Search 73,889 tutors
FIND TUTORS

Jesse K.

Econ/Writing/Business - Collaborator & Relator

Denver, CO (80224)

Travel radius
15 miles
Hourly fee
$29.00
Email Jesse K.

You don't pay for tutoring
unless you find a good fit!

Background Check Status for Jesse K.

Jesse K. passed a background check on 2/4/14. The check was ordered by Jesse through First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

After sending a message to Jesse, you will be able to order a new background check for $7.99. As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.

I am currently pursuing my MBA at the University of Colorado at Denver, after receiving my bachelor's of science in economics from Regis University. I spent almost a year and a half working at an Energy company in both the regulatory and risk operations departments--first as an intern, then working my way up to an analyst. I have trained three employees, all in different circumstances which produced different outcomes, and each experience taught me a great deal on what goes into teaching someone. I would like to eventually move into academia or consulting, where I can really give my ideas room to run. I am passionate about behavioral economics, game theory, and psychology; specifically I am interested in deconstructing the human decision-making process and tracking its outcomes in different situations. I feel like tutoring is a sensible entry point into the academic world.

I have strong belief and confidence in my ability to collaborate with others to solve problems, and finding new and creative ways of overcoming challenges that can be difficult to think of on one's own. I work toward blending techniques and habits that promote efficiency with the hard work that there is no substitute for. In addition to my experience mentioned above, I studied creative writing at the Denver School of the Arts, and am a writer at heart. I come from a family of journalists, and have completed a novel. I believe that it's not just what you know, it's how you communicate what you know!

Email Jesse

Jesse’s subjects

Math:
Algebra 1, Prealgebra
English:
ACT English, ACT Reading, English, Grammar, Literature, Proofreading, Public Speaking, Reading, SAT Reading, SAT Writing, Vocabulary, Writing
Science:
Psychology, Sociology
Computer:
Microsoft Excel, Microsoft Word
Language:
Speech
History:
American History, Criminal Justice, European History, Geography, Government & Politics
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th), Elementary Math, Elementary Science, Grammar, Reading, Study Skills, Vocabulary
Special Needs:
ADD/ADHD
Business:
Accounting, Business, Career Development, Economics, GMAT, Law, Marketing, Microsoft Excel, Microsoft Word, Public Speaking
Homeschool:
Accounting, Algebra 1, Economics, Elementary (K-6th), English, Prealgebra, Reading, SAT Reading, Study Skills, Writing
Test Preparation:
ACT English, ACT Reading, Career Development, College Counseling, GED, GMAT, SAT Reading, SAT Writing
Sports/Recreation:
Baseball, Basketball, Chess, Football, Softball
Corporate Training:
Accounting, Business, Career Development, College Counseling, Criminal Justice, Economics, GMAT, Grammar, Law, Microsoft Excel, Microsoft Word, Proofreading, Public Speaking

Business

I am currently pursuing my Master's in Business Administration at CU Denver, and minored in Business Administration in college at Regis University. In addition, I am an active stock market investor, so I continue to follow both the U.S. and global markets very closely, directing my focus on individual business's performances. I am comfortable analyzing financial statements (Income Statement, Balance Sheet, Cash Flows, etc.), and also have done extensive study on Management and Leadership.

Career Development

I have work experience in corporate, service, and small business environments, starting my first job at the age of 14. I received a promotion within the last six months, after less than a year at a Fortune 500 company. I have had the opportunity to learn from several executives and hear about their career paths. I have started my own business, and experienced first-hand the reasons to avoid multi-level marketing organizational structures. I worked with the director of my university's career services center on my resume and have spent years perfecting mine. I know how to structure an effective cover letter, and I have a strong understanding of standardized interview questions applicants are likely to face, and how to respond to them. I have contributed to the process hiring of two employees in the last year, reviewing resumes and interviewing candidates before evaluating who would fit best and why. My initial assessment of each of them has so far proven accurate.

Chess

I have been playing chess since I was very young. My dad taught me, and though it took many years to beat him, when I was 11, I finally did! I attended a chess camp when I was 13 and placed in the top ten--absorbing losses to two serious prodigies. I have played timed and untimed games, the Bughouse version of chess, and can execute a 4-move checkmate.

Economics

I received my Bachelor's in Economics from Regis University, and still have great interest in the subject, possibly looking to pursue Econ at the graduate level after I complete my MBA. I am specifically interested in Behavioral Economics, and applying the structure of Game Theory to B.E. problems.
I have already tutored one student through WyzAnt in Econ and it went very well.

Softball

I have played softball for the last four summers, usually as my team's lead-off hitter/table-setter and outfielder. I was the bat boy for my dad's softball team growing up, and have watched baseball all my life. I have a strong knowledge base on the rules and other aspects of the game in general, as well as elements specific to softball. Example: Challenge the opposing outfielders to make the perfect throw to the base you are advancing to. More often than not, you will arrive safely.

Read all subject qualifications ยป

Email Jesse

back to top

Education

Regis University (Economics)

University of CO Denver (Enrolled)

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $29.00

Cancellation: 2 hours notice required

Travel policy

Jesse will travel within 15 miles of Denver, CO 80224.

Email Jesse

Usually responds in about 54 minutes

Send Jesse a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Jesse or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

(ex: algebra, chemistry)
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive Responses From Additional Tutors

If selected, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.