Search 72,496 tutors
FIND TUTORS
Over 5 tutoring hours

Theresa C.

Fun, Young Elementary (etc.) Tutor

Jupiter, FL (33458)

Travel radius
15 miles
Hourly fee
$35.00
Email Theresa C.

You don't pay for tutoring
unless you find a good fit!

Background Check Status for Theresa C.

Theresa C. has not yet had a background check. After sending a message to Theresa, you will be able to order a background check for $7.99. The check will be processed by First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.

I have been an elementary teacher in the traditional classroom setting for six years, and have supplemented my experience with one-on-one tutoring and homeschooling children. I have taught students aged from 8 months to 80 years old in a variety of subjects.

Originally from New York, I moved down to sunny Florida almost three years ago, mostly for the weather. My younger brother is autistic, along with a string of other diagnoses, so I am comfortable helping any child/teen/adult with any needs. I have traveled to five continents over the past decade because I love learning about different cultures and experiencing new things with new people.

My teaching philosophy, in a nutshell, is to empower each student in a positive environment so they can be successful in life.

Email Theresa

Theresa’s subjects

English:
Bible Studies, English, Grammar, Literature, Proofreading, Public Speaking, Reading, Vocabulary, Writing
Computer:
General Computer, Microsoft Excel, Microsoft Outlook, Microsoft PowerPoint, Microsoft Word
History:
American History, Geography, Religion, Social Studies, World History
Art:
Art History, Drawing, Painting
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th), Elementary Math, Elementary Science, Grammar, Phonics, Reading, Study Skills, Vocabulary
Business:
Microsoft Excel, Microsoft PowerPoint, Microsoft Word, Public Speaking
Homeschool:
Elementary (K-6th), English, Reading, Study Skills, Writing
Sports/Recreation:
Corporate Training:
General Computer, Grammar, Microsoft Excel, Microsoft Word, Proofreading, Public Speaking

ADD/ADHD

I have a brother who has been diagnosed with ADD and ADHD, along with a plethora of other things. I have been in classrooms for 6 years, and there have been children in each who fit this description. I work with them by using short word phrases, refocus them continually as needed, and present them with short lessons to keep them engaged and interested.

Aspergers

I currently teach in a school where part of the student population consists of children with this diagnosis. Each child behaves differently, so we treat each child differently.

Autism

My younger brother was diagnosed with autism, so I grew up with it. I also currently teach children who fall on the spectrum. Each child needs individual and varied instructions, but they receive it so they can achieve their potential.

Bible Studies

I am a Catholic who was raised by a devout family and attended private religious schools from K-12. I know the Bible and the Catholic Catechism.

Cooking

I am able to assist with cooking. I have not had college culinary courses, but was brought up in a kitchen and can make almost anything. I love cooking and know many techniques.

Drawing

I was in advanced drawing throughout high school and again during college. I have displayed and sold some works in New York. I graduated two courses shy of an Art minor.

Dyslexia

I am currently teaching children with dyslexia. We use different strategies and techniques to help them learn and get through their daily reading and writing.

Elementary (K-6th)

I have a Master's in Elementary Education and have current certified teaching degrees from NY, MA, and FL. I have taught in schools for 6 years.

Microsoft Outlook

I used Microsoft Outlook during my job for 6 years as an Assistant Director for a Swim Program held at my college.

Painting

I was two classes away from a minor in Art at Pace University. I have taken classes for years and can provide support in every aspect of acrylic, water, and oil based painting.

Phonics

I have worked with children aged 2 and up with Phonics in a variety of workbooks and hand on activities. I learned how to read with a phonetic based program.

Public Speaking

As a teacher I am continually implementing my public speaking skills. I took a course in college, and have helped other adults with their speeches, body language, and eye contact, etc.

Religion

I received a religious education at a Catholic school from grades K-12. I also took World Religions and studied different cultures and religions in college.

Social Studies

I have taught elementary social studies for grades 1-5 in schools for a few years, as well as tutored social studies up to the college level. I love social studies and try to get each child to love it as well. I tell them it is an easy subject, because it never changes! You always build on past knowledge and learn about the history around you.

Special Needs

I grew up with a brother and two cousins who each had a differnt set of special needs. I worked at a school for 2 years for children with behavioral, emotional, and social problems. I am able to work with and look past any needs to help accommodate the student and help them work to the best of their ability.

Study Skills

I have taught study skills to middle school, high school, and college students. I earned a 3.7 GPA in college. It's all about learning each person's specific niche and working with it to achieve their goals.

Swimming

I was Assistant Director of a Swim Camp for 6 years in NY. I taught swim classes for those six years to all ages. I was on my college Swim Team.

Read all subject qualifications ยป

Email Theresa

back to top

Education

Pace University

Pace University (Master's)

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $35.00

Cancellation: 24 hours notice required

If a student signs up for multiple lessons, the discounted price is $30 an hour.

Travel policy

Theresa will travel within 15 miles of Jupiter, FL 33458.

Email Theresa

Usually responds in about 5 hours

Send Theresa a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Theresa or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

(ex: algebra, chemistry)
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive Responses From Additional Tutors

If selected, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.