Search 72,391 tutors
FIND TUTORS
Over 200 tutoring hours

Melissa S.

Patient & Friendly Math Tutor - 10+ Years of Experience

Coralville, IA (52241)

Travel radius
15 miles
Hourly fee
$40.00
Email Melissa S.

You don't pay for tutoring
unless you find a good fit!

Background Check Status for Melissa S.

Melissa S. passed a background check on 6/1/11. The check was ordered by Melissa through First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

After sending a message to Melissa, you will be able to order a new background check for $7.99. As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.

Hello! My name is Melissa and I am a bilingual (Spanish) educator who loves tutoring Math! I have over 10 years of experience (I know... I look so young but I am 33 years old). I am really passionate about helping students from all backgrounds achieve success in math because I myself used to struggle with the subject. However, with a lot of hard work I mastered the subject and obtained a Master's degree in Mathematics. My goal is to "instill confidence" into my students, and help them achieve success in mathematics and in their professional and personal goals! I currently teach math at a Kirkwood community college and also teach online classes at Iowa Western community college.

**Experience working with elementary, middle, high school, and college students.

Email Melissa

Melissa’s subjects

Math:
ACT Math, Algebra 1, Algebra 2, Calculus, Geometry, Linear Algebra, Prealgebra, Precalculus, SAT Math, Trigonometry
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th)
Business:
GMAT, GRE
Homeschool:
Algebra 1, Algebra 2, Calculus, Elementary (K-6th), Geometry, Prealgebra, Precalculus, SAT Math
Test Preparation:
ACT Math, ASVAB, GED, GMAT, GRE, PSAT, SAT Math
Corporate Training:
GMAT

Read all subject qualifications »

Email Melissa

back to top

Education

California State University, San Bernardino, CA (B.A in Mathematics)

California State University, San Bernardino, CA (Master's)

Very positive person! — I observed while Melissa worked with my nephew. My nephew was very reluctant to go to tutoring on Sunday morning but he needed the practice for finals. She has a great manner about her and he warmed up to her right away. I highly recommend her for someone who has math anxiety. ...

— Karen from Monrovia, CA on 12/23/13

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $40.00

Cancellation: 24 hours notice required

Travel policy

Melissa will travel within 15 miles of Coralville, IA 52241.

Email Melissa

Usually responds in about 3 hours

Send Melissa a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Melissa or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

(ex: algebra, chemistry)
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive Responses From Additional Tutors

If selected, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.