Search 75,707 tutors
FIND TUTORS
Over 20 tutoring hours

Alexi M.

Test Prep Specialist

Washington, DC (20016)

Travel radius
5 miles
Hourly fee
$35.00
Email Alexi M.

You don't pay for tutoring
unless you find a good fit!

Background Check Status for Alexi M.

Alexi M. passed a background check on 4/7/14. The check was ordered by Alexi through First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

After sending a message to Alexi, you will be able to order a new background check for $7.99. As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.

I am an education professional. My teaching experience includes three years at a college writing center, two years at a Japanese high school, and one year as an independent tutor. I have also worked as a professional writer and copy editor. Currently I am attending graduate school at the School of International Service at American University for International Economic Relations.

Although I am academically strong in a number of subjects, I specialize in test preparation. I am familiar with the new version of the GRE and strategies for taking it; when I took the GRE, I received 165 out of 170 on the GRE quantitative reasoning and 170 of 170 on GRE verbal reasoning. I have also received my CELTA from Teaching House in New York and taught English abroad, so I am familiar with many issues common in the writing of non-native speakers of English.

I prefer to tutor here on campus, but I am willing to go to an area Starbucks or library if that is more convenient. If you want to take a lesson with me, please let me know if there is a certain kind of thing you want to practice so that I can bring materials to study with. Alternatively, if you have practice tests or homework that you would like to bring, we can do that as well. I am first and foremost concerned with using our time together effectively, so preparation is good!

Email Alexi

Alexi’s subjects

Corporate Training:
Economics, ESL/ESOL, Grammar, Japanese, Microsoft Word, Proofreading
Test Preparation:
ACT English, ACT Math, ACT Reading, ACT Science, ASVAB, GED, GRE, SAT Math, SAT Reading, SAT Writing, TOEFL
Homeschool:
Algebra 1, Algebra 2, Chemistry, Economics, English, ESL/ESOL, Geometry, Japanese, Prealgebra, Precalculus, Reading, SAT Math, SAT Reading, Writing
Business:
Economics, GRE, Microsoft PowerPoint, Microsoft Word
Elementary Education:
Grammar, Reading, Vocabulary
History:
Government & Politics
Language:
ESL/ESOL, Japanese, TOEFL
Science:
ACT Science, Chemistry, Philosophy, Physical Science
Computer:
Microsoft PowerPoint, Microsoft Word
Math:
ACT Math, Algebra 1, Algebra 2, Geometry, Logic, Prealgebra, Precalculus, SAT Math
English:
ACT English, ACT Reading, English, ESL/ESOL, Grammar, Literature, Proofreading, Reading, SAT Reading, SAT Writing, TOEFL, Vocabulary, Writing

Algebra 1

I majored in mathematics in undergraduate, and I have done mathematics up to Differential Equations- far above this level. In addition, I also have experience tutoring students between middle school and college in this subject. I am willing to find the best way to teach each student, even if math isn't their favorite subject.

Algebra 2

I majored in mathematics in undergraduate, and I have done mathematics up to Differential Equations- far above this level. In addition, I also have experience tutoring students between middle school and college in this subject. I am willing to find the best way to teach each student, even if math isn't their favorite subject.

ASVAB

When I took the ASVAB in high school, I scored in the 99th percentile, which is as well as it is possible to do on this test. In addition, since I have taken the test, I have studied and improved on all of the subjects contained in it, and I have helped students prepare for it. In addition, I understand how the military uses this test and they way they determine MOS qualifications, so if a student knows what MOS they are interested in, I can help them study for the particular parts of the test on which they need to do well.

Economics

I majored in Economics as an undergraduate. I have been a TA for several economics classes including Intro Macro and Microeconomics, Intermediate Macroeconomics, and Statistics. I am also familiar with software often used for economic analysis, such as STATA and R, and I am currently working on my masters at American University in DC in International Economic Relations.

ESL/ESOL

I worked with ESL students extensively during my time as a writing consultant for the Berea College Learning Center. In addition, I have also received my CELTA from Teaching House, which is the standard certification for teaching English to non-native speakers. To receive my certification, I was required to create lesson plans to suit the particular needs of my students and teach classes under the observation of a professional teacher trainer. I have both a reliable grasp of the English language and an understanding of the particular challenges involved in learning it.

GRE

I scored a 170 on the Verbal Section and a 165 on the Quantitative Section, as well as a 5.5/6 on the Writing. I also have experience helping others to learn the critical thinking skills used on the GRE.

Logic

I have taken philosophy courses in both logic and philosophy of mathematics. In addition, I have honed my logic skills through constant application in a number of pure mathematics courses, including analysis, modern algebra, and number theory. I have also helped others learn these subjects.

Writing

I've been tutoring writing for several years; as an undergraduate, I joined the college writing center as a consultant. After two years of working with students on their papers and assisting with composition classes, I was promoted to consultant manager, where I not only tutored students, but also trained new tutors in best practices for teaching writing.

Read all subject qualifications »

Email Alexi

back to top

Education

Berea College

Extremly helpful! I have no background in economics what so ever and Alexi helped me out with my health economics class. She responded to my email at such short notice and was willing to come all the way to my campus to meet me! She also went out of her way to go through my lecture notes/PowerPoint slides in advance to save time during out session. She did a great job in simplifying the concepts and providing exa ...

— Deema from Arlington, VA on 2/19/14);

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $35.00

Cancellation: 24 hours notice required

Travel policy

Alexi will travel within 5 miles of Washington, DC 20016.

Email Alexi

Send Alexi a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Alexi or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

(ex: algebra, chemistry)
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive Responses From Additional Tutors

If selected, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.