeting regularly with an individual adult student in French (2012-2013). I lived in France for one year (2009-2010) teaching English language to French elementary students in three public schools. While in France, I also tutored adults one-on-one in American English language with a private contracting company. While an undergraduate, I tutored with adolescents in high school AVID programs in areas of English literature, writing, history, and French. Despite my experiences, I always learn something from new clients and seek professional development opportunities whenever possible. I have a Master of Education from DePaul University and a Bachelor of Arts in English and French from Texas A&M University.

Email Kelly

Kelly’s subjects

English:
ACT English, ACT Reading, English, ESL/ESOL, Grammar, Literature, Proofreading, Reading, Writing
Computer:
Microsoft Word
Language:
ESL/ESOL, French
Elementary Education:
Elementary Math, Grammar, Phonics, Reading, Study Skills
Special Needs:
Phonics
Business:
Microsoft Word
Homeschool:
English, ESL/ESOL, French, Reading, Study Skills, Writing
Test Preparation:
ACT English, ACT Reading, GED
Corporate Training:
ESL/ESOL, French, Grammar, Microsoft Word, Proofreading

French

Although not a native speaker, I studied French in higher education and have a B.A. in French Language from Texas A&M University. I lived in Grenoble, France in 2008 as a student where I improved my language skills. I lived in Besancon, France from 2009 to 2010 teaching English in three elementary schools. Throughout my college studies and my experiences studying and living abroad, I perfected my language skills and engaged with the French culture. I have had direct experience instructing a small-group of American professionals here in downtown Chicago as an independent tutor. With the group, we used innovative and fun ways of learning the language. In addition to grammar, reading, and conversation I incorporated commercials, catch phrases, and even French resumes into my lesson plans. More than anything, I have a passion for the French language and culture, and always look forward to sharing the joy of learning French with new students!

Read all subject qualifications »

Email Kelly

back to top

Education

Texas A&M (English, French)

DePaul University (MEd)

Writing tutor we recommend — Kelly B has had several 90-minute writing sessions with my 12 year-old son. She has been punctual, organized and prepared for each session. She immediately had a good rapport with my son: commanding his respect, maintaining his interest, and gaining his friendship. My son noted that Kelly's teaching style is just like that of his favorite and one of the most well-respected teachers at his school. ...

— Barbara from Chicago, IL on 7/25/13

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $45.00

Cancellation: 2 hours notice required

Group and/or family tutoring available upon request; rate subject to change

Travel policy

Kelly will travel within 10 miles of Chicago, IL 60614.

Email Kelly

Usually responds in about 10 hours

Send Kelly a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Kelly or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

(ex: algebra, chemistry)
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive Responses From Additional Tutors

If selected, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.