Search 72,560 tutors
FIND TUTORS
Over 50 tutoring hours

Charlie R.

Walsenburg, CO

$35/hr

Where learning is fun!

Usually responds in about 7 hours

Where learning is fun!

Message Charlie

Send Charlie a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Charlie or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive responses from additional tutors

If you select this option, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.

My background has been in the business world for most of my career, working for two Fortune 500 companies in sales and marketing positions. As a manager and supervisor I have trained, motivated and coached hundreds of individuals to maximize their effectiveness and potential in the marketplace. I have a keen sense of humor and a quick wit and know how to assist people with learning the fundamentals, while enjoying the learning process itself.

I am well-rounded, have traveled world-wide, and can communicate with most people on a number of different levels of understanding. I have a passion for mentoring those individuals who aspire to be the best that they can be.

My style is casual and informal. I am comfortable working with all age groups. I do think young but have years of experience and wisdom to draw upon. I insist on getting results. We will set a goal and strive to attain it as soon as possible in order to minimize the expense, and to get you where you desire to be, in the shortest amount of time required.

My personal credentials are available on request.

My hours are flexible and I work both weekdays and weekends by appointment only.

Face-to-face meetings in a public place such as a public library are preferred, however in some instances we may use other resources such as the internet to communicate with one another. In-home meetings can also be arranged.

I do look forward to helping you reach your immediate goals.

Thank you for your interest and consideration.

Testimonials

"Excellent tutor"

- Shawn, Anaheim, CA on 2/27/12
English:
Bible Studies,
English,
Public Speaking,
Reading, Vocabulary,
Writing
Science:
Psychology,
Sociology
Computer:
Networking (Computer)
Language:
Speech
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th),
Reading, Study Skills, Vocabulary
Homeschool:
Elementary (K-6th),
English,
Reading, Study Skills, Writing
Test Preparation:
Career Development
Corporate Training:
Business,
Career Development,
Networking (Computer), Public Speaking

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.

Bible Studies

I took the Old Testament course in college.

I have read the Bible from cover to cover 5 times in my lifetime.

I started studying the Bible at an early age and attended weekly study groups while in grade school. Also, as an adult, I attended and participated in bible study groups at my church.

Business

I earned an undergraduate degree in liberal arts, with a major in Psychology, and a minor degree in Business Administration.
I worked for two Fortune 500 companies: Johnson & Johnson and Polaroid Corporation.
I held sales, and management positions with both companies. I am experienced in all facets of business including: marketing, sales, advertising and promotion, budgeting, merchandising, forecasting, and business development.

Career Development

While in the U.S. Army I was the Battalion Personnel NCO responsible for all of the incoming and outgoing work assignments of the enlisted men and women. I counseled with them to assist them with meeting their career goals. These were career soldiers.

My first job, out of the army, was as an executive job placement counselor. There, I made job placements for professionals with hundreds of employers. This is where I learned the fundamentals of career development. Following that I joined Johnson & Johnson as a regional trainer. I trained all new sales reps and developed a career path for them to follow for their first few years with the company.

I have spent my entire career working for several Fortune 500 companies in middle management. In that capacity I have had the responsibility for helping hundreds of individuals map out their career paths and achieve much success with their employment careers.

Elementary (K-6th)

My extensive background experience in working with children has taught me how to work with and interact with children ages two through adolescence. This was acquired in volunteer programs in public libraries along with several years of work experience working at a children's hospital as a staff member.
I know how to make learning fun without making it seem like work.
Learning is acquiring knowledge which is carried forward into adulthood and can give one a sense of self-worth and confidence that can last a lifetime.

English

I have a command of the English language which includes a vocabulary exceeding 50,000 words. I can spell, punctuate, and express myself using my skills at any level of age and/or experience.
My teaching style is casual, and I make learning fun!
I can not only teach you words, their meaning, but sentence structure, proper pronounciation, writing, composing, and speech patterns as well, if needed.
That's the long-winded way of saying "I can do it all."

Psychology

I have a Bachelor of Arts degree in Psychology from Northeastern State University. I took every course offered in the field of psychological studies (42 hrs. of course work). I graduated with honors from college having an overall 3.2 GPA.
I worked in a mental health center while on active duty in the U.S.Army.

Public Speaking

While in college, I took a course in Public Speaking. That is where I developed my skills as a public speaker. We learned the basics, and then practiced in front of the class. I, also, learned about the art of speaking in public through a training program I attended at the world's largest advertising agency.

In the business world, I have given boardroom presentations to top-level executives at the following companies: Wal-Mart, Rite-Aid, Albertson's, Target Stores, and many others.

I have written and given speeches on behalf of fundraising events, and at award banquet ceremonies.

Sociology

I have 42 hours of course work at an accredited university in Sociology.
I have taken every college level course offered in sociological studies.
I received straight A's in every one of the Sociology courses taken, and earned an overall GPA of 3.2.

Vocabulary

I have a 50,000 word vocabulary mainly from reading thousands of books over the years. I currently have a personal library consisting of over 8,000 volumes.

Reading is my middle name, and a dictionary is my best friend.

Northeastern State University, Tahlequah Campus
Psychology

Education

Northeastern State University, Tahlequah Campus (Psychology )

Excellent tutor — Great job of tutoring. He helped with the concept of ethics and profits in the amusement park. You should really contact this guy. He will make you succeed in your class. ...

— Shawn, Anaheim, CA on 2/27/12

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $35.00

Cancellation: 24 hours notice required

Hourly rate will be $30.00 if the student needs 3+ hours of tutoring.

Travel policy

Charlie will travel within 40 miles of Walsenburg, CO 81089.


About Charlie

My background has been in the business world for most of my career, working for two Fortune 500 companies in sales and marketing positions. As a manager and supervisor I have trained, motivated and coached hundreds of individuals to maximize their effectiveness and potential in the marketplace. I have a keen sense of humor and a quick wit and know how to assist people with learning the fundamentals, while enjoying the learning process itself.

I am well-rounded, have traveled world-wide, and can communicate with most people on a number of different levels of understanding. I have a passion for mentoring those individuals who aspire to be the best that they can be.

My style is casual and informal. I am comfortable working with all age groups. I do think young but have years of experience and wisdom to draw upon. I insist on getting results. We will set a goal and strive to attain it as soon as possible in order to minimize the expense, and to get you where you desire to be, in the shortest amount of time required.

My personal credentials are available on request.

My hours are flexible and I work both weekdays and weekends by appointment only.

Face-to-face meetings in a public place such as a public library are preferred, however in some instances we may use other resources such as the internet to communicate with one another. In-home meetings can also be arranged.

I do look forward to helping you reach your immediate goals.

Thank you for your interest and consideration.

Testimonials

"Excellent tutor"

- Shawn, Anaheim, CA on 2/27/12
}

Education

Northeastern State University, Tahlequah Campus
Psychology

Education

Northeastern State University, Tahlequah Campus (Psychology )


Tutor Policies

Cancellation
24 hours notice required

Hourly rate will be $30.00 if the student needs 3+ hours of tutoring.

Travel Radius
Travels within 40 miles of Walsenburg, CO 81089

Charlie’s Subjects

English:
Bible Studies,
English,
Public Speaking,
Reading, Vocabulary,
Writing
Science:
Psychology,
Sociology
Computer:
Networking (Computer)
Language:
Speech
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th),
Reading, Study Skills, Vocabulary
Homeschool:
Elementary (K-6th),
English,
Reading, Study Skills, Writing
Test Preparation:
Career Development
Corporate Training:
Business,
Career Development,
Networking (Computer), Public Speaking

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.


Background Check Status for Charlie R.

Charlie R. has not yet had a background check. After sending a message to Charlie, you will be able to order a background check for $7.99. The check will be processed by First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.