Search 72,310 tutors
FIND TUTORS

Stephanie H.

Friendly, organized tutor who is certified as a teacher!

Chicago, IL (60656)

Travel radius
25 miles
Hourly fee
$125.00
Email Stephanie H.

You don't pay for tutoring
unless you find a good fit!

Background Check Status for Stephanie H.

Stephanie H. passed a background check on 2/5/14. The check was ordered by another user through First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

After sending a message to Stephanie, you will be able to order a new background check for $7.99. As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.

I have an undergraduate degree in Elementary Education and Special Education, and worked in the Chicago Public Schools for 3 years. My teaching licenses are still up to date and I have a passion for helping others achieve their goals. After being a teacher, I pursued my masters degree in Social Work and currently work with adult oncology patients in a medical setting. I am looking to begin working with kids again, as I miss it, and would love the variety of getting to tutor in various subjects.

Please contact me, especially if you have special needs as I am willing to meet those and make accommodations for learning. I work at a camp each summer for kids who have Inflammatory Bowel Diseases, so I am able to understand those with physical disabilities as well as other learning issues. I also recently led a group of gifted high school students on a service learning weekend in the city of Chicago, and am able to work with kids who are self-paced and learn ahead of their peers. I am willing to come to the student's house or meet them in a public place, as long as it is a comfortable learning space for both the student and myself. I hope to hear from you soon!

Email Stephanie

Stephanie’s subjects

Math:
Algebra 1, Geometry, Prealgebra
English:
English, ESL/ESOL, Grammar, Proofreading, Reading, Vocabulary, Writing
Science:
Psychology
Computer:
Microsoft Excel, Microsoft Word
Language:
Music:
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th), Elementary Math, Elementary Science, Grammar, Reading, Spelling, Study Skills, Vocabulary
Business:
Career Development, Microsoft Excel, Microsoft Word
Homeschool:
Algebra 1, Elementary (K-6th), English, ESL/ESOL, Geometry, Piano, Prealgebra, Reading, Study Skills, Writing
Test Preparation:
Sports/Recreation:
Corporate Training:
Career Development, ESL/ESOL, Grammar, Microsoft Excel, Microsoft Word, Proofreading, Sign Language

ADD/ADHD

I did my student teaching practicum in a elementary classroom with various learning disorders, including ADHD. I am tremendous patience for students that have ADHD and who may need behavior modification or extra support in order to concentrate. I am certified to teach children with ADHD as I have my Type 10 IL teaching license and spent 3 years teaching young students in a special education classroom in the Chicago Public Schools.

Aspergers

I have a passion for working with students with Asperger's. I spent 3 years in college working as an aide for a students with Asperger's, as well as being one boy's associate during his track seasons. I find this disorder to be fascinating and one that I have experience and success with. I desire to use the student's interests as motivators and teach concrete social skills in order to give the student tools when engaging with peers. I have my Type 10 IL teaching license as well and taught in the Chicago Public Schools in a special education setting for 3 years.

Autism

I have a tender spot in my heart for students who have autism. I find this disorder fascinating and I enjoy helping students who have this find ways to succeed. This usually involves teaching communication skills and social skills. I also have experience using PECS and am open to alternative communication systems. I have my Type 10 IL teaching license and spent 3 years teaching young students with autism. I desire to see students with autism succeed, learn, and grow, by making sure their environment is the best it can be.

Basketball

I have played basketball since I was in junior high and enjoy the game and wish I had more opportunities to play it regularly! I have a knowledge of the rules and passion to see kids improve their skills and find success in this healthy outlet!

Career Development

I have my both a degree in education and masters degree in social work. With my social work internships and now my current job, I have helped both refugee students and now cancer patients put words to their dreams and find a career path that fits them. I draw on my background of teaching to meet the students where they are at and then use my knowledge of social work to connect the students to resources that will help them grow.

Elementary (K-6th)

I am certified in IL as an elementary teacher (Type 3 License) and have experience teaching elementary special education. Half of my student teaching was with "regular" or non-special education students in 5th and 6th grade. I also relate well to kids and work at a camp for elementary school students who have Crohn's disease each summer.

ESL/ESOL

During my practicum, I worked in a very diverse school where many students spoke other languages. I also did an internship for my masters in social work, working with refugee students from various countries with different languages and did both tutoring and counseling with them. Besides this, I have my Type 10 and am certified to teach students with special needs such as ESL/ESOL. have a lot of patience and creativity in working with ESL students.

Fitness

I am a physically fit woman who has personal experience in weight loss, nutrition, and exercise. Although I don't have a degree in this area, I find the subject fascinating and one that is pivotal for students as they face body-image concerns and need to maintain proper nutrition to grow.

Hard Of Hearing

I have a background in ASL and was fluent in college. Now I am still able to use ASL conversationally, and I also have my Type 10 to teach students with special needs.

Piano

I played piano from ages 4-14, taking Suzuki lessons. I can still sight read and would love to teach your children the basics of piano.

Sign Language

I took American Sign Language, levels 1-4 while at the University of Iowa, and was fluent. I now use ASL conversationally and have multiple deaf friends in my life to practice with.

Soccer

I played travel soccer all growing up and in high school. I also was a soccer referee and played in intramural leagues in college and after college.

Special Needs

I have my Type 10 license and am certified to teach students with special needs. I am passionate about helping the underserved and making sure they get the accommodations they need to succeed. I taught special education in the Chicago Public Schools for 3 years and have experience writing IEPS and conducting IEP meetings.

Study Skills

During my student teaching experience and practicum, I taught elementary and junior high students how to get organized and prepare for exams, despite various learning disabilities. I have my Type 10 license to teach students with special needs. I also am an extremely organized person, from being a teacher, yet grew up being very disorganized. I love helping kids get systems in place to help with organization and study skills. Graphic organizers are our friends!

Read all subject qualifications ยป

Email Stephanie

back to top

Education

University of Iowa

Loyola University Chicago (Master's)

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $125.00

Cancellation: 24 hours notice required

Travel policy

Stephanie will travel within 25 miles of Chicago, IL 60656.

Email Stephanie

Usually responds in about 22 hours

Send Stephanie a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Stephanie or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

(ex: algebra, chemistry)
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive Responses From Additional Tutors

If selected, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.