Search 74,092 tutors
FIND TUTORS
Over 5 tutoring hours

Kimberly S.

Experienced Tutor (4 years) Math and English

Douglasville, GA (30134)

Travel radius
15 miles
Hourly fee
$35.00
Email Kimberly S.

You don't pay for tutoring
unless you find a good fit!

Background Check Status for Kimberly S.

Kimberly S. passed a background check on 7/14/14. The check was ordered by Kimberly through First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

After sending a message to Kimberly, you will be able to order a new background check for $7.99. As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.

My favorite part of tutoring is when the student "gets it"! I do my best to get to know the student to tailor lessons to his or her interests with hands on activities and games whenever possible.

I am currently tutoring college algebra and English part-time at Georgia Highlands College. I am in the process of transferring my special education teaching license from Tennessee to Georgia. Before moving to Georgia, I was Lead Tutor for a tutoring company in Tennessee. I worked with students in grades k-12 in reading, math, writing, study skills, and homework help. I also worked for a nonprofit where I did computer and assistive software training for individuals with disabilities.

Email Kimberly

Kimberly’s subjects

Algebra 1

I have tutored algebra for the last four years working with high school and college students at tutoring centers.

Algebra 2

I currently tutor college algebra. I have also worked with high school students on algebra 2 in a tutoring center.

Dyslexia

I have used tools and specialized instruction to work with several students with dyslexia, both as a tutor and an extended school year teacher. I have a special education teaching license. My experience includes four years as a tutor and two years as a special education teacher. I have training and experience with the Wilson Reading program from second to eighth grades.

Elementary (K-6th)

I have worked with elementary school students for over 7 years. I worked four of those years in a tutoring center, two of them were as an extended school year special education teacher, and two of them I spent as a homework room manager at an elementary school afterschool program. I work with students in math, reading, writing, and spelling.

Elementary Math

I tutored math for three years at a tutoring center. The grade levels I worked with were kindergarten through 12th grade. I was the "go to" tutor for math students.

English

I have tutored students in English for the past 4 years at tutoring centers. I am currently working with college students in several different college English classes.

General Computer

I have trained people on basic computer knowledge through my profession as an assistive technology consultant.

Geometry

I have tutored students in math from kindergarten to college. I worked with high school students on geometry for three years at a tutoring center.

Grammar

For the past 4 years, I have worked with students on grammar at tutoring centers. I have worked with students from kindergarten to college. Currently I am assisting college students in making English assignments grammatically correct. I have practice with many tools for students of all ages.

Prealgebra

My experience in prealgebra comes from working in tutoring centers for the past 4 years. I have worked with many high school and college students on this subject.

Proofreading

I have tutored writing students for the past four years. I have a tool for younger students, teaching them how to proofread. The college students I work with are assisted in how to more effectively proofread.

Reading

I have used different systems and tools to improve reading and reasoning skills, as well as test taking skills.

Study Skills

I have tutored for the past 4 years at tutoring centers using strategies to improve students' study skills such as note taking, time management, and organization.

Vocabulary

I have worked on vocabulary with students from kindergarten to college. I have many games and study tools for vocabulary.

Writing

I have used many tools that improve handwriting and writing skills, and I have worked with students from kindergarten to college.

Read all subject qualifications ยป

Email Kimberly

back to top

Education

Appalchian State University (Special Education)

East Carolina University (Other)

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $35.00

Cancellation: 3 hours notice required

Travel policy

Kimberly will travel within 15 miles of Douglasville, GA 30134.

Email Kimberly

Usually responds in about 2 hours

Send Kimberly a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Kimberly or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

(ex: algebra, chemistry)
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive Responses From Additional Tutors

If selected, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.