Search 72,701 tutors
FIND TUTORS
Over 20 tutoring hours

KEVIN M.

Atlanta, GA

$26/hr

Mercer Grad for Elem/Middle School Subjects and HS/College Biology

Background check passed as of 6/30/13
Usually responds in about 8 hours

Mercer Grad for Elem/Middle School Subjects and HS/College Biology

Message KEVIN

Send KEVIN a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed KEVIN or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive responses from additional tutors

If you select this option, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.

Hello! I am a Mercer University graduate with a B.S. in Biology with minors in Sociology, Psychology, and Chemistry. While my academic background gives me the tools to effectively tutor in math and the biological and physical sciences, my love of the humanities bestows me with the unique ability to also excel in elementary and middle school subjects. I have 3 children myself who are in those grade levels--1st, 3rd, and 6th grades.

I have developed a true appreciation for working with students as I work as a certified environmental educator at the Georgia Aquarium in the Education Department. I am motivated to not only improve students' grades but also their confidence and mindset. Making sure each student's goals align with my goals (and the parents' goals!) gives that student internal motivation and drive that is required to apply the insight gained at a tutoring session to every day academic performance. I am absolutely confident that I can find what motivates your child and I can use that internal motivation to gain valuable knowledge about your child that helps to raise his or her grade/score and aids in academic and personal improvement across the board.

Outside of tutoring, I have a passion for singing, living life to its fullest, my 3 children, and marine life. I also love visiting the ocean--my favorite places are Hilton Head Island, Tybee Island, Jekyll Island, and Amelia Island! I am currently working on a M.S. degree in the Biological Sciences at Clemson University.

Testimonials

"Excellent Tutor"

- Monica, Atlanta, GA on 11/4/13

"Perfect Tutor for Teens"

- Susan, Norcross, GA on 11/7/14
English:
Grammar, Reading, Vocabulary
Science:
Biology,
Physical Science, Psychology,
Sociology
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th),
Elementary Math, Elementary Science, Grammar, Reading, Spelling, Study Skills,
Vocabulary
Special Needs:
Special Needs
Homeschool:
Biology,
Elementary (K-6th),
Reading, Study Skills
Corporate Training:
Grammar

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.

Biology

I have a B.S. degree with a major in Biology from Mercer University. I am currently working on a M.S. degree with a concentration in the Biological Sciences at Clemson University.

Elementary (K-6th)

I am an environmental educator at the Georgia Aquarium. I teach children pre-K through college about marine biology. I have specific experience tutoring children of this age because I have 3 children who are aged 6, 8, and 12. I tutor them with their homework on a daily basis. I have a B.S. in Biology from Mercer University with over 350 hours of coursework. I tutor using positive reinforcement by using physical activity (playing outside) as a reward system. It has always worked well for me!!

Psychology

I have a minor in Psychology from Mercer University.

Sociology

I took four sociology classes in college:
Introductory Sociology, Marriage and Family, Aging in American Society, and Deviance and Social Control.

Special Needs

I have worked the past 3 years as an environmental educator in the Education Department during our one week special needs camp sponsored by the Marcus Autism Foundation and Center of Atlanta, Georgia. I have been personally trained in low and high functioning spectrums of learning disabilities as well as behavioral management by the foundation's education director, Dr. Catherine Trapani!

Study Skills

I have over 25 hours of successfully tutoring two students in 4th and 8th grades. I also teach pre-k through college students at Georgia Aquarium. Study skills and techniques are used on a regular basis.

Mercer University, Macon, GA
Biology
Clemson University, Clemson, SC
Graduate Coursework

Education

Mercer University, Macon, GA (Biology)

Clemson University, Clemson, SC (Graduate Coursework)

Excellent Tutor — Kevin is a great tutor! He is very patient and flexible. My boys love him and think he is soooo cool. He knows a lot about everything and loves kids. We highly recommend him and his services! ...

— Monica, Atlanta, GA on 11/4/13

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $26.00

Cancellation: 24 hours notice required

Travel policy

KEVIN will travel within 25 miles of Atlanta, GA 30350.


About KEVIN

Hello! I am a Mercer University graduate with a B.S. in Biology with minors in Sociology, Psychology, and Chemistry. While my academic background gives me the tools to effectively tutor in math and the biological and physical sciences, my love of the humanities bestows me with the unique ability to also excel in elementary and middle school subjects. I have 3 children myself who are in those grade levels--1st, 3rd, and 6th grades.

I have developed a true appreciation for working with students as I work as a certified environmental educator at the Georgia Aquarium in the Education Department. I am motivated to not only improve students' grades but also their confidence and mindset. Making sure each student's goals align with my goals (and the parents' goals!) gives that student internal motivation and drive that is required to apply the insight gained at a tutoring session to every day academic performance. I am absolutely confident that I can find what motivates your child and I can use that internal motivation to gain valuable knowledge about your child that helps to raise his or her grade/score and aids in academic and personal improvement across the board.

Outside of tutoring, I have a passion for singing, living life to its fullest, my 3 children, and marine life. I also love visiting the ocean--my favorite places are Hilton Head Island, Tybee Island, Jekyll Island, and Amelia Island! I am currently working on a M.S. degree in the Biological Sciences at Clemson University.

Testimonials

"Excellent Tutor"

- Monica, Atlanta, GA on 11/4/13

"Perfect Tutor for Teens"

- Susan, Norcross, GA on 11/7/14
}

Education

Mercer University, Macon, GA
Biology
Clemson University, Clemson, SC
Graduate Coursework

Education

Mercer University, Macon, GA (Biology)

Clemson University, Clemson, SC (Graduate Coursework)


Tutor Policies

Cancellation
24 hours notice required
Travel Radius
Travels within 25 miles of Atlanta, GA 30350

KEVIN’s Subjects

English:
Grammar, Reading, Vocabulary
Science:
Biology,
Physical Science, Psychology,
Sociology
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th),
Elementary Math, Elementary Science, Grammar, Reading, Spelling, Study Skills,
Vocabulary
Special Needs:
Special Needs
Homeschool:
Biology,
Elementary (K-6th),
Reading, Study Skills
Corporate Training:
Grammar

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.


Background Check Status for KEVIN M.

KEVIN M. passed a background check on 6/30/13. The check was ordered by KEVIN through First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

After sending a message to KEVIN, you will be able to order a new background check for $7.99. As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.