Search 73,684 tutors
FIND TUTORS
Over 5 tutoring hours

Sara T.

Experience teaching ESL for 4 years and reading for 8 months

Denver, CO (80206)

Travel radius
10 miles
Hourly fee
$35.00
Email Sara T.

You don't pay for tutoring
unless you find a good fit!

Background Check Status for Sara T.

Sara T. has not yet had a background check. After sending a message to Sara, you will be able to order a background check for $7.99. The check will be processed by First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.

I have been working in education for the past 8 years. My experience largely lies in teaching English as a foreign language, however, I am taking the necessary steps to become Colorado state certified in elementary education. I am currently tutoring at an elementary school in Denver to a 3rd grade student who reads at a second grade level. I have two years experience working with elementary aged children and I have two years experience teaching 8th grade students. I have taught kids as young as kindergarten and I have had students learning English in their seventies. I like to assess my students first to see what they already know. After getting to know my students, I alter my teaching methodologies to fit their needs best. I have a lot of worldly experience living on 4 continents over 10 years during my twenties and I can bring an element of the world or of the United States to my students. I recently received a 98% in a children's literature college level course. I will be a Denver Teacher Resident beginning in June 2014. I take great pride in teaching and I really enjoy working with students. It would be my pleasure to help any student succeed and help them develop skills to be successful on their own.

Email Sara

Sara’s subjects

English:
English, ESL/ESOL, Grammar, Reading, TOEFL, Vocabulary
Language:
ESL/ESOL, TOEFL
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th), Grammar, Phonics, Reading, Spelling, Study Skills, Vocabulary
Special Needs:
Phonics
Homeschool:
Elementary (K-6th), English, ESL/ESOL, Reading, Study Skills
Test Preparation:
TOEFL
Corporate Training:
ESL/ESOL, Grammar

Elementary (K-6th)

I taught elementary school for 2 years in Japan (English). I also am currently tutoring reading to a third grade student. I passed the examination which is required to become an elementary school teacher (PRAXIS II). I took a Children's Literature class which focused on elementary reading skills.

Study Skills

I taught a one credit course at a university that was required for all first-year students to complete. The course covered many things but had a strong emphasis on study skills for new students. The students learned about test-taking skills and time management. As an ESL teacher for two years, I also provided weeklong seminars at a school on test-taking skills and study skills for students. The target students were in eighth grade, but it was also presented to 11th grade students who were interested.

Read all subject qualifications ยป

Email Sara

back to top

Education

SUNY Plattsburgh (Marketing)

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $35.00

Cancellation: 12 hours notice required

Travel policy

Sara will travel within 10 miles of Denver, CO 80206.

Email Sara

Usually responds in about 2 days

Send Sara a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Sara or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

(ex: algebra, chemistry)
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive Responses From Additional Tutors

If selected, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.