Search 72,377 tutors
FIND TUTORS
Over 5 tutoring hours

Shelly S.

Chicago, IL

$50/hr

Science, Math, & English tutor with a flexible schedule and style!

Usually responds in about 22 hours

Science, Math, & English tutor with a flexible schedule and style!

Message Shelly

Send Shelly a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Shelly or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive responses from additional tutors

If you select this option, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.

I graduated with my Master's degree in Public Health in 2012 and as such, I've gone through rigorous schooling to achieve my goals. I hope to relay my passion for learning onto the students that I have the opportunity to tutor.

As an undergraduate and a high school student I was frequently called upon to be a volunteer tutor for a variety of age groups. These experiences have given me the ability to adapt my style according to the students I am working with to be a more effective tutor.

Each student I have worked with in the past would tell you that I leave them laughing, but ultimately learning the material they need to in order to succeed. I understand that each student has a unique learning style and interests, and in order for them to truly learn, these must be taken into account. When I first start working with a student I attempt to gain a better understanding of them as a student and determine why they are struggling or need help with the subject matter. By understanding this, I am better able to help them create a study plan and address their weaknesses so that they can achieve the goals they have set for themselves!

In the past I have mainly been a tutor in the biological sciences, primarily in anatomy, physiology, and general biology. In the past 2 years I have had the opportunity to work with several students on improving their English. I have assisted them with developing essays as well as improving grammar and reading skills. I have also engaged in editing and assisting my students in studying for exams such as the GRE (Graduate Record Examination)and SAT. I firmly believe that my experiences and past work have given me the insight necessary to be an excellent tutor and I look forward to working with you and your family!

Math:
ACT Math, Algebra 1, Prealgebra, SAT Math
English:
ACT English, ACT Reading, English, ESL/ESOL, Literature, Proofreading, Public Speaking, Reading, SAT Reading, Vocabulary, Writing
Science:
ACT Science, Anatomy, Anthropology, Biology, Ecology, Genetics,
Geology, Microbiology, Physiology
Computer:
Microsoft Word
Language:
ESL/ESOL, French
History:
American History, Anthropology, European History, Social Studies,
World History
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th),
Elementary Science, Reading, Spelling, Study Skills,
Vocabulary
Business:
GRE, Microsoft Word, Public Speaking
Homeschool:
Algebra 1, Biology, Elementary (K-6th),
English, ESL/ESOL, French, Prealgebra, Reading, SAT Math, SAT Reading, Study Skills,
Writing
Test Preparation:
ACT English, ACT Math, ACT Reading, ACT Science, GRE, SAT Math, SAT Reading
Sports/Recreation:
Fitness
Corporate Training:
ESL/ESOL, French, Microsoft Word, Proofreading, Public Speaking

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.

Elementary (K-6th)

I recently graduated with my Master's degree in Public Health. For K-6 students my experience tutoring 6th graders and extensive education in English, science, and math are resources to assist children.

Genetics

My undergraduate coursework required extensive focus on genetics beyond the basics, giving me the knowledge and expertise to guide others studying it. I have a Master's degree in Public Health .

Social Studies

My passion for history, continued desire to learn about current issues, and the world around us gives me the foundation to tutor in social studies. My undergraduate coursework included extensive classes on physical and cultural anthropology which allowed me to explore the history of humans as culture and language evolved as well as the adaptations during the shift from a hunter-gatherer society to modern industrialized society.
I also had coursework in political science, geology, geography, international studies, comparative studies, and took upper-level coursework in history. This educational experience and my own continued interest in civic engagement and culture are a resource for the students I work with in the subject of social studies.

Study Skills

I have gained experience in effective studying through years of education and assisting other students in time management, web-resource use, and gaining efficiency in the writing process.

Ohio State University
University of Illinois-Chicago
Master's

Education

Ohio State University

University of Illinois-Chicago (Master's)

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $50.00

Cancellation: 6 hours notice required

My rate is negotiable based on the needs of the student.

Travel policy

Shelly will travel within 10 miles of Chicago, IL 60647.


About Shelly

I graduated with my Master's degree in Public Health in 2012 and as such, I've gone through rigorous schooling to achieve my goals. I hope to relay my passion for learning onto the students that I have the opportunity to tutor.

As an undergraduate and a high school student I was frequently called upon to be a volunteer tutor for a variety of age groups. These experiences have given me the ability to adapt my style according to the students I am working with to be a more effective tutor.

Each student I have worked with in the past would tell you that I leave them laughing, but ultimately learning the material they need to in order to succeed. I understand that each student has a unique learning style and interests, and in order for them to truly learn, these must be taken into account. When I first start working with a student I attempt to gain a better understanding of them as a student and determine why they are struggling or need help with the subject matter. By understanding this, I am better able to help them create a study plan and address their weaknesses so that they can achieve the goals they have set for themselves!

In the past I have mainly been a tutor in the biological sciences, primarily in anatomy, physiology, and general biology. In the past 2 years I have had the opportunity to work with several students on improving their English. I have assisted them with developing essays as well as improving grammar and reading skills. I have also engaged in editing and assisting my students in studying for exams such as the GRE (Graduate Record Examination)and SAT. I firmly believe that my experiences and past work have given me the insight necessary to be an excellent tutor and I look forward to working with you and your family!

Education

Ohio State University
University of Illinois-Chicago
Master's

Education

Ohio State University

University of Illinois-Chicago (Master's)


Tutor Policies

Cancellation
6 hours notice required

My rate is negotiable based on the needs of the student.

Travel Radius
Travels within 10 miles of Chicago, IL 60647

Shelly’s Subjects

Math:
ACT Math, Algebra 1, Prealgebra, SAT Math
English:
ACT English, ACT Reading, English, ESL/ESOL, Literature, Proofreading, Public Speaking, Reading, SAT Reading, Vocabulary, Writing
Science:
ACT Science, Anatomy, Anthropology, Biology, Ecology, Genetics,
Geology, Microbiology, Physiology
Computer:
Microsoft Word
Language:
ESL/ESOL, French
History:
American History, Anthropology, European History, Social Studies,
World History
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th),
Elementary Science, Reading, Spelling, Study Skills,
Vocabulary
Business:
GRE, Microsoft Word, Public Speaking
Homeschool:
Algebra 1, Biology, Elementary (K-6th),
English, ESL/ESOL, French, Prealgebra, Reading, SAT Math, SAT Reading, Study Skills,
Writing
Test Preparation:
ACT English, ACT Math, ACT Reading, ACT Science, GRE, SAT Math, SAT Reading
Sports/Recreation:
Fitness
Corporate Training:
ESL/ESOL, French, Microsoft Word, Proofreading, Public Speaking

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.


Background Check Status for Shelly S.

Shelly S. has not yet had a background check. After sending a message to Shelly, you will be able to order a background check for $7.99. The check will be processed by First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.