Search 74,376 tutors
FIND TUTORS

Zeina T.

Personable and Experienced Tutor, Ready to Help!

Denver, CO (80204)

Travel radius
10 miles
Hourly fee
$35.00
Email Zeina T.

You don't pay for tutoring
unless you find a good fit!

Background Check Status for Zeina T.

Zeina T. has not yet had a background check. After sending a message to Zeina, you will be able to order a background check for $7.99. The check will be processed by First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.

-I am certified in all my listed subjects that have certification tests-

Hi all! My name is Zeina. I am a 24-year old college graduate from Virginia. I graduated from Virginia Tech, with two Bachelor's degree, one in Psychology, the other Human Development. I also have my Masters in Social Work that I received at the University of Denver. I have extensive experience working with children and adolescents in an educational environment and am seeking to make a career out of education, human service, and working with families.

Through previous jobs and volunteer work, I have tutored and mentored for diverse groups of students. I currently work at a community-based agency that serves families within the public housing system. I work with students from ages 4 to 21, providing academic assistance and connecting their families with community resources. I most recently worked in Los Angeles in a low-income school as a teacher assistant. I implemented different fluency and comprehension initiatives and tutored students one-on-one in math and literacy. Before my work in Los Angeles, I worked as a family aide for a refugee family with several children, helping the students aged 6-14 with homework and providing English learning classes for the adults. I have also volunteered for years with Special Olympics, and I am very accustomed to working with children with physical disabilities or certain developmental challenges. I have also spent ample time tutoring students in elementary and middle school. Though I can help with all types of assignments, I am especially able to help students in math, language arts, foreign languages (Spanish and French) and music, as those were and are always my strongest areas.

When it comes to learning, I believe there is a fine line between understanding something and knowing something. In schools, students can scrape by the year, simply by understanding something. However, I am a firm believer that it is important to tackle a subject until a student knows it. If they can explain a concept to another student, and tell that student why that concept is the way it is, then they truly know the material.

I am most comfortable working with children who are at least 5 years of age as it is the group I have had the most experience working with. I like to let the children I work with understand that though I am a tutor, I am open to hearing their ideas and suggestions for activities and methods of learning. Generally, I find it important for children (and adults) to spend time outside, ask questions, and create new things - games, work schedules, etc...

I enjoy volunteering and have experience ranging from childcare to home repair to mentoring and counseling. I draw from these experiences lessons and effective methods of communicating with different people, including children. Having worked at various camps, schools, and after-school programs, I have a list of different games and activities that I often like to introduce to the children. I enjoy being outside, reading, making music, dancing, exercising, and trying to cook. Outside of an academic environment, I work as a coordinator as a transitional home for adults with mental illness. I am also a Zumba instructor and a dancer for an entertainment company. Because I have 2 younger siblings (8 and 10 years younger than I) I have had the chance to take care of children my entire life, even when I was not baby-sitting for another family. I speak French fluently, and am generally fluent in Spanish as well. I am also First-Aid and CPR certified. For any questions, please feel free to message me! I look forward to meeting you!

Email Zeina

Zeina’s subjects

Math:
Algebra 1, Geometry
English:
English, Grammar, Proofreading, Public Speaking, Reading, Vocabulary
Science:
Psychology
Computer:
Microsoft Excel, Microsoft Outlook, Microsoft Word
Language:
French, Spanish
Music:
General Music, Piano, Saxophone
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th), Grammar, Phonics, Reading, Spelling, Study Skills, Vocabulary
Special Needs:
ADD/ADHD, Phonics
Business:
Microsoft Excel, Microsoft Word, Public Speaking
Homeschool:
Algebra 1, Elementary (K-6th), English, French, Geometry, Piano, Reading, Spanish, Study Skills
Test Preparation:
GED
Sports/Recreation:
Fitness, Football, Track & Field
Corporate Training:
French, Grammar, Microsoft Excel, Microsoft Word, Proofreading, Public Speaking, Spanish

General Music

As a musician, I am experienced in reading and playing music notes in both bass clef and treble clef, rhythms in different time signatures, and phrases in different key signature. I have been reading music and playing instruments for the past 15 years. I play the saxophone (13 years) and the piano (11 years) and am capable of assisting others in reading music. I have also been in percussion ensembles, playing timpanis and the marimba. I can hear pitch very well and am able to help tune an instrument, whether it is brass, woodwinds or timpanis. I have been a saxophone section leader and a woodwind captain for various ensembles. Responsibilities of these positions included leading rehearsals of all woodwind instruments (flutes, clarinets, oboes, etc...) and assisting saxophonists in particular with troublesome notes and rhythms. As a performer, I have had several solo performances in jazz, symphonic, and marching bands and have performed in regional and all-state orchestras. I have taught others how to read music, memorize notes and keys, and count beats, and play pieces of music with expression as it relates to the composers musical era. If a student is willing to learn about music theory, I am able to provide basic theory particularly surrounding chord variations.

Read all subject qualifications ยป

Email Zeina

back to top

Education

Virginia Tech (Psychology)

University of Denver (Enrolled)

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $35.00

Cancellation: 2 hours notice required

Travel policy

Zeina will travel within 10 miles of Denver, CO 80204.

Email Zeina

Usually responds in about 2 hours

Send Zeina a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Zeina or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

(ex: algebra, chemistry)
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive Responses From Additional Tutors

If selected, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.