Search 72,614 tutors
FIND TUTORS

Ossie S. B.

"Get double help from one source"

Covington, GA (30014)

Travel radius
20 miles
Hourly fee
$35.00
Email Ossie S. B.

You don't pay for tutoring
unless you find a good fit!

Background Check Status for Ossie S. B.

Ossie S. B. passed a background check on 1/9/13. The check was ordered by Ossie S. through First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

After sending a message to Ossie S., you will be able to order a new background check for $7.99. As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.

I am highly certified (B.A, M.A., PhD) and experienced in the fields of both regular and special needs education. I have more than a half century of teaching experience in regular elementary and middle school grades, and special education. I have helped establish a high school special needs program; taught college classes in special education, and conducted staff training for teachers of special needs children. I am a published author of magazine and newspaper articles and a children's book.

My approach to tutoring instruction is individualization (to individually tailor all instruction to the student's learning style and interest). I use the student's strengths as a spring board into teaching to their weaknesses. I review regularly in the strong areas noted in the student's achievement profile. I use this data primarily to develop a teaching strategy that best meet the student's needs in areas where difficulty is experienced. The student's interest, motivation, and rate of learning are used to keep the student engaged and motivated. My success formula for teaching consist of frequency of instruction, intensity (using all five senses to input instruction) and a variety of instructional methods. These techniques produce effective teaching and student achievement.

Put me to work, call me! I would like to help you.

Email Ossie S.

Ossie S.’s subjects

English:
Grammar, Reading, Vocabulary
Elementary Education:
Special Needs:
Test Preparation:
GED
Sports/Recreation:
Corporate Training:

Autism

I am highly certified (B.A, M.A. PhD) and experienced in the fields of both regular and special needs education. I have worked individually with one student with autism from 3rd grade through high school graduation. All of my instructions were tailored specifically to his learning style, interest and the goals and objectives outlined in his IEP. During the summer I worked with him on social skills for job interviewing, personal grooming, homes chores, banking and shopping. All academics were directly integrated into these activities.

Cooking

I hold a college degree in Home Economics that includes food preparation. I have taught simple food preparation to students in the elementary grades as part of classroom projects in social studies and health. I am a full time cook in my home. With students I emphasize reading skills with emphasis on comprehension of instructions. Math skills are incorporated in the measuring, weighing, increasing and decreasing serving sizes of recipes and shopping for the groceries.

Elementary (K-6th)

My experiences in the elementary grades have covered every grade from K-5 either as a regular classroom teacher, long term substitute teacher or special needs teacher. I've developed and adapted many teaching materials to assist the student in meeting their IEP goals and objectives.
I have worked with several different special needs students on varying instructional levels in the same integrated environment by adapting and individualizing all instructions to meet their needs and master the IEP goals and objectives.

I have taught reading with much success to non-readers, slow readers and students who are learning to read for survival in the home and community.

Elementary Math

My elementary and middle school math skills encompass all of the basic fundamental processes of addition, subtraction, multiplication and division, of whole numbers, fractions, decimal fractions (single digits through multiple digits). I have taught every grade level math curriculum in math: Beginning algebra, percent, graphs (bar, line, pie, picture): geometry, probability, money etc. There are no areas of math at this level that would present a problem for me.

Grammar

I approach the teaching of grammar as a vital component in reading. The student is given a KEY to decoding unfamiliar words which leads to more independent reading. If there is no phonetic knowledge then I must begin at the beginning. Many times I use methods that employ the sound symbols approach for each letter or groups of letters. At other times I uses the approach that uses a family sound that is common to many words and work to learn and recognize that sound in new words. I have taught phonics using several methods. I am confident with the area.

Needlework

I am a skilled quilter. I employ the rotary cutting method and machine quilting, or the template piece cutting and hand quilting method. I teach four basic blocks at the beginner level and gradually progress to more difficult designs. I have a college degree in Home Economics.

Phonics

I am highly certified (B.A, M.A. PhD) and experienced in the fields of both regular and special needs education. I am experienced in several methods of teaching phonics. I teach the sound symbol relationship methods that teaches a sound for all of the consonants, vowels, blends, digraphs, diphthongs etc. I am also skilled in teaching phonics by controlled vocabulary or word family groups that blend word endings with all of the consonant sounds to form real words or nonsense words that rhyme.
For older students with some level of sight vocabulary and a basic knowledge of phonics, that may not require the basic methods of acquiring phonics, I would use a word syllabication method that allows the student to use their knowledge of phonics in decoding words that may be difficult to read independently. I am familiar with most state adopted texts used in public schools in Georgia and several home school adoptions.
Don't fret, give me a call.

Reading

I have extensive experience with teaching adults reading. I spent years as a teacher in an adult reading program teaching adults to read for the first time readers. For others I assisted in helping with word recognition and pronunciation, vocabulary development, and comprehension. I am strong in teaching methods of composing essays,research papers and learning to use simple grammatical
correctness in any written communication. I have written a book, newspaper and magazine articles.I am confident in my ability to teach.

Sewing

I have a college degree in sewing. I started sewing at the age of 8 and have continued that craft to the present time. I make clothes, household items, like curtains, draperies, bed linens etc. with beginning students. I cover the very basics, which include machine operation, pattern reading, body measuring, pattern selection, fabric selection and cutting, fitting, basting and garment construction.

Special Needs

My professional training is in the field of special needs education. I have administered and supervised public school programs for every category of special need student served in the public and private school systems. I have designed instructional materials and programs for students with mild challenges in LD, BD, and MID. I worked individually with a student with autism from 3rd grade through 12th grade. I taught all the basic elementary subjects in a self-contained setting until the student progressed to the point of being included with regular grade students with my support. I later transitioned the student to community based instruction in the middle and high schools. I worked with him individually during the summers on vocational readiness skills, life skills occupational, social skills and personal grooming etc. in preparation for residential placement.

I am also experienced in the classroom speech correction follow-up therapy activities for students with speech difficulties. I have been successful in teaching regular and special needs students in the same integrated instructional environment.

Read all subject qualifications ยป

Email Ossie S.

back to top

Education

Clark University - (Elementary Education)

Atlanta University (Master's)

Georgia State University (PhD)

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $35.00

Cancellation: 3 hours notice required

Travel policy

Ossie S. will travel within 20 miles of Covington, GA 30014.

Email Ossie S.

Usually responds after +3 days

Send Ossie S. a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Ossie S. or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

(ex: algebra, chemistry)
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive Responses From Additional Tutors

If selected, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.