Search 72,655 tutors
Over 10 tutoring hours


CJ P., MA, BS, BA. School Counselor, all subjects, and fun

Denver, CO (80203)

Travel radius
8 miles
Hourly fee
Email CJ P.

You don't pay for tutoring
unless you find a good fit!

Background Check Status for CJ P.

CJ P. passed a background check on 9/11/13. The check was ordered by another user through First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

After sending a message to CJ, you will be able to order a new background check for $7.99. As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.

Hi parents and students,

My name is CJ. I'm 26 years old, have a couple undergraduate degrees and a master's degree in disaster/trauma psychology from the University of Denver. I've tutored throughout all my years in college. I spent a year teaching preschool after undergrad and have since worked as a school counselor/educator in an alternative middle-high school (similar to a charter, for students who struggled or were removed from their original placements in public schools). While my degrees are in the liberal arts (major strengths in English and psychology), my hobbies are in the hard sciences. My father was an actuary (mathematician), and I have tutored math, science, physics, etc. for all the years I've been in school (though I aspire to be a psychologist with the WHO/UN). I feel comfortable with nearly every subject and standardized test, and I have experience working with both younger and older students. I'm also an outdoor/active type and will sometimes look for alternative ways to process new information and understand difficult material, so playing basketball to demonstrate physics, going to the park to realize geometry, or using the stars to orient (and other such things) will always be options. I've traveled extensively for my age and have lived/traveled in multiple exotic countries for extended periods of time (China, Brazil, Thailand, Egypt, India, Japan, Central America, Europe, etc.). I also speak Spanish and Portuguese. I mention these items in case your children might enjoy a cultural discussion on a specific location or an orientation to something different.

I hope you might entertain sending me an email so that we might discuss the potential for tutoring either for the short-term or a more permanent relationship. Cheers.


Email CJ

CJ’s subjects

ACT Math, Algebra 1, Geometry, Logic, Prealgebra, SAT Math, Statistics
ACT English, ACT Reading, English, ESL/ESOL, Grammar, Proofreading, Public Speaking, Reading, SAT Reading, SAT Writing, Vocabulary, Writing
ACT Science, Philosophy, Psychology
ESL/ESOL, Spanish
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th), Elementary Math, Elementary Science, Grammar, Phonics, Reading, Spelling, Study Skills, Vocabulary
Special Needs:
ADD/ADHD, Phonics
GRE, Public Speaking
Algebra 1, Elementary (K-6th), English, ESL/ESOL, Geometry, Prealgebra, Reading, SAT Math, SAT Reading, Spanish, Statistics, Study Skills, Writing
Test Preparation:
ACT English, ACT Math, ACT Reading, ACT Science, ASVAB, GED, GRE, SAT Math, SAT Reading, SAT Writing
Corporate Training:
ESL/ESOL, Grammar, Proofreading, Public Speaking, Spanish, Statistics


I have a master's degree in psychology. I taught an ADD/ADHD preschool for one year. I was a school counselor at an alternative high school (one for behaviorally challenged and ADD/ADHD kids). I'm knowledgable of models that inform proper teaching methods for ADD/ADHD kids.

Elementary (K-6th)

I worked as a pre-school teacher for an entire year, and I substituted in the elementary school at higher grades. I have a degree in psychology, have worked in schools and with children extensively through the Institute for Behavior Change in PA, and I currently speak at schools to both students and staff about how to teach kids about disaster preparedness as well as how to discuss trauma and disaster with children over time. And I've learned an extensive amount about patience, expectations, and the proper use of vocabulary with younger children.

Read all subject qualifications ยป

Email CJ

back to top


Lock Haven University (Psychology, Int'l St)

University of Denver (Master's)

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $40.00

Cancellation: 24 hours notice required

Travel policy

CJ will travel within 8 miles of Denver, CO 80203.

Email CJ

Usually responds in about 3 hours

Send CJ a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed CJ or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

(ex: algebra, chemistry)
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive Responses From Additional Tutors

If selected, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.