Search 72,160 tutors
FIND TUTORS
Over 100 tutoring hours

Heidi Q.

English, Writing, French Tutor

Loveland, CO (80538)

Travel radius
15 miles
Hourly fee
$25.00
Email Heidi Q.

You don't pay for tutoring
unless you find a good fit!

Background Check Status for Heidi Q.

Heidi Q. has not yet had a background check. After sending a message to Heidi, you will be able to order a background check for $7.99. The check will be processed by First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.

I have been teaching college-level English and composition for the last two years. I have also taught adult continuing education courses in Creative Writing and French.

I graduated in May 2009 with an MFA in Children's Literature, creative writing from Hollins University. I also have a Bachelor's in English from Brigham Young University where I earned a 3.5 GPA.

I have long had a solid understanding of English grammar; friends have requested my help with their papers since I was in high school.

I also have studied French from high school through the university level, and I lived in France for a year and a half as a missionary in 1995 and 1996.

I've taken my skills onto the next level by teaching in a few settings. In addition to the above mentioned teaching experiences, I taught preschool and at the adjoined before/after school program, French to young missionaries, English to French speaking children and adults, and I have subbed in a K-12 school district. I have also volunteered as a tutor for Alexandria school students, helping with French, English, and elementary math.

I have also taught English as a Second Language to a group of Korean students for one summer.

I have been tutoring for WyZant since summer of 2009, and I have assisted adults and children, including French, ESL, middle school writing, and elementary math and reading.

Email Heidi

Heidi’s subjects

Math:
Prealgebra
English:
Bible Studies, English, ESL/ESOL, Grammar, Literature, Proofreading, Reading, Vocabulary, Writing
Computer:
Microsoft Excel, Microsoft Word
Language:
ESL/ESOL, French
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th), Elementary Math, Grammar, Reading, Spelling, Vocabulary
Business:
Microsoft Excel, Microsoft Word
Homeschool:
Elementary (K-6th), English, ESL/ESOL, French, Prealgebra, Reading, Writing
Corporate Training:
ESL/ESOL, French, Grammar, Microsoft Excel, Microsoft Word, Proofreading

Bible Studies

I have taught Sunday School, Women's religious class, and children from the scriptures over several years. I have also studied the scriptures extensively through coursework in high school and college.

French

I have taught French to people of all ages, including children at a Montessori preschool, young college-aged students, and to adults in a workforce development class whose ages ranged from college-aged to retired. I have also provided one-on-one French tutoring. I enjoy teaching French and have found my students love my help. I lived in France from 1995-96, so this was a while ago, but I have performed very well in high school and college classes, getting mostly As.

Grammar

Grammar is one of my strongest skills. I have been developing it since high school, many years ago, when my teacher and friends first noted my particular talent in this area. Now I'm teaching college-level English, including grammar lessons in almost every class period and finding improvement in many if not all of my students.

Literature

I have a BA in English, and in my studies I took several literature courses ranging from Old English to Contemporary, from poetry to short stories to novels. Later I earned an MFA in Children's Literature. I love literature of many genres and understand the different literary criticisms that are most commonly used in colleges and journals today.

Read all subject qualifications ยป

Email Heidi

back to top

Education

Brigham Young University (English)

Hollins University (Master's)

Great tutor. — We really enjoyed our time with Heidi. I wish we would have found her sooner and had more time with her. Maybe I can talk her into coming to Europe with us!!!! Thanks so much Heidi! ...

— Amy, Longmont, CO on 8/5/13

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $25.00

Cancellation: 24 hours notice required

For lessons on a particular subject, where I would perform an hour or more of work prior to our meeting, my rate is $35. But for help on homework, I can adjust my rate to $20.

Travel policy

Heidi will travel within 15 miles of Loveland, CO 80538.

Email Heidi

Usually responds in about 5 hours

Send Heidi a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Heidi or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

(ex: algebra, chemistry)
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive Responses From Additional Tutors

If selected, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.