Search 75,469 tutors
FIND TUTORS

Olga S.

Foreign Languages and Social Sciences Tutor

North Miami Beach, FL (33160)

Travel radius
20 miles
Hourly fee
$35.00
Email Olga S.

You don't pay for tutoring
unless you find a good fit!

Background Check Status for Olga S.

Olga S. passed a background check on 1/18/14. The check was ordered by Olga through First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

After sending a message to Olga, you will be able to order a new background check for $7.99. As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.

I always loved languages, traveling, and history. I was born in Moldova and moved to Florida at the age of 15. Russian and Romanian were my only languages before coming to America. Upon my arrival in the US, I started learning and speaking Spanish and English at the same time. In high school my exceptional language skills were recognized with the prestigious Honorable Mention/Silver Knight award in the Foreign Languages Category.

Upon graduation from high school I knew that I wanted to continue improving my Spanish skills. I enrolled in a bilingual Spanish program at the University of Florida and graduated with a double major, earning Bachelor of Arts degrees in both Spanish and Business Administration. I have worked at the Institute of Hispanic/Latino cultures and wrote a paper about Cuban refugees that was later published in the University of Florida scholarly journal. Finally, I also have my law degree from the University of Florida and am a licensed attorney in the states of New York and Pennsylvania.

I enjoy teaching and have taught conversational English to foreign students at the English Language Institute. I currently work as an Immigration Specialist for a relocation company in Pittsburgh where I coordinate global immigration. Every day I communicate with my clients and partners in Spanish and learn about places in the world that inspire me to travel. In addition, I work as a freelance interpreter and translator for various private agencies.

Email Olga

Olga’s subjects

Corporate Training:
ESL/ESOL, Russian, Spanish
Homeschool:
Elementary (K-6th), ESL/ESOL, Reading, Spanish, Study Skills
Elementary Education:
History:
American History, European History, Geography, Government & Politics, Social Studies, World History
Language:
ESL/ESOL, Russian, Spanish
English:
ESL/ESOL, Reading

Elementary (K-6th)

I currently teach Reading and Math to children through "No Child Left Behind Program" in Wyoming through Eduwizards.

My students range from K to 7th grade and most of them require help with ESOL English as well since they are from Hispanic families. I have about 15 students and do approximately 2-3 sessions a week. I often find myself translating from English into Spanish and from Spanish into English and take my time to ensure that the students comprehend.

In the beginning I always conduct an assessment and then target the student's weak areas. I incorporate grammar and vocabulary building in my reading classes. For mathematics, I teach from counting forward and backwards to long division.

I understand that one hour of mathematics can be difficult to concentrate for many students, therefore I usually do 30 minutes of math and then 30 minutes of reading.

I always work toward engaging the student rather then simply giving answers.

Russian

Russian is my native language. I came to the United States at the age of 16 from former Soviet Union. I have translated and interpreted from Russian. I am also a licensed attorney.

Social Studies

I am a licensed attorney. I am licensed in New York and Pennsylvania. I have a degree in Business Administration as well. I have worked as a teaching assistant for Legal Research and Writing and Appellate Advocacy classes at the University of Florida Levin College of Law.

Study Skills

I tutor students of different ages through various tutoring agencies. I am often asked regarding the best techniques in learning the material and doing well on the test.

Depending on the student's level, I always advise to practice as much as possible. In my own experience of going through college, law school and then studying for New York and Pennsylvania bar exams, I noticed that reading large textbooks never worked. Making outlines and doing practice questions and practice essays worked for me. In addition, I suggest making flash cards and having a family or a friend to test the student.

I also teach K-6 ESOL children to read and I always encourage them to read to me what they like and at the same time, I try to find something that interests them to ensure that reading in English becomes something they actually enjoy.

Read all subject qualifications ยป

Email Olga

back to top

Education

University of Florida (Spanish and Business)

University of Florida Levin College of Law (J.D.)

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $35.00

Cancellation: 24 hours notice required

Travel policy

Olga will travel within 20 miles of North Miami Beach, FL 33160.

Email Olga

Usually responds in about 3 hours

Send Olga a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Olga or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

(ex: algebra, chemistry)
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive Responses From Additional Tutors

If selected, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.