Search 72,610 tutors
FIND TUTORS

Cheryl S.

Greeley, CO

$45/hr

Primary and Secondary Tutor

Usually responds in about 2 days

Primary and Secondary Tutor

Message Cheryl

Send Cheryl a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Cheryl or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive responses from additional tutors

If you select this option, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.

I am a classroom teacher of 16 years. My passion for education is shown in every aspect of my life. Life provides multiple opportunities for learning experiences throughout the day. During my 16 years I have taught English Language Learners, Special Education, Profoundly handicapped, and hearing impaired students.

My educational background is in secondary education with a certification in Family and Consumer Science. Family and Consumer Science has provided me a unique ability to meet the diverse needs of students. I am easy going yet provide effective lessons that keep students on the right track.

English:
ACT English, English, Grammar, Literature, Public Speaking,
Reading, Vocabulary
Computer:
Microsoft Windows, Microsoft Word
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th),
Elementary Math, Grammar, Phonics, Reading, Spelling, Study Skills,
Vocabulary
Special Needs:
Hard Of Hearing,
Phonics, Special Needs
Business:
Career Development,
Microsoft Word, Public Speaking
Homeschool:
Elementary (K-6th),
English, Reading, Study Skills
Test Preparation:
ACT English, Career Development,
GED
Sports/Recreation:
Fitness, Needlework,
Sewing,
Swimming
Corporate Training:
Career Development,
Grammar, Microsoft Word, Public Speaking

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.

Career Development

During my years of teaching, I have taught work place readiness or career exploration for five years to secondary students.

Elementary (K-6th)

I am a classroom educator of 17 years with experience teaching elementary ELL summer school as well as substitute teaching at elementary grade levels. I am currently working on my dissertation in Educational Leadership. I have experience in instructional strategies and the implementation of the common core state standards.

Hard Of Hearing

I have completed Sign Language I and II through Doane College in Crete Nebraska. These classes were not part of a graduate program, and I can provide verification of this course work.

Needlework

I have years of experience teaching sewing classes as a part of the Family and Consumer Science Curriculum. I also conducted an after school craft class where we did needle work. I also know how to knit and crochet.

Public Speaking

I currently do contract work for the training of school districts in regard to the Common Core State Standards. I am also a certified facilitator for the 7 Habits of Highly Effective Teens, and a trainer for the Time to Teach Classroom Management strategies. All of the three previously mentioned experiences required public speaking. To both small and large groups. The largest group I have presented to consisted of 150 school teachers and administrators.

Sewing

In my experience as a Family and Consumer Science teacher, I have taught years of sewing classes. I was also involved in 4-H sewing as a child.

Study Skills

I have taught study skills for three years and have taken classes on study and research skills. I am currently pursuing my Doctorate in Educational Organization and use research skills almost daily.

Swimming

I was on my high school swim team and then life guarded throughout high school and college. After college graduation, I managed the public pool in my home town. Part of this management included overseeing the swim lessons. I have had certification in Water Safety Instruction (WSI), Lifeguard Training, and CPR/First Aid.

University of Nebraska Lincoln
Secondary Education
Wayne State College
Master's
Grand Canyon University - online
Enrolled

Education

University of Nebraska Lincoln (Secondary Education)

Wayne State College (Master's)

Grand Canyon University - online (Enrolled)

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $45.00

Cancellation: 2 hours notice required

Travel policy

Cheryl will travel within 20 miles of Greeley, CO 80634.


About Cheryl

I am a classroom teacher of 16 years. My passion for education is shown in every aspect of my life. Life provides multiple opportunities for learning experiences throughout the day. During my 16 years I have taught English Language Learners, Special Education, Profoundly handicapped, and hearing impaired students.

My educational background is in secondary education with a certification in Family and Consumer Science. Family and Consumer Science has provided me a unique ability to meet the diverse needs of students. I am easy going yet provide effective lessons that keep students on the right track.


Education

University of Nebraska Lincoln
Secondary Education
Wayne State College
Master's
Grand Canyon University - online
Enrolled

Education

University of Nebraska Lincoln (Secondary Education)

Wayne State College (Master's)

Grand Canyon University - online (Enrolled)


Tutor Policies

Cancellation
2 hours notice required
Travel Radius
Travels within 20 miles of Greeley, CO 80634

Cheryl’s Subjects

English:
ACT English, English, Grammar, Literature, Public Speaking,
Reading, Vocabulary
Computer:
Microsoft Windows, Microsoft Word
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th),
Elementary Math, Grammar, Phonics, Reading, Spelling, Study Skills,
Vocabulary
Special Needs:
Hard Of Hearing,
Phonics, Special Needs
Business:
Career Development,
Microsoft Word, Public Speaking
Homeschool:
Elementary (K-6th),
English, Reading, Study Skills
Test Preparation:
ACT English, Career Development,
GED
Sports/Recreation:
Fitness, Needlework,
Sewing,
Swimming
Corporate Training:
Career Development,
Grammar, Microsoft Word, Public Speaking

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.


Background Check Status for Cheryl S.

Cheryl S. has not yet had a background check. After sending a message to Cheryl, you will be able to order a background check for $7.99. The check will be processed by First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.