Search 74,321 tutors
FIND TUTORS
Over 100 tutoring hours

Melissa S.

Tutor in Spanish and English here.

Addison, IL (60101)

Travel radius
30 miles
Hourly fee
$40.00
Email Melissa S.

You don't pay for tutoring
unless you find a good fit!

Background Check Status for Melissa S.

Melissa S. passed a background check on 10/16/13. The check was ordered by another user through First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

After sending a message to Melissa, you will be able to order a new background check for $7.99. As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.

A dynamic tutor here! I am qualified in many subject areas including English, Spanish and Psychology. I have been tutor for over 5 years now in both online and in-person formats.

My method of tutoring incorporates books that the students all ready has as well as supplementary worksheets. I am cognizant of different learning styles and do my best to accommodate all styles whether visual, auditory or kinesthetic.

Email Melissa

Melissa’s subjects

Math:
Prealgebra
English:
English, ESL/ESOL, Grammar, Public Speaking, Reading, Vocabulary, Writing
Science:
Language:
History:
Elementary Education:
Grammar, Phonics, Reading, Vocabulary
Special Needs:
Business:
Homeschool:
English, ESL/ESOL, Prealgebra, Reading, Spanish, Writing
Corporate Training:

ADD/ADHD

I am a tutor in an elementary school and have experience dealing with students who have ADD/ADHD. I have additional training in a therapeutic day school.

American History

I am most proficient in American History.

English

I am very familiar with the writing process and have mentored elementary and high school students in writing. I will guide you through brainstorming to the final paper. I can also help you edit and comment on a rough draft.

ESL/ESOL

I have been tutoring ELL students for over 4 years now both in person and online. I work with refugees from various countries such as Iraq, Nepal, Somalia.

Phonics

I am qualified in phonics as I teach refugees the basics of reading and speaking. I teach phonics by going over the alphabet, blending sounds, etc. with them. I am patient and use worksheets as well as online sources to help them prepare students for reading and writing.

Psychology

I have a Bachelor's in Psychology. I have a solid foundation in Abnormal Psychology and social work.

Public Speaking

I have been though a lot of public speaking in my career as tutor and substitute teacher. I have worked with college students. I am familiar with the steps it takes to research and give a good speech.

Reading

I have been a reading tutor for elementary school students for about 6 years now. I have worked with students on phonemic awareness, fluency and comprehension. I always work with students in their own learning style.

Spanish

I minored in Spanish during my university days. I keep up the language by organizing two meetup groups. I also ran an after school program teaching Spanish to kindergarten to second graders.

My level is advanced intermediate/proficient. I am comfortable tutoring adults and children at the beginning, intermediate or beginning advanced level.

Special Needs

I have training is in a therapeutic day school. My experience has been assisting children with emotional difficulties and organization. I have worked with refugee students who come from traumatic backgrounds as well as attention difficulties. I also have a Bachelor's in Psychology. I have a solid foundation in Abnormal Psychology and social work.

Read all subject qualifications »

Email Melissa

back to top

Education

Lake Forest College, Lake Forest , Illinois (psychology)

Loyola University - Chicago, IL (Master's)

Great teacher Melissa is great teacher. She is kind, so I can relax around her. I was having a difficult time understanding English with my poor vocabulary. She taught me many new words and American idioms. I believe that I need more basic skills, but now I know how to express my feelings. It's big progress for me! ...

— Ai from Bloomingdale, IL on 7/29/14);

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $40.00

Cancellation: 24 hours notice required

Online is set at $25 per hour. In-person tutoring at a public place is also $40 per hour. Please inquire about tutoring for a group of 2 or more.

Travel policy

Melissa will travel within 30 miles of Addison, IL 60101.

Email Melissa

Usually responds in about 3 hours

Send Melissa a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Melissa or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

(ex: algebra, chemistry)
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive Responses From Additional Tutors

If selected, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.