Search 72,566 tutors
FIND TUTORS
Over 50 tutoring hours

Elisa C.

Atlanta, GA

$55/hr

Ms. CuzCuz, AKA Effective & fun in the same sentence!

Background check passed as of 12/21/14
Usually responds in about 17 hours

Ms. CuzCuz, AKA Effective & fun in the same sentence!

Message Elisa

Send Elisa a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Elisa or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive responses from additional tutors

If you select this option, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.

I am certified in ALL sciences, Math, ESOL, Italian (also working on Spanish accreditation), and trained in AP Environmental Science and Handwriting Without Tears.

I have been tutoring since 1997 and loved working with school aged students so much that in 2011 I took up teaching and tutoring for a local school district.

I have accepted both private and institutional assignments and I pride myself with the repeat requests I receive to conduct CRCT & EOCT remediation classes.

I have also been selected to contract my services as an academic tutor for a state agency and a metro homeschooling coop.

My forte is the ability to identify my students strength and weaknesses and then draw from their everyday life experiences to help them visualize the concepts on which they struggle. No subject is too complex to be explained w a few old time resources, tools, or memories. And no example is too trivial if it serves it's purpose...Help my student experience understanding and success!

I completed my neurobiology work at the University of Modena e Reggio Emilia in Italy. My students from the days of my graduate internship at NAHS came up with the nickname Ms. CuzCuz... I kept it because those were the first kids with whom I was ever able to share my love for learning and I will NEVER forget them!

I am also available to tutor:
-to ensure summer content retention, get a head start on the upcoming content, review/remediate/prepare for standardized testing (SAT/ACT/CRCT/EOCT).
-homeschooled child/children/small groups in subjects that aren't your forte (by the way, you're welcome to sit with us and learn something new...or something old in a new way), help w/ multiple subjects, schedule SMALL group sessions, & ongoing homework support!

I love everything science, math, literacy, and multicultural! In my spare time, I enjoy goofing out with my son and our science "experiments" (one time we were snowed in and had a ball building volcanoes and DNA models, on Halloween, we made Elephant toothpaste and had our front step inundated by pumpkin puke!).
I am willing to meet anywhere in Buckhead, Midtown, Fulton, Gwinnett, and Cobb County for the right assignments.

I look forward to getting you excited about learning! Hang with me and you will have a good time!

Testimonials

"Great tutor, very knowledgeable."

- John, Atlanta, GA on 1/7/14
Elisa replied on 1/16/2014

John:
This is so kind of you! I have enjoyed working with you as well and look forward to continuing with this adventure! As I told you, learning a new language is very much a journey and, as such, should be savoured one step at the time!
See you at our next meeting!
Salutos,

Math:
ACT Math, Algebra 1, Algebra 2, Geometry, Linear Algebra, Prealgebra, Precalculus, SAT Math
English:
ACT English, ACT Reading, English, ESL/ESOL, Grammar, IELTS, Literature, Proofreading, Reading, SAT Reading, SAT Writing, TOEFL, Vocabulary, Writing
Science:
ACT Science, Biochemistry, Biology, Chemistry, Ecology, Genetics, Microbiology, Organic Chemistry, Physical Science, Zoology
Computer:
Macintosh, Microsoft Excel, Microsoft PowerPoint, Microsoft Windows, Microsoft Word
Language:
ESL/ESOL, IELTS, Italian, Latin, Spanish, TOEFL
History:
Classics, European History, Geography, Government & Politics, Political Science, World History
Elementary Education:
Common Core, Elementary Math, Elementary Science, Grammar, Handwriting, Reading, Vocabulary
Special Needs:
Aspergers, Autism
Business:
Microsoft Excel, Microsoft PowerPoint, Microsoft Word
Homeschool:
Algebra 1, Algebra 2, Biology, Chemistry, English, ESL/ESOL, Geometry, Handwriting, Prealgebra, Precalculus, Reading, SAT Math, SAT Reading, Spanish, Writing
Test Preparation:
ACT English, ACT Math, ACT Reading, ACT Science, Common Core, GED, IELTS, SAT Math, SAT Reading, SAT Writing, TOEFL
Corporate Training:
ESL/ESOL, Grammar, Italian, Latin, Microsoft Excel, Microsoft Word, Proofreading, Spanish

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.

Universita' di Modena e Reggio Emilia
Biological Sciences, Neurobiology
University of Georgia College of Education
Other

Education

Universita' di Modena e Reggio Emilia (Biological Sciences, Neurobiology)

University of Georgia College of Education (Other)

Great tutor, very knowledgeable. — I have been looking for a tutor for about a month, Elisa found me, sounded fantastic and came over same day, to my house! She's very sweet and knows 3 languages and 2 dead ones (Greek and Latin). She has a repertoire of A to Z but analyzed my needs and started with A and a little B, perfect for my speed. I'm excited to work with her and I know, with her help I'll be having passable Spanish conv ...

— John, Atlanta, GA on 1/7/14

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $55.00

Cancellation: 24 hours notice required

I offer various options: classic tutoring, homework support, homeschooling, SMALL group, multiple subjects/hours, and test preparation. Drop me an email to find the best way I can meet your needs!

Travel policy

Elisa will travel within 30 miles of Atlanta, GA 30327.


About Elisa

I am certified in ALL sciences, Math, ESOL, Italian (also working on Spanish accreditation), and trained in AP Environmental Science and Handwriting Without Tears.

I have been tutoring since 1997 and loved working with school aged students so much that in 2011 I took up teaching and tutoring for a local school district.

I have accepted both private and institutional assignments and I pride myself with the repeat requests I receive to conduct CRCT & EOCT remediation classes.

I have also been selected to contract my services as an academic tutor for a state agency and a metro homeschooling coop.

My forte is the ability to identify my students strength and weaknesses and then draw from their everyday life experiences to help them visualize the concepts on which they struggle. No subject is too complex to be explained w a few old time resources, tools, or memories. And no example is too trivial if it serves it's purpose...Help my student experience understanding and success!

I completed my neurobiology work at the University of Modena e Reggio Emilia in Italy. My students from the days of my graduate internship at NAHS came up with the nickname Ms. CuzCuz... I kept it because those were the first kids with whom I was ever able to share my love for learning and I will NEVER forget them!

I am also available to tutor:
-to ensure summer content retention, get a head start on the upcoming content, review/remediate/prepare for standardized testing (SAT/ACT/CRCT/EOCT).
-homeschooled child/children/small groups in subjects that aren't your forte (by the way, you're welcome to sit with us and learn something new...or something old in a new way), help w/ multiple subjects, schedule SMALL group sessions, & ongoing homework support!

I love everything science, math, literacy, and multicultural! In my spare time, I enjoy goofing out with my son and our science "experiments" (one time we were snowed in and had a ball building volcanoes and DNA models, on Halloween, we made Elephant toothpaste and had our front step inundated by pumpkin puke!).
I am willing to meet anywhere in Buckhead, Midtown, Fulton, Gwinnett, and Cobb County for the right assignments.

I look forward to getting you excited about learning! Hang with me and you will have a good time!

Testimonials

"Great tutor, very knowledgeable."

- John, Atlanta, GA on 1/7/14
Elisa replied on 1/16/2014

John:
This is so kind of you! I have enjoyed working with you as well and look forward to continuing with this adventure! As I told you, learning a new language is very much a journey and, as such, should be savoured one step at the time!
See you at our next meeting!
Salutos,

}

Education

Universita' di Modena e Reggio Emilia
Biological Sciences, Neurobiology
University of Georgia College of Education
Other

Education

Universita' di Modena e Reggio Emilia (Biological Sciences, Neurobiology)

University of Georgia College of Education (Other)


Tutor Policies

Cancellation
24 hours notice required

I offer various options: classic tutoring, homework support, homeschooling, SMALL group, multiple subjects/hours, and test preparation. Drop me an email to find the best way I can meet your needs!

Travel Radius
Travels within 30 miles of Atlanta, GA 30327

Elisa’s Subjects

Math:
ACT Math, Algebra 1, Algebra 2, Geometry, Linear Algebra, Prealgebra, Precalculus, SAT Math
English:
ACT English, ACT Reading, English, ESL/ESOL, Grammar, IELTS, Literature, Proofreading, Reading, SAT Reading, SAT Writing, TOEFL, Vocabulary, Writing
Science:
ACT Science, Biochemistry, Biology, Chemistry, Ecology, Genetics, Microbiology, Organic Chemistry, Physical Science, Zoology
Computer:
Macintosh, Microsoft Excel, Microsoft PowerPoint, Microsoft Windows, Microsoft Word
Language:
ESL/ESOL, IELTS, Italian, Latin, Spanish, TOEFL
History:
Classics, European History, Geography, Government & Politics, Political Science, World History
Elementary Education:
Common Core, Elementary Math, Elementary Science, Grammar, Handwriting, Reading, Vocabulary
Special Needs:
Aspergers, Autism
Business:
Microsoft Excel, Microsoft PowerPoint, Microsoft Word
Homeschool:
Algebra 1, Algebra 2, Biology, Chemistry, English, ESL/ESOL, Geometry, Handwriting, Prealgebra, Precalculus, Reading, SAT Math, SAT Reading, Spanish, Writing
Test Preparation:
ACT English, ACT Math, ACT Reading, ACT Science, Common Core, GED, IELTS, SAT Math, SAT Reading, SAT Writing, TOEFL
Corporate Training:
ESL/ESOL, Grammar, Italian, Latin, Microsoft Excel, Microsoft Word, Proofreading, Spanish

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.


Background Check Status for Elisa C.

Elisa C. passed a background check on 12/21/14. The check was ordered by Elisa through First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

After sending a message to Elisa, you will be able to order a new background check for $7.99. As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.