Search 75,775 tutors
Over 20 tutoring hours

Sherwood W.

Experienced, effective, multi-subject tutor

Louisville, CO (80027)

Travel radius
11 miles
Hourly fee
Email Sherwood W.

You don't pay for tutoring
unless you find a good fit!

Background Check Status for Sherwood W.

Sherwood W. has not yet had a background check. After sending a message to Sherwood, you will be able to order a background check for $7.99. The check will be processed by First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.

Hello! I am a professional educator (Ph.D.-U of Colorado) with 10 years of elementary through high school teaching and tutoring experience and also worked for 15 years in the education field as an instructional designer. I specialize in mathematics, critical thinking tutoring, but I have also done reading/writing, science, and social science, tutoring. I specialize in helping students understand and maximize their individual learning styles and also helping students branch out and use a variety of techniques to absorb and understand various content areas. I look forward to working with you and seeing your enjoyment of learning grow with your achievements.

Best regards,

Sherwood (Woody)

Email Sherwood

Sherwood’s subjects

Corporate Training:
General Computer, Grammar, Microsoft Excel, Microsoft Word, Statistics
Tennis, Volleyball
Test Preparation:
ACT Math, ASVAB, GED, SAT Math, SAT Reading, SAT Writing
Algebra 1, Algebra 2, Chemistry, Elementary (K-6th), English, Geometry, Prealgebra, Precalculus, Reading, SAT Math, SAT Reading, Statistics, Study Skills, Writing
Special Needs:
Microsoft Excel, Microsoft Word
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th), Elementary Math, Elementary Science, Grammar, Phonics, Reading, Study Skills, Vocabulary
American History, Anthropology, Geography, Government & Politics, Social Studies, World History
Anthropology, Chemistry
General Computer, Microsoft Excel, Microsoft Word
ACT Math, Algebra 1, Algebra 2, Geometry, Logic, Prealgebra, Precalculus, Probability, SAT Math, Statistics, Trigonometry
English, Grammar, Reading, SAT Reading, SAT Writing, Vocabulary, Writing

Algebra 1

I taught algebra 1 in both middle school and high school for five years. I also tutored algebra as a college student and worked as a student assistant in a college algebra for high school students program associated with the University of Illinois. I've had numerous students, who initially said that they had math anxiety, tell me they feel confident in tackling algebra after working with me. I look forward to helping you master algebra and feel confident using it.

Elementary (K-6th)

I have a master's degree in elementary education from the University of Chicago, with an emphasis in math education. My student teaching was in a 4th grade classroom and I taught 5th grade for a year in Chicago, before moving to Colorado. I have mostly taught middle school and high school in Colorado. During my undergraduate career, I tutored several elementary students.


I have taught both introductory and advanced geometry as a high school teacher and also tutored many students in this area. Geometry is a graphical extension of Algebraic reasoning and I stress the link between Algebra and Geometry which helps students connect their prior knowledge to the new material. I have had great success with students who initially felt some math anxiety and helped them to feel more comfortable with math concepts.


Pre-algebra builds on the basic operations in arithmetic and provides the bridge between the more concrete computational skills in elementary math and the more conceptual and abstract operations involved with using variables and combining several computations to get an answer. I can help students make this transition by making sure that getting the answer includes a thorough understanding of the concepts involved so that students can solve similar problems without help.

Social Studies

I have a BA in sociology from the University of Chicago, and I have worked as a social science researcher for two years after college. I taught US history as a student teacher in Denver, and I taught 8th grade social studies in the Aurora public school district. I have a broad background in anthropology, sociology, and American history.

Read all subject qualifications »

Email Sherwood

back to top


U of Chicago

U of Chicago (Master's)

U of Colorado, Denver (PhD)

Great Very patient with my son, meets the student where they are now and takes them step by step through the work. Very good. ...

— Scott from Broomfield, CO on 9/30/13);

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $40.00

Cancellation: 12 hours notice required

Special $40 for the initial tutoring session. Future individual sessions are $50/hr. Discounts for 3 or more sessions available.

Travel policy

Sherwood will travel within 11 miles of Louisville, CO 80027.

Email Sherwood

Usually responds in about 2 days

Send Sherwood a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Sherwood or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

(ex: algebra, chemistry)
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive Responses From Additional Tutors

If selected, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.