Search 75,437 tutors
FIND TUTORS
Over 20 tutoring hours

Donna W.

Multi Subject Tutor

Carbondale, IL (62901)

Travel radius
10 miles
Hourly fee
$40.00
Email Donna W.

You don't pay for tutoring
unless you find a good fit!

Background Check Status for Donna W.

Donna W. has not yet had a background check. After sending a message to Donna, you will be able to order a background check for $7.99. The check will be processed by First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.

I have traveled abundantly and interacted with people from many cultures. I have a world of experiences and acquired knowledge that I want to share with others. I am now a grandmother and want to pass my skills through tutoring. My life education has made me qualified to tutor the following subjects effectively. Here is a summary.

Sewing
Experience:
FIA (Fashion Institute of America in Atlanta GA which is now the fashion part of The Art Institute of Atlanta; Courses in women/children garment construction, basic pattern making from measurements, manipulation of patterns to design, hand smocking, knitting, crochet. Experience in sewing children's designer clothing as well as general sewing.

ESL/ESOL
Experience:
Berlitz, Instituto International de Ingles, Company classes/translations in International Companies: Knorr Suiza, Chrysler of Venezuela, etc.

Spanish
Experience:
Total Immersion Spanish education in speaking, reading, writing & translating by living in Venezuela 24 years.

English
Experience:
Teach basic English Grammar and essay writing skills.

Elem(K-6th)
Experience:
Work with children teaching basic English & Spanish communication skills.

Email Donna

Donna’s subjects

Corporate Training:
Sports/Recreation:
Homeschool:
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th), Elementary Math, Elementary Science
Language:
English:
English, ESL/ESOL

Elementary (K-6th)

I have college education although I never completed a degree. I am also a Licensed Practical Nurse in the state of GA and work with geriatric patients, which requires an abundance of patience just like with children. While in nursing school I worked as a bilingual youth counselor in a local after school program. As you probably have read from my profile, although I was born and raised right here in GA, I did spend many of my adult years living in South America, where I raised both of my children. They are now two grown successful adults. I always helped them with their homework not only in Spanish, but also in English, and thanks to that, they are perfectly bilingual as well. I am now doing the same with two of my grandchildren who are in elementary school.
As a grandmother and nurse life experiences have given me an abundance of patience and capability to teach children with great success.

ESL/ESOL

I know that it is desirable if not a necessity for you to learn English. I can tell you that I know how you feel, because when I moved to Venezuela, I could not speak one word of Spanish. As time passed though, I did learn and very well as you can too. The advantage of speaking Spanish as well as English makes me a more versatile teacher. I am also familiar with the Latino culture.
Having lived in a another country where I could not communicate even basic needs without the help of someone else, has given me the empathy to understand your needs as well as the knowledge of knowing that a lesson in English grammar is not necessarily what you really need at least now in the beginning. The most important thing at first is to be able to communicate verbally with understandable pronunciation and the reading and writing will come later.

Sewing

Sewing is my passion and I learned it as a little girl at my mother's knee. I have ample experience sewing and teaching others to sew. Although some may consider this a lost art, there are still a lot of young people fascinated with making something for themselves. I teach general sewing machine use and how to use commercial patterns. I can also teach basic pattern making and how to alter patterns. If you have a specific project in mind I can help you with that as well. Clothing for children and women as well as decorations and bags, we can do it all. Email me via WyzAnt with any questions.

Spanish

Spanish is my second language and I understand the challenges involved in learning it. I prefer to teach it in a conversational format adding grammar explanations only as needed. Once you are able to carry on a basic conversation then I introduce more grammar and reading. This is the method that worked for me and is the best way to learn to speak the language fluently without translating as you speak. I am experienced with teaching all ages. If you have any questions for me please email me via WyzAnt.

Read all subject qualifications ยป

Email Donna

back to top

Education

West Central Technical College (LPN)

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $40.00

Cancellation: 24 hours notice required

Group rates can be arranged in all my subject areas. Price discounts can also be discussed for multiple hours or long term tutoring sessions.

Travel policy

Donna will travel within 10 miles of Carbondale, IL 62901.

Email Donna

Usually responds in about 15 hours

Send Donna a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Donna or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

(ex: algebra, chemistry)
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive Responses From Additional Tutors

If selected, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.