Search 73,749 tutors
FIND TUTORS
Over 500 tutoring hours

Bo P.

Science and Math Tutor Bo

Tampa, FL (33626)

Travel radius
20 miles
Hourly fee
$45.00
Email Bo P.

You don't pay for tutoring
unless you find a good fit!

Background Check Status for Bo P.

Bo P. passed a background check on 4/16/14. The check was ordered by another user through First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

After sending a message to Bo, you will be able to order a new background check for $7.99. As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.

Hello. I am tutor Bo. To give a brief overview of my educational background, I recently graduated from the University of Florida with a Bachelor of Science in Chemistry and a GPA of 3.60. I received my high school diploma from Walter Sickles High School with an unweighted GPA of 3.89 and a weighted GPA of 5.83. I will be experiencing my fourth year of tutoring this coming year, 2013. My experiences stem from my involvement with the 4H Science Program, tutoring fellow undergraduates through the University of Florida Honors Program, being a Teaching’s Assistant for a pre-professional medical course, and briefly working as a tutor for a fifth grade student during the spring of 2012.
My tutoring experiences have familiarized me with a broad age range of students, reaching from kindergarteners to undergraduate University students. Despite age differences, I have found that solidifying good study habits and organizational skills builds the foundation for achievement for the present and the future. Additionally, I believe the ability to view and relate a given problem from many different angles pertinent to fully grasping the subject at hand.
Currently, I have had great experience tutoring subjects of science and mathematics. I have a background in research and education utilizing both areas. Previously, I tutored for college-level Biology, Chemistry, Calculus I, Calculus II, Calculus III, Physics with and without Calculus, Biochemistry, and Organic Chemistry. I also tutored in high school or lower- levels in math and science courses. I really enjoy tutoring and believe that everyone has their own individual learning methods that should be honed. Please feel free to contact me with any questions.

Email Bo

Bo’s subjects

Math:
ACT Math, Algebra 1, Algebra 2, Calculus, Discrete Math, Geometry, Prealgebra, Precalculus, Probability, SAT Math, Statistics, Trigonometry
English:
ACT English, ACT Reading, English, ESL/ESOL, Grammar, Literature, Proofreading, Public Speaking, Reading, SAT Reading, SAT Writing, TOEFL, Vocabulary, Writing
Science:
ACT Science, Biochemistry, Biology, Chemistry, Genetics, Microbiology, Organic Chemistry, Physical Science, Physics, Psychology
Language:
ESL/ESOL, Korean, TOEFL
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th), Elementary Math, Elementary Science, Grammar, Phonics, Reading, Spelling, Study Skills, Vocabulary
Special Needs:
Phonics
Business:
Public Speaking
Homeschool:
Algebra 1, Algebra 2, Biology, Calculus, Chemistry, Elementary (K-6th), English, ESL/ESOL, Geometry, Physics, Prealgebra, Precalculus, Reading, SAT Math, SAT Reading, Statistics, Study Skills, Writing
Test Preparation:
ACT English, ACT Math, ACT Reading, ACT Science, GED, PSAT, SAT Math, SAT Reading, SAT Writing, SSAT, TOEFL
Corporate Training:
ESL/ESOL, Grammar, Korean, Proofreading, Public Speaking, Statistics

Elementary (K-6th)

My credentials for tutoring elementary students (K-6th) lie in my previous experience tutoring them in the subjects of mathematics, English, and science. During the summer of 2011, I was a math tutor for a 5th grade student. She had difficulties in organization, concentration, and most of all understanding English. She had just moved from South Korea to the States. After a few weeks of tutoring, there was a noticeable improvement in her final report card grades in subjects outside of math.

I also volunteered for the 4H Science club in Gainesville for approximately a year. The students were also elementary and middle school students. I helped carry out lesson plans. As such, i have been able to interact and learn how to teach students in the elementary school range.

Genetics

I have studied Genetics at the University of Florida during my junior semester of University. I also tutored the subject for an honors tutoring program for three semesters. Genetics utilizes a combination of memorization and application of statistical math. My teaching methods involve reviewing examples and problems involving important concepts, as well as addressing any questions the student may have for the specific unit being covered.

Microbiology

I recently graduated from the University of Florida with a Bachelor's in Science. I majored in Chemistry while on a pre-professional medicine track. As such, I have taken an extensive amount of Science courses linked to Biology and Chemistry. I took Microbiology as an elective in my senior year. I received an A- in the course after solidifying methods to spend less time studying, but studying effectively as to make most of the little time I had.

Organic Chemistry

I recently graduated from the University of Florida with a Bachelor's in Science. I majored in Chemistry and, as such, have exceeding familiarity with Organic Chemistry. I took Organic Chemistry I and II, along with Organic Chemistry lab. I have also taken courses that extend themselves upon Organic Chemistry material, including Inorganic Chemistry and Quantum Mechanics.

Study Skills

I have developed extensive methods of studying from my own experiences juggling approximately five to six AP courses at a time, studying for the MCATs in a short time frame, and from balancing hard sciences, maths, and physics with extracurricular activities as an undergraduate at the University of Florida. I also observed and helped tweak study schedules for fellow undergraduate students as a Teaching Assistant and a volunteer tutor through the UF Honors Program and for younger students of a wide age range through a tutoring job and my activities in the 4H Science Club.

Read all subject qualifications »

Email Bo

back to top

Education

University of Florida

Great tutor She really helped my daughter! My daughter can't wait for her next session! She made such a difficult subject make sense! Thank you!! ...

— KALEY from Tampa, FL on 3/7/14);

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $45.00

Cancellation: 24 hours notice required

Travel policy

Bo will travel within 20 miles of Tampa, FL 33626.

Email Bo

Usually responds in about 9 hours

Send Bo a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Bo or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

(ex: algebra, chemistry)
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive Responses From Additional Tutors

If selected, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.