Search 74,392 tutors
FIND TUTORS
Over 50 tutoring hours

Marc P.

English & Foreign Language Tutor

Honolulu, HI (96815)

Travel radius
10 miles
Hourly fee
$30.00
Email Marc P.

You don't pay for tutoring
unless you find a good fit!

Background Check Status for Marc P.

Marc P. passed a background check on 1/20/14. The check was ordered by Marc through First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

After sending a message to Marc, you will be able to order a new background check for $7.99. As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.

Hi,
My name is Marc, I'm 27 years old and I'm a tutor who specializes in English and foreign languages. I have had a lot of tutoring experience since graduating from high school in 2005. I have studied Japanese for 7 years and Spanish for 5 years. I also know intermediate French and Russian. I have a very strong grasp on the English language and can help in all areas including reading, writing, grammar, and speaking. I've helped many foreign students practice and improve their English and I thoroughly enjoy it. In 2006, I was an English language assistant at an elementary school in Quebec, Canada. I helped sixth-grade French students practice English through the use of games and other activities. In recent years I've taught English in St. Petersburg, Russia. I love helping students learn and improve in languages and I am very patient when it comes to tutoring. I like to have fun in the process, too. I'm currently a student at Hawaii Pacific University pursuing a BA in TESOL. I strive to make language-learning enjoyable, interesting, and applicable to daily life.

Email Marc

Marc’s subjects

Corporate Training:
ESL/ESOL, Grammar, Japanese, Proofreading, Russian, Spanish
Homeschool:
Elementary Education:
Grammar, Reading, Vocabulary
History:
American History, European History, Geography
Science:
Astronomy, Psychology
English:
Bible Studies, English, ESL/ESOL, Grammar, Literature, Proofreading, Reading, Vocabulary, Writing

Arabic

I've studied Arabic for about two years. My knowledge of this language is at an intermediate level. I can read, write, and speak on a basic conversational level. I also have a good grasp on Arabic pronunciation and basic grammar. Two years ago, I helped students learn the basics of Arabic in an informal class setting at college. I've had a couple private tutors, too: one from Saudi Arabia and one from Kuwait. I feel I am qualified to teach basic Arabic. I also have the materials needed to do so.

Bible Studies

From kindergarten through 12th grade, I attended a Christian school. Every year in school I had Bible class. Along with Bible studies in school, I also have attended church my entire life where I've studied the Bible in Sunday school, youth groups, and other classes. I read the Bible on a regular basis so I have a thorough and current knowledge of this subject.

English

I am a native English speaker and I work part-time as a fiction writer. I have had many experiences tutoring and teaching English to foreigners and it is by far my strongest subject.

ESL/ESOL

I have helped many foreign students learn and practice their English skills through proofreading and correcting papers and interacting in English. In 2006, I volunteered at a French speaking elementary school in Lennoxville, Quebec helping students learn English through games and assignments. In recent years I've taught English classes in St. Petersburg, Russia to students of varying levels. I have a strong understanding of the process of learning a foreign language and what is required to improve and progress.

Japanese

I have studied Japanese for about 7 years. During that time, I've taken five college Japanese courses and have studied countless hours by myself. I have an advanced knowledge of conversational Japanese.

Russian

I studied Russian in St. Petersburg, Russia for approximately one year. I am fairly proficient in this language and can teach elementary Russian to students.

Spanish

I have studied Spanish for about five years and have spent time in Mexico practicing the language and experiencing the culture. I use Spanish frequently here in the U.S. It's the foreign language I'm most proficient in.

Writing

I work part-time as a fiction writer. I've been writing short stories and novellas for the last six years and I've had a few short stories published. Writing is one of my strongest subjects. I'm very good with spelling, grammar, and punctuation use.

Read all subject qualifications ยป

Email Marc

back to top

Education

Bishop's University (Modern Languages)

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $30.00

Cancellation: 12 hours notice required

Travel policy

Marc will travel within 10 miles of Honolulu, HI 96815.

Email Marc

Usually responds in about 12 hours

Send Marc a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Marc or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

(ex: algebra, chemistry)
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive Responses From Additional Tutors

If selected, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.