Search 75,535 tutors
Over 20 tutoring hours

Elizabeth M.

Tutor with MA degree for kids, adults, and people with special needs

Washington, DC (20009)

Travel radius
10 miles
Hourly fee
Email Elizabeth M.

You don't pay for tutoring
unless you find a good fit!

Background Check Status for Elizabeth M.

Elizabeth M. has not yet had a background check. After sending a message to Elizabeth, you will be able to order a background check for $7.99. The check will be processed by First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.

My name is Elizabeth and I am from San Francisco. I work at a think tank and have my Masters degree in international affairs from American University in DC. I am confident that my academic success in college (honor's student) and graduate school (straight A's!), as well as past employment experience as an instructor and childcare provider, makes me well equipped to support students in a variety of subjects. I am energetic, fun and humorous, but I'm also responsible, committed, and strict when needed. I am a world traveler, and I very much enjoy working with people from different cultures. I am creative and rich with initiative, though as a tutor I am most interested in meeting the needs of each individual student, so I plan to be flexible and very open when communicating our mutual expectations of the sessions. I am interested in tutoring: international adults learning English; children K-12 in any subject; college students in writing, humanities, geography, politics, history (basically anything except college math and science); and students of any age with any range of learning, intellectual, developmental, or other disability.

I have a variety of experiences that I believe prepare me to be a good tutor in these areas. In college, I worked as a "conversation leader" at the English Language Institute at University of California, San Diego. My job was to facilitate small group discussions for adult English language learners. I am familiar with two foreign languages, and have spent a lot of time living outside the US and communicating with people who speak English as a second language, so I think I would be a good fit to tutor someone looking to improve their English! As a graduate student and prize-winning researcher/writer, I have excellent written and verbal communication skills. I am confident that I can be of useful support for students needing help writing papers for college, book reports, or other things of this sort.

Additionally, I was a nanny for three different families while I was in college and grad school (ages ranging from 6 months-7 years) so I am confident in my ability to work well with children. I was a committed part of the family for over five years, and I valued very much the relationship I had with the parents in regards to communicating their children's needs and achievements. I look forward to establishing a great rapport with another child/parent team as a tutor! Further, as an intern for the United Nations Association of San Diego, I taught a weekly class to fifth grade students on the origins, goals and accomplishments of the United Nations system.

I have extensive professional experience (about 7 years) working with adults with various intellectual and developmental disabilities as well as mental illness. I have worked with this population in various capacities, most recently in a supervisory role determining and training staff on appropriate instructional strategies for a community employment program. I am happy to discuss my specific experience and qualifications in this area with any interested students or family/advocates of a student with disabilities. I feel that the time I have dedicated to serving this population has given me the skills, knowledge and patience to be a good tutor to someone with any kind of special accommodations required. I can also be counted on to systematically document, evaluate and report student progress, which I know can be very useful for learners with challenges.

Email Elizabeth

Elizabeth’s subjects

Corporate Training:
ESL/ESOL, General Computer, Grammar, Microsoft Excel, Microsoft Word, Proofreading, Public Speaking
Test Preparation:
ACT English, ACT Reading, GED, SAT Reading, SAT Writing, TOEFL
Elementary (K-6th), English, ESL/ESOL, Reading, SAT Reading, Study Skills, Writing
Special Needs:
Microsoft Excel, Microsoft PowerPoint, Microsoft Word, Public Speaking
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th), Elementary Math, Grammar, Phonics, Reading, Spelling, Study Skills, Vocabulary
Anthropology, Geography, Government & Politics, Religion, Social Studies, World History
Anthropology, Geology, Sociology
General Computer, Macintosh, Microsoft Excel, Microsoft PowerPoint, Microsoft Word
ACT English, ACT Reading, Bible Studies, English, ESL/ESOL, Grammar, Literature, Proofreading, Public Speaking, Reading, SAT Reading, SAT Writing, TOEFL, Vocabulary, Writing


I worked as an instructor for adults with developmental and learning disabilities, including ADD/ADHD, for over six years. The focus of my previous teaching with this group has been in employment and personal skills development, but I am confident that I am able to use my knowledge of systematic instruction and individually-adapted teaching techniques to tutor in scholastics as well. I am very patient with non-traditional learners, and I am very organized and able to teach organizational skills to individuals with disabilities.


With a Master's degree in international affairs, I have taken several anthropology classes at the college level. At the graduate level, I focused on religion, culture and other disciplines related to anthropology. While not my specific field of study, I feel my academic experience has made me well suited to tutor most students in the subject of anthropology, particularly cultural (rather than biological) anthro.


I worked for 5+ years with many different adults on the autism spectrum, including Asperger's. Work included community integration programming and vocational and social skill-building. I also participated in the Sonoma State University Autism Training Series for parents and advocates of individuals with autism spectrum disorders. While my direct experience is exclusively with adults, I am familiar with multiple non-traditional and systematic instructional strategies for children, including "Social Stories" methods for teaching children with autism/Asperger's.


I have more than five years of direct care and instructional experience with adults on various parts of the autism spectrum. I completed a lecture series from Sonoma State University on training strategies for autistic children and adults.

Hard Of Hearing

I am able to quickly finger spell, and I have beginner skills in ASL (my signing is slow!), including modified ASL for people with disabilities. Also, I am competent and familiar with etiquette in communicating with those who are deaf or HoH.


I have been a Macintosh user for over ten years, and am familiar with detailed functions of Mac operating system, Mac office programs (Keynote, Pages, Numbers), iPad and iPhone. I also use Mac bluetooth products, wireless routers, and external hard drives, so I can offer support in the setup and use of almost any Mac product.

Public Speaking

I excelled in public speaking courses in college, and have been invited to present at many academic functions (panels, conferences, etc) in college and in graduate school. I have extensive professional and volunteer experience facilitating conversations with large groups, and making presentations to small and large audiences.


I hold a Bachelor of Arts in the Study of Religion. My focus was on Islam, but I am very familiar with other Abrahamic faiths as well as Hinduism and Buddhism. I focused on history, politics and sociology of the world religions rather than an explicitly theology-based approach. My Master's degree concentration is Islamic Political Movements.

Special Needs

Extensive professional and volunteer experience with adults with all kinds of special needs. I worked for 3 years as a supervisor in a residential facility for six adults with special needs; I worked for 2 years as Lead Instructor in a community-based vocational day program for adults with special needs; I worked for 1.5 years as Project Coordinator for a non-profit serving over 2,000 adults with special needs. I also have close personal relationships with people with disabilities, and I often choose to dedicate my time to volunteer at events that supporting the inclusion of people with disabilities (such as Special Olympics, Buddy Walk, etc.) in their communities.

Experience includes, but is not limited to: autism spectrum disorders, Down's Syndrome, epilepsy, ADD/ADHD, mental retardation, bipolar disorder, blindness, deafness, insulin-dependent diabetes, Prader-Willi Syndrome, explosive behavior disorder, and unspecified learning disabilities.

More specific information available upon request.

Study Skills

I completed my bachelors degree with honors as well as my Masters degree with straight A's- obviously I am competent in study skills! In teaching study skills, my focus would be on organization and prioritization of the work to be done, as well as strategies to focus and avoid procrastination.

Read all subject qualifications ยป

Email Elizabeth

back to top


University of California, San Diego

American University (Master's)

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $45.00

Cancellation: 2 hours notice required

Special pricing for multiple hour lessons.

Travel policy

Elizabeth will travel within 10 miles of Washington, DC 20009.

Email Elizabeth

Usually responds in about 2 days

Send Elizabeth a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Elizabeth or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

(ex: algebra, chemistry)
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive Responses From Additional Tutors

If selected, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.