Search 74,306 tutors
FIND TUTORS

Alec R.

Helping you to reach your goals

Miami, FL (33138)

Travel radius
10 miles
Hourly fee
$45.00
Email Alec R.

You don't pay for tutoring
unless you find a good fit!

Background Check Status for Alec R.

Alec R. has not yet had a background check. After sending a message to Alec, you will be able to order a background check for $7.99. The check will be processed by First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.

Hello! My name is Alec, and I am a returned Peace Corps Volunteer, experienced tutor, and educator. As a Peace Corps Volunteer, I taught English, American Studies, British Studies, conversation courses, and debate courses at a variety of levels including university classes and adult education classes.

Most recently, I just graduated from law school at the University of Iowa College of Law and am now living here in Miami. Presently, I have a lot of free time, which makes it easier for me to schedule tutoring times that work best for you!

Beyond the traditional education/language tutoring that I'm qualified for, I am also qualified to tutor/coach/instruct in a variety of sports and fitness areas.

Email Alec

Alec’s subjects

English:
ACT English, ACT Reading, English, ESL/ESOL, Grammar, Literature, Proofreading, Reading, SAT Reading, SAT Writing, TOEFL, Vocabulary, Writing
Computer:
Adobe Illustrator, Adobe InDesign, Adobe Photoshop
Language:
ESL/ESOL, French, Spanish, TOEFL
Art:
Adobe Photoshop
Elementary Education:
Elementary Math, Grammar, Reading, Spelling, Vocabulary
Homeschool:
English, ESL/ESOL, French, Reading, SAT Reading, Spanish, Writing
Test Preparation:
ACT English, ACT Reading, LSAT, SAT Reading, SAT Writing, TOEFL
Sports/Recreation:
Corporate Training:
ESL/ESOL, French, Grammar, Proofreading, Spanish

Adobe InDesign

I have over a decade of experience using Adobe InDesign as a graphic designer. I professionally used InDesign to create advertising materials, newsletters, books, etc. I have also spent a great deal of time helping others to become comfortable using Adobe InDesign for their own projects. I know the product well, and I can help you to know it, too.

Baseball

I used to volunteer as an assistant coach in recreational/youth baseball leagues. In those leagues, I helped kids/players with batting and fielding practice. I have experience helping with infield and outfield practice.

Basketball

I played basketball on school teams up until high school. After high school, I played in recreational leagues (both in and out of college). I know a lot of plays, and I know how to teach others to use proper form/technique.

Elementary Math

I studied math through precalculus in high school, and I took multiple math courses in college as well. I have tutored both adults and children in mathematics. Realizing that math is not easy for a lot of people, I am both comfortable and patient as a tutor.

English

I have my B.A. and my M.A. in English. I have tutored both native and non-native English speakers, and I have experience working with a range of ages (from children to adults).

ESL/ESOL

A part of my job as a Peace Corps volunteer was to teach English as a second (or even third or fourth) language. I have several years of experience teaching and tutoring others in English, and it is something that I enjoy. I have worked with children and adults.

French

I studied French in college for two years, and I lived in a French speaking country for another two years.

Martial Arts

I am a certified instructor. I also have a 2nd degree black belt in Taekwon-do, a 1st degree black belt in Hapkido and Kenpo, and several years of experience in Genwakai, Boxing and Kickboxing. I have studied various other styles along the way and was also a cardio-kickboxing instructor for several years.

Proofreading

I have a B.A. and M.A. in English, and I used to be an editor and proofreader.

Soccer

I played varsity soccer through high school, and continued to play on club teams after that. I have assisted in basic skills training and plays as well.

Spelling

I have a B.A. and M.A. in English, and I used to be an editor and proofreader.

Vocabulary

I have a strong vocabulary, which comes, in part, from my educational background in English.

Read all subject qualifications ยป

Email Alec

back to top

Education

Wright State University (English)

Wright State University (Master's)

University of Iowa (J.D.)

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $45.00

Cancellation: 4 hours notice required

Travel policy

Alec will travel within 10 miles of Miami, FL 33138.

Email Alec

Usually responds in about 3 days

Send Alec a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Alec or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

(ex: algebra, chemistry)
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive Responses From Additional Tutors

If selected, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.