Search 75,650 tutors
FIND TUTORS

Katherine T.

Geography, World Studies, Spanish & elementary ed

Stone Mountain, GA (30088)

Travel radius
35 miles
Hourly fee
$35.00
Email Katherine T.

You don't pay for tutoring
unless you find a good fit!

Background Check Status for Katherine T.

Katherine T. has not yet had a background check. After sending a message to Katherine, you will be able to order a background check for $7.99. The check will be processed by First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.

I enjoy sharing my love for Geography & World Cultures! I have a Bachelors in Geography & Regional Development and another Bachelors in Anthropology/Archaeology. Latin American, African, African-American and Women's Studies were all Thematic Minors. My Masters is in International Affairs with emphasis on Urban Planning & Anthropological (Comparative Ancient Religion) Studies. I have taught elementary students - Geography, Spanish, Marine Science, Renewable Resources & Bio-Fuels. Middle School students - Spanish & Geography. High School Students - International Studies. I currently assist teaching 4th & 5th grades - Spelling, Vocabulary, Social Studies & Science. I am of Dominican background, and therefore fluent in Spanish (spoken & written). I have also played volleyball on the varsity team at college.

Email Katherine

Katherine’s subjects

Corporate Training:
Grammar, Spanish, Statistics
Sports/Recreation:
Homeschool:
Elementary (K-6th), Geometry, Prealgebra, Reading, Spanish, Statistics, Study Skills
Special Needs:
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th), Elementary Math, Elementary Science, Grammar, Phonics, Reading, Spelling, Study Skills, Vocabulary
Language:
Spanish
Science:
Anthropology, Archaeology, Ecology, Physical Science, Physiology
Math:
Geometry, Prealgebra, Statistics, Trigonometry
English:
Grammar, Reading, Vocabulary

Anthropology

I have a Bachelor of Arts degree from the University of Arizona in Anthropology. As part of the Anthropological major the concentrations are in Archaeology and Cultural Anthropology. The had a thematic minor that included African and Latin-American studies. I graduated the University of Arizona in 1996. I went on to complete a Masters at Florida State University in International Affairs, which also included Anthropology.

Archaeology

I have a University of Arizona degree in Anthropology with concentration in Archaeology and Cultural Anthropology. I graduated in 1996.

Elementary (K-6th)

In the past 7 years I have been teaching elementary school students in several different subjects like geography, Spanish and even marine science. Recently, I have been teaching 4th and 5th grades in spelling & vocabulary, social studies and science.

Geography

I have a Bachelor of Science degree in Geography & Regional Development from the University of Arizona. I did some cartography during my studies as well as some Geographic Information Systems. My minor was thematic including geographic information of Latin America, Asia, Europe and Africa. I taught Geography to elementary and middle school students at a local private school. I taught International Studies (which also included Geography) to the High School students there as well. I went on to complete a Masters at Florida State University in International Affairs which includes Geography and Urban Planning.

Phonics

Phonics has been very essential in my experience as a teacher. While teaching Pre-K and other elementary grades, Phonics has been crucial. I have enjoyed connecting my knowledge of Spanish with Phonics. In the past 7 years I have been teaching elementary school students fun ways of learning Phonics.

Religion

Religion has always been an underlying theme throughout my education. As I studied Geography & Regional Development, I also minored in subjects that included religion. As I studied Anthropology, I had courses that included religion throughout the program. And when I did my masters in International Affairs/Planning, the minor also involved religion from an anthropological point of view.

Social Studies

My educational background includes AA, BA, BS & MS in different disciplines. All of my degrees in one way or another include or are related to social studies. In the past 7 years, I have been teaching elementary and middle school students in different subjects; for example, geography and renewable resources & bio-fuels. I also taught high school students international studies. Recently, I have been teaching 4th and 5th grades social studies and science.

Spelling

Besides having degrees in Geography and Anthropology, I have an Associates degree in Liberal Arts from the Borough of Manhattan Community College. I have always been excellent in Spelling. Others would always come to me to correct their papers. Recently, I have been teaching Spelling and Vocabulary to fourth and fifth graders at a local private school for the past academic school year.

Volleyball

In my first years of college I played volleyball for fun. Eventually, I tried out for the varsity volleyball team. I was accepted and went on to play on the varsity college team for a couple of years. Our team won some and lost some, but we had a great time along the way. Now, I just play for fun when I can. Volleyball, I must say, is my favorite sport.

Read all subject qualifications ยป

Email Katherine

back to top

Education

University of Arizona

Florida State University (Master's)

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $35.00

Cancellation: 24 hours notice required

Travel policy

Katherine will travel within 35 miles of Stone Mountain, GA 30088.

Email Katherine

Usually responds after +3 days

Send Katherine a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Katherine or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

(ex: algebra, chemistry)
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive Responses From Additional Tutors

If selected, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.